We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gail's Guest House

Save
Share
3 Plymouth Road, Barry CF62 5TY Wales
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
US$72
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/01/22
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreamsUS$84
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (46)
Dining (5)
Room & Suite (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Barry
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

See why so many travellers make Gail's Guest House their guest house of choice when visiting Barry. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a charming setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

As your “home away from home,” the guest house rooms offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to baggage storage while staying at Gail's Guest House. In addition, Gail's Guest House offers free breakfast, which will help make your Barry trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

While you’re here, be sure to check out Hangfire Southern Kitchen, one of the southwestern restaurants that can be found in Barry, which is a short distance from Gail's Guest House.

Barry is also home to Fonmon Castle, a popular castle that is not too far from Gail's Guest House.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Gail's Guest House as you experience all of the things Barry has to offer.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Complimentary tea
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
139Reviews3Q+A27Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 90
  • 33
  • 7
  • 3
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jeffturner wrote a review Oct 2021
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom378 contributions131 helpful votes
Perfect guest house in Barry Island that is just what we wanted for the Gavin and Stacey Tour. Really handy for the railway station and sea front. Don’t be put off by the outside, because inside it is very well kept and clean. everything we could ask for. even a fridge in the room which was an added bonus. Breakfast in the room due to the wales Covid restrictions but was just wonderful. could not ask for anything more. very friendly owners. Parking right outside. excellent wifi
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking outside with a permit we were given, but plenty of parking around the corner where you...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Emma G wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
It is with a heavy heart I write this review as I appreciate is an independent business and times have been hard due to Covid, however I feel I have to be honest. I booked Gails guest house as it had overall great reviews and is advertised as a 4 star guest house. Unfortunately my expectations were not met. First off when we arrived we was not greeted by anyone, we used the ring door bell and could not hear the other person on the other end at all. Our key had been left out for us and we were given no instructions about parking etc. On a positive note the email said check in was from 4pm but we arrived at 14.30 and our room was ready. The room was billed as a double however in our opinion it was a single room and they had shoe horned a double bed in there, one side of the bed next to the wall, therefor no space to put your phone/drink etc it felt very claustrophobic. On a positive note lol the bed was very comfortable and the sheets clean. Areas that need attending to: *Cracked mirror needs replacing *Toilet roll holder and shower holder broken, need replacing *Shower tray broken, needs fixing *Wall paint on ceiling, overall shoddy finish with decorating *Cracked floor tiles We were advised by a note in the room that breakfast was to be served in the bedroom due to Covid restrictions. Whilst I appreciate people are trying their best during Covid times we found this to be unacceptable. The room was just too small! I don’t quite understand how we were able to be in a bar in town full to the rafters with people yet we were not able to site in their dining room and be served breakfast at a proper table..? Restaurants are open and serving people and I expected the same treatment in the guesthouse. On a positive note the breakfast was of good quality and very tasty. I cannot comment on the friendliness of the hosts as we actually had very little interaction with them. When checking out we went to pay to then be told we needed a parking permit and that we had been lucky not to have received a ticket whilst parked for the last 2 days (the roads have no yellow lines or parking bays and the signs are very unclear regarding parking restrictions). Overall, I would probably say that if you lower your expectations this guest house would be fine for 1 or 2 nights, however as it is advertised as 4 stars I feel you would be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Dave D wrote a review Oct 2021
9 contributions
WOW, WOW and WOW... What an Absolutely Stunning Guest House. Lucy and Lyndon are Absolutely brilliant, helpful and have a great sense of humour (9.30 Guests should be in bed 🤣) Breakfast bought up to the room, and it was Delicious, and hot. The room was perfect, as soon as we walked in we felt like it was home. The beds very comfortable, en-Suite shower room, a fridge in the wardrobe and a flat screen TV. If you want the Perfect Guest House with the Perfect Hosts/Owners then this is definitely for you. Barry Island is an easy walk away, and only a 25 minute walk into Broad Street, Barry to a Wetherspoons pub. We will definitely be going back to this Guest House again and again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
JacquiSmudge wrote a review Sep 2021
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom31 contributions30 helpful votes
Having read the reviews I’m really struggling to believe this is the same guest house we stayed in! On driving up Plymouth Road I was desperately hoping we’d got the wrong Gail’s Guest House but sadly I was wrong. The area is awful - I can’t think of another description without using foul language. There were no staff on the premises and my husband had to call a mobile number and was told where the keys to the rooms were. The rooms are nothing like the ones in the photos on here. They are tiny with cheap fixtures and fittings. The en-suite in one of the rooms is tiny and the trim is coming off shower unit and the toilet seat is broken, along with a broken mirror in the room itself. As for the other room which has a private bathroom but isn’t en-suite, there was a very strong smell of damp and again the furniture was clearly very cheap. We were advised that unfortunately due to COVID breakfast couldn’t be served in the dining room. Needless to say we didn’t stick around to have breakfast served in our room. I’m just so glad that we were only booked in for one night.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t go there!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jasmine wrote a review Aug 2021
Bath, United Kingdom2 contributions
never visited the hotel, disgusted by the customer service provided by this hotel. Booked to stay mid-week, and was constantly getting bombarded with emails regarding payment yet when booked, explained that payment will be when I arrive at the hotel and they were fine with this. Roll over 5 days before I’m meant to arrive, I’m getting hassled on text and emails saying payment cancelled, and when I checked the bank they are trying to take the hotel amount out of my bank! Rang up the hotel and they said I can pay over the phone tomorrow, the next day I get a email saying they have cancelled my booking. Absolutely disgusted by this business, and when I approached the hotel to ask what happened I was told it was not the hotels fault, an absolute mess and a disappointed family who now have no holiday for a summer. Will never stay here when back in the area, warning others
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Would avoid customer service
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucy Beddoe, Other at Gail's Guest House
Responded 22 Aug 2021
Hi Tourist59020622827, Thanks for taking the time to leave some feedback on your experience. We are sorry you felt you had too much communication from us before your booking date. As you booked through Booking.com, you entered into a contract with them and we have no control over how they communicate with bookers. As stated in the terms and conditions of your booking, the full amount of your reservation is verified 5 days prior to the arrival date. As the card was declined, Booking.com asked for valid details to be provided within 24 hours or the booking would be canceled. You then called us and said you would ring the next morning to make payment over the phone. Because we had no communication from you the next morning and it was outside of the 24 hour period, we cancelled the booking in the afternoon. I would also like to clarify that you called us before making your booking to check if you would be allowed to stay, as you and your friend were 17 years old.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$71 - US$93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesVale of GlamorganBarry
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gail's Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Gail's Guest House?
Nearby attractions include The Small Space Theatre (1.2 km), Whitmore Bay Beach (0.7 km), and Barry Island Pleasure Park (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gail's Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Gail's Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Gail's Guest House?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gail's Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Johns Cafe, The Little Olive, and Whitmore+Jackson.
Are there any historical sites close to Gail's Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Lythans Burial Chamber (7.2 km).