We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Mail Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Mail Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

453 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Mail Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 446: English reviews
Surrey
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 night's. Room excellent with lovely view towards mountain. Perfect for kangaroo spotting which we did. Shower wonderful size and actual shower head great. On our second night, we found that soap and shampoo had not been replaced. Not a biggy, but at a first class hotel would have expected it. Also no safe in room, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shassa
Bryce Y, Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with such a great review and such valuable feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. We are currently looking into the situation regarding the amenities not being replaced. Thank you again for the feedback. Without your feedback, we would not have known about the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2016

It is glaringly obvious that this hotel is relying on and continues to trade on its reputation from the past as a “destination restaurant.” The hotel is soulless, shabby, tired and in need of some investment and creative interior design to justify the prices, which are the same as 5-star hotels in Sydney. Staff mope about the place, with no...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bertie26London
Bryce Y, Front Office Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bertie26London, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visits and dining experiences. I would welcome the opportunity to improve your impression and would appreciate if you contact me directly on 03 5577 2241 or email bryce@royalmail.com.au. I hope to speak with you soon. Sincerely, Bryce Yagos

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night while visiting family and loved it! Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Lovely luxurious bed and nice bathrooms. The pool looked inviting but we didn't get the chance to go in. Breakfast was fantastic! Made to order hot meals that were exceptional quality and all included in the room price, which we found very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harriet W
Bryce Y, Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Harriet W, Thank you for staying with us and providing us with such a great review and such valuable feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We will be sure to share your kind words with the rest of the team here at The Royal Mail Hotel. Thank you again for sharing the...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights & the room was superb. Stunning bathroom, great view from private veranda, the whole place felt brand new. Only ate breakfast at the restaurant but it was excellent with lots of choice. Would definitely recommend doing the kitchen garden tour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa070660
Bryce Y, Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with such a great review and such valuable feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your experience with us at The Royal Mail Hotel. We will be sure to share your kind and thoughtful words with the rest of the team. Thank you again for sharing the experience...

Aust
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

As regular travelers along this route we often stop for meals in Hamilton or Dunkeld, this was our first time at the Royal Mail and whilst it won't be our last time here it certainly wasn't the best impression. Let me say that the staff were lovely and the service prompt but for a place with such a good reputation...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Room56
Bryce Y, Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with such valuable feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will share your feedback with our...

Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 January 2016

We had a nice stay at the Royal Mail, we had a nice view of the mountains from our balcony, but the room was not really anything special. The reception and staff in the bar, restaurant and hotel were very friendly and helpful with where to hike and things to do. The only problem... And it's not the hotels fault,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gigigolf
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

Considering the rave reviews we were looking forward to our stay in one of the cottages for 2 nights (3-4th January). We arrived at our cottage and discovered a run down and grubby cottage. Dirty floors, dirty appliances, pests everywhere inside (thoughtfully the hotel provides Mortein in cottages). We had booked into the restaurant which was pleasant but not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
Bryce Y, Front Office Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tom, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very sorry that I did not have the opportunity to correct the situation whilst you were here. I would welcome the opportunity to correct your impression and would appreciate if you contact me directly on 03 5577 2241 or email bryce@royalmail.com.au. Again our sincere apologies and hope...

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights, quite difficult to leave the room really due to the fabulous view of the Mount Sturgeon, and birdlife, even a few emus strolling along. It was a bit chilly when we were there (we had the heating on most of the time) or else I think I'd have spent all my time on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tigris15
Bryce Y, Front Office Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tigris15, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It's great to hear your enjoyed your visit to the Royal Mail Hotel and our village of Dunkeld. It is a popular time for emus visiting as we had a flock of 10 on the grasslands behind the property this morning! Regards, Bryce Yagos

Sandwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We stayed for 2 nights to visit friends in the area. Since booking months ago I had forgotten how much we paid for a deluxe room. Having checked in, looked around, asked front desk some questions, had breakfast and noted lack of room facilities I was horrified to check back and see that the room rate was 345A$ per night!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maddiemoo
Bryce Y, Front Office Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maddiemoo, We appreciate the time taken to provide this feedback. I apologise for your stay not being up to the standard expected. I welcome the opportunity to further discuss if you would like to make direct contact on 5577 2241 or email bryce@royalmail.com.au. Sincerely, Bryce Yagos

Australia
Reviewed 20 December 2015

We stayed in Dunkeld for a few days and one evening came in to the Royal Mail to the much-recommended restaurant. We enjoyed the 5-course degustation menu, and were pleased to find that there were no issues at all in ensuring that one of us was able to eat gluten-free. The g/f bread roll was excellent.. The menu was innovative...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffrog
Bryce Y, Front Office Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geoffrog, Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We pride ourselves on being able to meet the needs of guests with dietary requirements and other preferences. We will pass this feedback on to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back another time. Warm regards,

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (167)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
29.5 km away
Hamilton Lonsdale Motel
Hamilton Lonsdale Motel
#3 of 8 in Hamilton
39 reviews
27.7 km away
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
#5 of 8 in Hamilton
50 reviews
0.7 km away
Southern Grampians Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grampians View Bed and Breakfast
29.6 km away
Hamilton Townhouse Motel
Hamilton Townhouse Motel
#1 of 8 in Hamilton
88 reviews
5.5 km away
Aquila Mount Abrupt Eco Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Mail Hotel is a unique destination set among native gardens and fruit orchards with stunning views of the Southern Grampians Ranges. Award-winning food and wine, accommodation, conferencing and wedding facilities and the nearby historic Mt Sturgeon Estate are all available for guests to explore and enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Mail Hotel

Address: 98 Parker St, Dunkeld, Victoria 3294, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Dunkeld
Price Range: $159 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Mail Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royal Mail Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mail Dunkeld
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Mail Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Mail Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a garden view”
 of 5 bubbles 512diannem, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All fine, go there but the management could find some things to improve to make it awesome.”
 of 5 bubbles peterbU614PX, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Cottage 26 was the one I stayed in, it is closest to the road although there is not much traffic in this small country town.”
 of 5 bubbles RockfordBP, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“bokk early”
 of 5 bubbles JulianN37, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“For best views and more updated rooms, best to pay for an upgrade to the rooms with a view of the Grampians.”
 of 5 bubbles geralds592, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5