We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gariwerd Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gariwerd Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 478: English reviews
Start your review of Gariwerd Motel
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Gariwerd Hotel is the perfect place to stay for a getaway to the Grampians !! Rooms are very clean and comfortable. The kangaroos and kookaburra's are gorgeous and very cool to see at dusk. Angeline was so lovely and offered great advice for secret walking tracks and places to eat around the town. Thank you so much !!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Libbykiwi24
london
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Large, very comfortable clean rooms. Lovely outside area with chairs, tables and barbeque for use by guests. Kitchen and laundry facilities. Early morning visits from local kangaroos. Extremely friendly and helpful owners. Close to centre of town. Would recommend superior room, as it is at the back of the property away from the road. Would highly recommend the Gariwerd Motel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesleyargent
Tony_and_Angeline, Owner at Gariwerd Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Lesley for such a beautiful review! We love it when our guests have a great time here in Halls Gap! Thank you for staying with us, and we would love to have you come and stay with us again - anytime!! Cheers and happy travels Angeline (and Tony) *Wimmera Business Award Winners - 2016 - Attraction & Tourism...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The place to stay if you want to get in touch with the wildlife in Halls Gap. A few kangaroos wandering about in the evening, a curious kookaburra checking you out, sulphur crested cockatoos making it known that they are there and colourful parrots flying about. The staff is friendly and helpful and rooms are nice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank eneken526
Tony_and_Angeline, Owner at Gariwerd Motel, responded to this review

There is so much wonderful Australian wildlife around here it truly is magical! By far the favourite by all are the kangaroos. Our kangaroos here in Halls Gap are quite friendly as they are used to people and are quite happy to just hang out. We have our favourites of course; like Bruce (he is a huge older male!), and...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Super comfy beds and all round great room. Close to all places to explore. Amazing facilities and was welcomed as apart of their family. They gave us some great advise about what is worth visiting and planning everything out. Would definitely stay again, highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank randomeliza
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very clean and comfortable considering the age of the building. Also quiet I would recommended this to family and friends. Good value There is a barbecue area if you so desire. Short walk into town Kangaroos grazing around the place and lots of bird life

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marilynk421
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We could not have been happier. We had such a delightful stay at the Geriward Motel. Excellent hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble, really comfortable bed, wonderful countryside to explore and amazing wildlife all around us. We did not want to leave.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 110joannap
paris
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a motel, therefore do not expect more than this, but the welcome warm of the hostess, the recommendations for a nice walk nearby, the location shall make you quite happy to rest there. To summarize : not everything is great, but everything is functional and the kindness of the hosts is incomparable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anatole1
Tony_and_Angeline, Owner at Gariwerd Motel, responded to this review

Yep we are a budget motel, and have all the things you would expect from a motel. Fresh linen, towels etc, own bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities, mini fridge, DVD Player and TV etc ... ... PLUS not like other motels we are environmentally focused (meaning we have extensive recycling, composting, non toxic cleaning, consumer decisions are based on...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The lovely hosts welcomed us warm and friendly with big smiles. They are very helpful sharing their knowledge about this beautiful area. Location is great. Enjoyed the positive energy of this wonderful place. Super clean rooms with a pleasant smell - comfy beds. We had a fantastic time and highly recommend to stay with Angeline and Tony when you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quandong2015
Tony_and_Angeline, Owner at Gariwerd Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your wonderful 5 star review and your lovely recommendation! How can you not smile when you live in one of the most beautiful places in the world AND as part of your job you get to speak and meet wonderful people from all around the world! I think I have the best job in the world! The smell...

Huddersfield
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was very basic accommodation and although we paid for a better room (at the rear) it was disappointing. It was however very clean. I think the price for the room was too much for what was on offer. Good location for walking

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fredericka1
Tony_and_Angeline, Owner at Gariwerd Motel, responded to this review

We pride ourselves on providing the best accommodation you can get in the budget category. Affordable, friendly and we like to say awesome! AND really really clean. We use mostly environmentally friendly cleaners (I make most of them!). We are sorry that you were disappointed. Cheers Angeline (and Tony) *2016 Wimmera Business Award Winners - Accommodation & Tourism Category *...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago

... in a totally underrated location. Been to Halls Gap 3 times but never stayed overnight. This time i added in the stay at Gariwerd Motel and it was great due to the central location. Tony was especially helpful with all my enquiries for tips. Very good indeed!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenspH5678CK
Tony_and_Angeline, Owner at Gariwerd Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your wonderful review! I don't know if Halls Gap is Victoria's little hidden secret, it seems that more and more people are discovering how wonderful it is here! We get so many guests who do the loop of Great Ocean Road, up to the Grampians and back to Melbourne. But one night is not really enough time to...

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
2.7 km away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
1.2 km away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.0 km away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
1.2 km away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
108 reviews
0.7 km away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Halls Gap
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast Available
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gariwerd Motel is perfectly located exactly where you want to be: in the heart of Halls Gap in the heart of the Grampians, 5 mins drive from the Wonderland Carpark (the start of the walk to the Pinnacles). We have KANGAROOS! Lots of them. They just hang around the place, looking relaxed. You can take selfies with them. We also have very fast FREE WIFI in all areas of the motel! I know, everyone says they've got free WiFi, but that usually means free WiFi if you are standing on one leg in reception with a Pringles can on your head, not AWESOME FULL STRENGTH FREE WIFI EVERYWHERE YOU GO! Still not convinced to come stay with us? Well then there's not much else to say other than go read the reviews, which of course you've already done, because no one comes here and reads the official description first. You read the reviews, then the official description. Actually I'm pretty sure no one even reads the official description. I know I don't. If you are reading this, please contact us and tell us that you read it so we know writing this wasn't a complete waste of time. And you can book your stay with us while you are at it, because let's face it, you're pretty sure you want to stay with us now just because this little blurb has made you laugh a bit, and if that's any indication of what your stay will be like (it is), then you and I both know you should pick up the phone now. Go on, what are you waiting for? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gariwerd Motel

Address: 28 - 36 Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Price Range: $117 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gariwerd Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Gariwerd Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gariwerd Motel Halls Gap, Grampians
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gariwerd Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Superior rooms are worth the extra cost.”
 of 5 bubbles lesleyargent, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose one at the backside of the motel, is even more quiet and if you re lucky some kangaroos may show up late evening in the backyard just in your front door. ”
 of 5 bubbles anatole1, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for rooms at the rear”
 of 5 bubbles bobly2015, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room was clean and large. ”
 of 5 bubbles andya472, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are none.”
 of 5 bubbles patrickt112, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5