We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wonthaggi Motel

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wonthaggi
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Wonthaggi Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of Wonthaggi Motel
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We ( 4 adults and 2 children) had only one night stay and loved it. Apartment #14 was very clean, spacious and Nadine was very helpful with suggestions regarding places to have dinner. We would definitely stay there again. For all the smokers , there is a very cute outdoor section tucked away. I am sure we would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Imltsi-6
Nadene1, Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We hope you had a good stay in our region and look forward to seeing you again.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We stayed a night here with the kids and some friends. We were greeted by the owners father and he was lovely and very accomodating. We later met the owner, and she appeared to be very grumpy! The rooms were small and dark but very clean. We asked when we booked for our rooms to be next to each other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smethurstj
Nadene1, Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. In relation to your rooms not being next to each other, most of our rooms are Queens for couples, your party required a Queen and King single each. There are no rooms of this configuration which are side by side. We do not have any interconnecting rooms. I placed you...

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed in this motel luckily only for one night. I stayed in room no 4. This room was sprayed with some kind of air freshener that was so overpowering. It supposed to be non smoking motel but this was done to hide the smell of cigarettes which you could still smell it. I kept my room doors open for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Semir M
Nadene1, Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we apologise for the fact that it was not up to your expectations. We are a Non Smoking in rooms Motel. In fact we have even removed ash trays from in front of rooms and have two designated smoking areas, both away from room doors and windows. On the night you stayed with us, there were...

Romsey, Victoria
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

I've just stayed overnight at the Wonthaggi Motel as part of a work trip. I last stayed at this motel about 10 years ago and found it although updated since my last visit, still comfortable and clean. I had a suite with a large king size bed and I found the mattress very comfortable. The bathroom is very roomy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell-Family-01
Nadene1, Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Paul, thank you for your review, very glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry about the salt shaker, will make sure you will have plenty on your next stay. Thanks again.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Had two nights. Place close to main street and shops. My issue is only relevant to my room, twin beds. Place not cleaned as expected and the terrible part was no hand basin or bench or table in the bathroom-shower room; had to keep door open so not to touch door handle (dreaded coming form toilet to wash hand to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fant7189
Nadene1, Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very disappointed that your stay was not as you had expected. We will take your concerns on board, however we have had a lot of reviews praising the cleanliness of our rooms and others where they love the fact that the hand basin is not in the...

australia
Reviewed 3 November 2016

stayed here for 3 nights all in all OK, bed in unit 2 very uncomfortable pity there is no microwave in the rooms especially with families visiting with kids, apart from that just a typical motel, somewhere to sleep

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hawk1991
Nadene1, Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we enjoyed having your car club staying with us. In relation to the microwaves, all Deluxe units have them as standard, and in the Compendium which are in all rooms it states that "should you require a microwave one will be brought to your room." Look forward to seeing you and the other members of...

Ballarat, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2016

I have stayed there twice now and have found it very comfortable, clean and great location in the town. Staff were friendly and helpful. If I had to say anything even mildly negative it was that the pillows were too thick for me but in retrospect I realise that I should have asked to swap one (at least on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ppow49
Nadene1, Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We look forward to catching up again on your next visit.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Stayed recently in a larger room and 'Large' it was, plenty of space, ideal to spend time doing paper-work and that sort of thing. Room was ideal, had a spa [not used] but plenty of work space and power points for charging the Ipad & IPhone. King sized bed and pillows led towards a great sleep, TV ideally placed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazmatau2015
Nadene1, Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Clean, Comfortable and a short walk to the main street. Ice in the freezer, this is always good and not maintained by housekeeping. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Rooms are quite large and quiet with comfy bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank havagoodtime
Nadene1, Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit to our Coastal town.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 September 2016

My wife & I are traveling with a small group and let me say that my wife is most particular about where she stays and the facilities in the room allocated to us. So much so that we have paid our account at other properties but left after 30 minutes due to the uneasiness she felt. With this motel she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Radar47
Nadene1, Manager at Wonthaggi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. We enjoyed having your very friendly group stay with us and hope to see you again when you travel through our part of the world again.

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wonthaggi
21.8 km away
San Remo Hotel/Motel
San Remo Hotel/Motel
#3 of 3 in San Remo
39 reviews
33.8 km away
Opal Motel
Opal Motel
#1 of 1 in Leongatha
57 reviews
9.7 km away
RACV Inverloch Resort
RACV Inverloch Resort
#1 of 2 in Inverloch
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Inverloch Motel
Inverloch Motel
#3 of 4 in Inverloch
28 reviews
22.9 km away
The Island Accommodation
12.0 km away
Motel on A'Beckett
Motel on A'Beckett
#1 of 4 in Inverloch
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wonthaggi Motel has 20 Units including 7 extra large Deluxe units with spa bathrooms. Parking is right outside your room. All units have Flat screen Tv's, A/Cond, King or Queen beds, family units, free Internet to all rooms. We are right in town, walk to shops, clubs, etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wonthaggi Motel

Address: 40 - 44 McKenzie St, Wonthaggi, Victoria 3995, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Wonthaggi
Number of rooms: 20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wonthaggi Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in a room on the LH side as you drive in, traffic noise was not an issue, at all.”
  • Spacious Room
  • Bathroom
  • King Sized Bed
  • Kitchenette
  • Comfy 2 Seater & Table
Hazmatau2015, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had room 5 but other rooms were equally as pleasant.”
Radar47, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Very good and clean very central All one level”
catjas0802, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
“They have various sized rooms so dependent on the number of people staying. All rooms are of fantastic value.”
301Jacko, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We had room 1 directly behind reception and it was very quiet”
T1033JCsuem, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5