We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tropicana Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Tropicana Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 9: English reviews
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
227 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Stayed here as part of our Big 2016 Road Trip. Not very inexpensive for what's offered. Clean large room, but some minor malfunctions. Very convenient to downtown. Pizza Hut right next door for your feeding pleasure. Not excellent, but good.

Helpful?
Thank RCMoeur
TropicanaMotelBastro, Webmaster at Tropicana Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments and for staying with us here in Bastrop. I’m pleased you had a good experience with us although I regret that we couldn’t completely satisfy you. We take real pride in our hotel, and I apologize if we let you down in any ways. We want you to have the best possible experience here,... More 

Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Motel could use a lot of improvements. Supposed to have gotten a non-smoking room but the room smelled of cigarettes. Too much furniture in the room. No bedside lamps so you had to get in and out of bed to turn the ceiling light off and on. Too much noise from the next room. Had a hard time changing the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rev Johannes M
TropicanaMotelBastro, Webmaster at Tropicana Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking time to offer your comments. I'm glad we met your needs while you were in our area, but I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations and fell short in some ways. We take pride in providing a lodging experience that everyone will enjoy, and I regret that we didn't provide you with complete... More 

Montgomery
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Booked at the last minute for the Lone Star Grand Prix weekend of racing at COTA. My room was clean and comfortable, but with little in the way of amenities, The AC was off when I arrived and was turned off the next day when I returned from a hot day at COTA. Thankfully the pool was clean and refreshing.... More 

Helpful?
Thank James M
TropicanaMotelBastro, Webmaster at Tropicana Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments about our hotel here in Bastrop. I’m pleased that you had a generally good experience with us, but I’m very concerned that we didn’t live up to your standards or expectations. We take great pride in our hotel, and I hope that shows. We’re also always working to get better. I hope you will... More 

wokingham
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2014

This is near a super town near the circuit. We met other Grand prix visitors and stayed 3 nights. Likes large beds, parking, cereal for breakfast. microwave.n Dislikes , thin walls, snoring heard from rooms either side of us. No plug in bath, dirty carpet. Needed coffee maker and mugs All in all functional, welcoming and handy near a super... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank flowerpower_9
TropicanaMotelBastro, Webmaster at Tropicana Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m pleased you had a good experience with us although I regret that we couldn’t completely satisfy you. We take real pride in our hotel, and I apologize if we let you down in any ways. We want you to have the best possible experience here, and we’re working toward complete satisfaction of all... More 

Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed for a week. Room was clean and did not have that "dingy" feel most cheap hotels have. There were brick walls between the rooms so the noise was minimal. Right next to gas stations, down the street from HEB and downtown Bastrop. They had all the ammenities I was looking for - wifi, microwave, frig, king and smoking. LOVED... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy R
TropicanaMotelBastro, Webmaster at Tropicana Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your extended stay at our affordable, friendly and comfortable property. I’m very pleased you had a great experience here and hope you will return when you need to stay in the area again. We take special pride in serving extended stay guests like you and hope we can consistently meet your needs in the future. Thanks... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 weeks last year. Dirty. Has huge space at bottom of the door and I had huge bugs crawl into my room. Totally disgusting. Do not stay here unless they fix the front doors so there is not a huge 1 inch gap at the bottom that let's all the bugs in. Worst thing is that the bugs... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BastropProCritic
TropicanaMotelBastro, Webmaster at Tropicana Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. I’m terribly sorry we failed to meet your expectations. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and in the overall experience we provide to guests. I sincerely apologize that we let you down and assure you that action is already being taken to make things better for the future. Your experience... More 

Travellers are raving about these Bastrop hotels

Bastrop, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Had an extended stay in Bastrop recently and the Tropicana was the best value I could find. Older motel but the owner has done a good job of keeping the place in good shape. Large room, plenty of work space and even had a separate area for eating meals. Microwave, fridge and decent king sized bed. Room was cleaned every... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
TropicanaMotelBastro, Webmaster at Tropicana Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your kind comments and your extended stay with us. I’m so pleased that you would stay with us again, and I hope you have the opportunity to do that soon. We take pride in this hotel and its amenities and sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve you. I’m glad we could satisfy you, as we do... More 

Bastrop, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here awhile back when we were looking for a house to buy. Our stay lasted about two months. It's a great place, plenty of room and it's clean. The manager is very nice and we enjoyed our stay. I would recommend this motel to anyone looking for a place to stay, whether it's for a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Mary62Bastrop_Texas
TropicanaMotelBastro, Webmaster at Tropicana Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your extended stay at our affordable, friendly and comfortable property. It was a pleasure to have you with us. I’m very pleased you had a great experience here and hope you will return when you need to stay in the area again. We take special pride in serving extended stay guests like you and hope we... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The wife booked this place for the night before the "Tough Mudder" event. I was a bit taken back by this place. The price was about $100 with taxes. With that, you get a small room, private bath, and sub-par bed. Honestly, motel 6 would have been better. The floors were quite dirty, and the bed squeeked. My favorite was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Johnnygman
TropicanaMotelBastro, Webmaster at Tropicana Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking time to offer your comments about our hotel here in Bastrop. I'm glad we met your needs while you were in our area, but I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations and fell short in some ways. We take pride in providing a lodging experience that everyone will enjoy, and I regret that... More 

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bastrop hotels
0.9 km away
Quality Inn Bastrop
Quality Inn Bastrop
#4 of 10 in Bastrop
135 reviews
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bastrop
3.3 km away
Super 8 Bastrop TX
Super 8 Bastrop TX
#10 of 10 in Bastrop
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Comfort Suites Bastrop
Comfort Suites Bastrop
#5 of 10 in Bastrop
112 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bastrop
3.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Bastrop Pines Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Tropicana Motel

Address: 103 Highway 71 West, Bastrop, TX 78602
Region: United States > Texas > Bastrop
Price Range: $112 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropicana Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tropicana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tropicana Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A popular place for construction workers doing business in Bastrop so if you want solitude ask for a room at the east end.”
 of 5 bubbles GaryG810, 7 Nov 2012 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay