We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Panoramas (52)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,055 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,039: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
 Click to rate
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have visited Galveston island before and each time we come away saying never again. We should have paid attention... The Holiday Inn is an old style and the rooms are just that. The air conditioning is poor to say the least. The gulf view rooms with balconies are small, tough for 2 people with chairs and a small table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrpak5604
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you had a poor experience at our hotel. We strive hard to offer a great product with exceptional service, in this case this was not accomplished and for this I apologize once again. I see in your last comments you promise this was your last trip and I after reading this, I feel that we...

Groves, Texas
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Upon our arrival, we were greeted with balloons, chocolates and rose petals in our room. What a nice surprise!!! Then we went to eat and upon returning to our room we were treated to iced champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries. They made our anniversary weekend wonderful from start to finish. The staff was friendly and very accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff. We strive hard to offer a great product with exceptional service. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your anniversary weekend and we look forward to you returning.

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Jeff and Larry were very helpful at check in. The room they gave me had a bad view but they moved me to a better view with no problem. The view is lovely with nice little balconies. The pool is well maintained and just warm enough. Great location, close to everything. I visit hear frequently to relax.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roxiekay
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review

This is always great to hear that you had a relaxing visit and a great time. I will be sure and let the Front Office Manager know of a great job Jeff and Larry continue to do and we look forward to your return to our hotel.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Well placed hotel on the beachfront. Check-in was quick & easy, staff very helpful. Room exactly what you'd expect at a Holiday Inn, clean & tidy. Non-smoking hotel, but room has a balconey, so problem solved. Restaurant very good, breakfast buffet excellent and good value. Again, staff very helpful. Bar with live music, bit noisy but enjoyable. Only drawback -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnbuoy58
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff. We appreciate your business as there are no spare customers. Thank you again and we look forward to you returning.

texas
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Had a great time at the hotel. Security officer Richard Jordan was very helpful and offered great customer service. He was very social and accommodating to customer needs. The balcony view was awesome, room was clean, B.Jiggers was very friendly and I would highly recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank woodyclam
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff. We strive hard to offer a great product with exceptional service. I am glad to hear you had an awesome stay. We look forward to you returning in the near future.

Fairport, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great hotel to stay at. Everyone was very friendly and the ocean view from our room was beautiful! The staff was very helpful with suggesting places to go and things to do. The pool area was nice and relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmcrae0699
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff. We strive hard to provide a great product with exceptional service. Thank you again for your business and and we look forward to you returning.

Sioux City, Iowa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived we were told that the WIFI had been down for over a week and it was probably not going to be fixed by the following week. We were meeting others in our group from all over the US and couldn't connect with them due to the WIFI issue. The room was okay, but the seal on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AliaRamses
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you had a poor experience at our hotel. During your stay yes we did have wifi issues and we have corrected them. In regards to the upgrade charge all room do face the ocean however we have a tier system and the higher floor you would like is based on the rate charge. I do...

Houston, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in charge of a conference and checked in a day early. I needed a reservation at a restaurant that normally didn't take reservations. BRIANA not only attempted to call but actually drove to the place to speak to a manager to get us a reservation! THAT is beyond the call of duty! She was so accommodating during the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paige S
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review

I am taken back on what Briana did for you. I will be sure and let her know what a great job she is doing. We strive hard to offer a great product with exceptional service and from this comment we delivered. Thank you for your business and we look forward to you returning in the near future.

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked the Holiday Inn Resort for my family vacation, but they failed us with 1 serious let down. We booked this hotel due to it advertising a heated pool as we love to swim. At check-in we were again invited to make the most of the heated pool. So next morning we headed down to enjoy the pool only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MadMatzAero
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had a poor experience at our hotel. We strive hard to offer a great product with exceptional service. During your stay we did have an issue with our pool and for that we do apologize. We do try to offer guests options when problems occur so there will be little to no inconvenience....

Denton, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I made reservation for two nights in Holiday Inn Resort Galveston on the beach to spend a nice weekend with my son and my grandchildren. I specifically asked if they have a heated pool. Because it is cool to swim in April if there is no heated pool in Galveston. I expressed that this is the only reason I made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kick97
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had a poor experience at our hotel. We strive hard to offer a great product with exceptional service. We do try to offer guests options when problems occur so there will be little to no inconvenience. I am sorry to hear that you and your family did not enjoy their time. When you...

656 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (332)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
View from Room (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (124)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Beach (25)
Viewed
Kids' Suite (32)
Viewed
One King Accesible (19)
Viewed
One King Bed (26)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Suite (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Two Queen Beds (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
9.1 km away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
1.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
1.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.5 km away
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5993
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Price Range: $138 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“excellent view of the beach”
JerryB480, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms equally good.”
johnbuoy58, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There is no bad room--all face the water.”
paiges801, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We liked the view.”
Raven_072, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beautiful view from our balcony room.”
jeanbean2, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5