We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,020 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,000: English reviews
Galveston
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James S
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzyw2016
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patsy A
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Humble, Texas
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 703sylviah
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Fort Hood, Texas
Reviewed 1 January 2016

I have stayed at the Tremont a few times. The most recent visit was disappointing. The maid service was below average. The cafe food and service was poor. The rooms are nice and big and I like the history, but overall the stay was average. I expected more.

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gabrielw2016
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the feedback on your recent stay at the hotel. Please know that feedback, such as yours, is highly appreciated. We'll address the issues you mentioned with the appropriate staff.

Orange, Texas
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel to enjoy the fireworks on the rooftop bar and it was closed. Called the front desk and they said the food and beverage person made the call not to open it on the biggest night of the year! Very disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaye S
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you were disappointed. The City of Galveston doesn't coordinate any organized fireworks on New Year's Eve so we aren't really sure as to what you are referring. The Rooftop Bar is open weather permitting and our 1888 Toujouse Bar is always open. On New Year's Eve, we offered live jazz from 7 to 12:30. Again,...

The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

USA
Reviewed 31 December 2015

This was our first stay at Tremont House. It was a good stay in regard to friendly staff from valet parking staff all the way to housekeeping. The unexpected disappointments included debris on the floors (even in elevator) that was finally seen being cleaned the next afternoon. When we arrived at our room (6pm) there was a dirty glass outside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cristal D
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at the hotel. Please know that we appreciate your insight and will share with appropriate staff. We hope that you'll give us another try in the future.

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 29 December 2015

We booked this hotel for one night prior to sailing on a Disney cruise out of the port at galveston. This hotel was close to the port and we were promised free parking and a shuttle to the cruise port. Overall, I would say that it fell short of our expectations and I would never use their shuttle service again....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nataliems3
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review on your stay. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience on your return transportation from your cruise. Please know that this is good feedback and will help us address this issue on future busy cruise days. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience and will address with staff.

Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed on a Sunday night. Made reservations over phone with hotel directly. Did not receive an email confirmation. Parking is on street. Good luck finding a spot. There were dirty dishes outside room door at check in that were left from breakfast of previous guests. I called and asked for them to be removed. They were picked up at 8:00...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 444robing
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear about the issues that you mentioned during your stay. The hotel offers valet parking or, as you mentioned, there is parking on the street. The hotel is located in a safe and busy part of town located in the heart of The Strand District and there typically isn't any safety issues. Thank you for...

539 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (329)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
Other (116)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (186)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Belmont Suite (34)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (25)
Viewed
Pure Air King Room (22)
Viewed
Queen Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Tremont Suite (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.4 km away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
643 reviews
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
1.9 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
1.7 km away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Price Range: $175 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
over a year ago
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
4 months ago
Ft Worth
4 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The suites are very large and quiet in a separate part of the hotel. We worth upgrading from a King room.”
 of 5 bubbles 925kateg, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I would go for the 4 floor rooms with a view of the Harbour (and oil rigs)”
 of 5 bubbles jowen637, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the inside have large windows to the lobby. Outside rooms have views of Galveston.”
 of 5 bubbles 380keatonf, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I wish we had had a courtyard view due to the causes mentioned above.”
 of 5 bubbles captainmcd, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“king room that was almost right above the front portico...had the amazing 20 ft ceilings... loved that room.”
 of 5 bubbles sandlmorgan2014, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5