We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aloft Houston Downtown

Save
Share
820 Fannin St, Houston, TX 77002-6416
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Aloft.com
US$189
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$189
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$189
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.comUS$189
eDreamsUS$189
PricelineUS$189
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (89)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (10)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 22/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Aloft Houston Downtown
Updated 22/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#232 of 605 hotels in Houston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Celebrate your style at Aloft Houston Downtown. Kick back and relax in our loft-inspired guest rooms, stay connected with fast & free WiFi, and sip on a specialty cocktail at the always happening W XYZ(R) bar. Plus, our hotel is conveniently located just steps from METRORail stations and a short drive from Houston area airports, making it easy for guests to explore the area's best attractions.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
171Reviews3Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 58
  • 51
  • 18
  • 22
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Brown wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
I was targeted & robbed of all my belongings left in a hotel room by what appears to be a team of employees at a Marriott property in Houston TX. This was my first airline flight in a year then checked into the Aloft hotel downtown. I had a large pelican case of equipment, a camera bag & several laptop bags. About 20 minutes after checkin, two people from housekeeping entered my room without knocking. After seeing me, I was told they needed to replace the towels that didn’t appear to need replacing. I did find it odd neither employee was wearing a mask as the hotel has ample documentation throughout the hotel/online about obeying pandemic safety & there is a no-housekeeping policy during guest stays. Anyways weird, but I left the room for my meeting. Three hours later returned & entered the room. Took about 30 seconds to realize something was off. The cloths I laid on the bench weren’t there. For some reason a diet coke I had put in the mini fridge was now on the counter & my dopp kit was dumped on the bathroom sink. The only thing still in the room was some scattered trash. Again weird, but maybe housekeeping moved it?? Go to the front desk & ask where my stuff is. The person at the front desk has no idea & insinuates I misplaced it or must of left my door open. Now I am concerned & ask again if someone entered the room & removed my belongings. She makes a call, goes in back, comes back to say we don’t have your stuff & must be mistaken. Now I realize Ive been robbed, that’s weird & frightening! The hotel staff runs a program on the keypad, I mention the odd run in with housekeeping. They show me the keypad report, there was an entry to the room by housekeeping at 4:30PM. I interrupt and reconfirm that my I left the hotel at 3:10PM and returned about 6:30PM, that was not while I was there that housekeeping entered the room. The keypad report was immediately pulled away. The hotel desk clerk is giving me the same message repeatedly, just saying we cannot provide any info, a manager will have to contact you within 24 hours. The police are called, a police report is filed. I don’t want to stay at this hotel & leave. Walk a few blocks trying to figure out where to go and what do, find another hotel but it costs twice as much as my previous room. After dinner, went back to the scene of the crime to ask if they had any more info. The desk clerk walked to the back then came out with two bags and handed them to me. Some items have been returned without barely a word but not all of them. The next day no one from the hotel contacts me. I had been trying to call the hotel all day, but the phone would just disconnect. I was supposed to be in Houston 3 days, instead flew back home after 1 night. Before going to the airport, I went back to the hotel. Asked if they found my missing item & why a manager never contacted me as promised. Without missing a beat the clerk said, we cannot provide any info, a manager will have to contact you within 24 hours. The desk person just said it was a new employee who went into your room. EXCUSE ME? You do have the information of how this happened & are willing to acknowledge this incident? The desk clerk then returns to the line, we cannot provide any info, a manager will have to contact you within 24 hours. The lack of a response or acknowledgement of this threatening event is mind boggling & upsetting while trying to maintain patience throughout the past week. As of Friday this is now the 5th day since the incident and no one from Marriott or the Aloft hotel has contacted me.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Aloft Houston Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear corbettkb, We appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention. We are grateful for your thoughts on this matter and also for your patience. Thank you for your time; you have our assurance that we will address your comments appropriately. Jennifer Neal Regional Manager
Read more
kautious05 wrote a review Jul 2021
Columbus, Georgia43 contributions45 helpful votes
The room was worn and poorly designed. Sliding door in bathroom provides no privacy. Several items loose or falling apart. The doors were dirty. The roof top pool was way smaller than it appeared on the pictures. Like seriously only a few can get in at a time. Also no where near as nice, the furniture is worn. The clerks were not the friendliest. I would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Aloft Houston Downtown
Responded 12 Jul 2021
Dear kautious05, Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for the maintenance and cleanliness issue you experienced during your stay. We regret not meeting your room's expectations. We also apologize for the behavior of our associates, and we appreciate you mentioning it to us. We are also disappointed to know you were not happy with the size of our rooftop pool. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you will consider a return visit so we can make it up to you. Jennifer Neal Regional Manager
Read more
JFWeb wrote a review Jun 2021
Austin, Texas2 contributions
My family chose this hotel for its location so we could celebrate my son's birthday at the aquarium then spend the evening swimming with the kids. Around 7:00 a DJ was blasting sexually explicit, violent and misogynistic music right next to the pool. 4 women were taking turns twerking, rubbing their faces in each others' butts, etc. I allowed my kids to swim a bit anyway (we had come in from out of town, after all), and they gamely tried to ignore the appalling visual and auditory assault. I watched at least 2 other families come up to swim, but bail shortly due to the offensive atmosphere. I went to the front desk to complain. Desk clerk told me guests are allowed to bring bluetooth speakers to the pool. I had to explain to him that it was a full PA system. Clerk told me it was not the hotel's DJ; it seems the strippers had brought their own DJ. The speakers were sitting right on the bar and pointed to the pool. The bartenders and hotel staff did nothing to stop the twerk-fest, despite there being 12 children under the age of 12 in the pool at one point. Clerk said he would take care of it and texted someone on his phone. My wife and I returned to the rooftop 30 minutes later to find the scene unchanged. I returned to the desk and asked to speak to the manager this time; the clerk was the manager. And he seemed incapable of restoring any order to the pool area. Said bartenders were contracted and not hotel employees. I shouldn't judge a hotel by the quality of the guests, but I do judge them on their unwillingness and inability to keep the pool from becoming a strip club. Aloft allowed 5 trashy guests to take over the rooftop pool for at least 3 hours on an otherwise beautiful summer evening. On another note, the lights above the beds flash on and off, no towels available in pool, and the only chair in the room is a stiff armless office chair. Really bad experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 420 offers a lovely view of a black brick wall.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Aloft Houston Downtown
Responded 18 Jun 2021
Dear jfrankweb, We are committed to providing our guests with a fulfilling stay; therefore, we appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention. We will address your comments with the appropriate individuals, and we thank you for your patience during this time. Jennifer Neal Regional Manager
Read more
SteveofDallas wrote a review Apr 2021
8 contributions8 helpful votes
This is a sad, shallow silly hotel. The so-called interior design of the rooms does not look cool unless you are also a shallow silly person. Want a place to hang towels - out of luck Want a place for two people to sit in a two person room - out of luck. There are plenty of square feet for these things, but the shallow silly designer had a higher esthetic. Oh... and the breakfast advertised everywhere? Not available. As you ride the elevator, looking at pictures of hot eggs, those aren’t for you. They are a memory, or maybe a goal. Need a room safe? We have one but it doesn’t come with batteries. Also... no parking, no valet, no bellman. Shlep you own stuff and park elsewhere. Did you have expectations of a Marriott branded property? You are a sad, silly person.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Aloft Houston Downtown
Responded 14 Apr 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry your stay was not the positive experience you deserve. Your feedback is valuable to us as it will help us improve our guest experience moving forward. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with the hospitality and accommodations you deserve every time you choose us. Jennifer Gibson Regional Manager
Read more
Basart74 wrote a review Mar 2021
Miami, Florida307 contributions132 helpful votes
I just checked in about an hour ago , after spending an hour trying to find a parking place to leave my car . After all , the hotel offers no parking for guess , don’t let the web page get you , it is a lie . The front desk personnel don’t even know how to help ... they send you everywhere but all parking garages are closed in downtown , I found one my self just by coincidence ... terrible service . A block away there is one garage open 24 hours .. let’s see how much will be the cost after a 3 night stay ! A terrible experience like never before at any other hotel in the world . Very frustrating and upsetting to check in at 11 pm after a 9 hour drive just to find that there is no such valet parking at the hotel ... misleading info . Room with a window leading to a concrete wall .... not good
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Aloft Houston Downtown
Responded 31 Mar 2021
Dear Basart74, Thank you for being our guest. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us and also regret to learn that our front desk personnel was not informative enough. We are grateful for your thoughts on this matter and also for your patience. We want you to have a pleasant visit, so if there is anything we can do for you from this point forward, please let us know at the front desk. Thank you. Jennifer Gibson Regional Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$133 - US$303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesTexasTexas Gulf CoastHoustonDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
168
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aloft Houston Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to Aloft Houston Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Magic, Music, & Mayhem (0.3 km), Houston Symphony (0.4 km), and Pete's Dueling Piano Bar (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aloft Houston Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and a poolside bar.
Which room amenities are available at Aloft Houston Downtown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Aloft Houston Downtown?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Aloft Houston Downtown?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aloft Houston Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Phoenicia Specialty Foods, Pappas Bros. Steakhouse, and Frank's Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aloft Houston Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Aloft Houston Downtown located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Houston.
Are any cleaning services offered at Aloft Houston Downtown?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Aloft Houston Downtown?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Aloft Houston Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.