We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel

Hostelworld.comUS$56*
View Deal
GreenLeadersGold level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$56*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 98: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 April 2015

A friend and I stayed here recently and we have both had clones of our debit cards made without our knowledge. The hostel makes it a point of taking your debit card information in their back office. If anyone else has stayed at this hostel recently (March-April), PLEASE check your bank account for unauthorized transactions. PLEASE post on Yelp &...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Olivia A
Grace D, General Manager at HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Olivia, I am very sorry you had your information stolen and that location of our credit card machine has given the wrong impression. We have our credit card machine in the back office, because our internet line is located there and enables us to process cards while not tying up our phone line. It is our policy that the...

Reviewed 19 April 2015 via mobile

I travelled around the whole us last summer and this hostel was by far the best place we stayed in! It's a huge mansion, very tidy and clean. Free roam of the house and I'm only disappointed I couldn't stay longer! Prices were superb and we left wishing we had more time here. Only a short bus ride to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BigGattis
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2015

I'm a little late writing this, as I visited in October 2014. I was only here for 1 night, but the staff were lovely and the hostel grounds were awsome. It was such a beautiful care free hostel. I doubt I'd be visiting Houston again as I didn't think there was much to do, but if I did - I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantelle M
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Morty Rich Hostel is on the most beautiful, tree-lined street. The inside is classy rustic chic. The grounds have a pool, a hammock, a patio, a gondola, etc. The rooms weren't stunning by any means. However, the bathroom in my dorm was tiled and nearly superb. I personally had a very good time during my stay! I'll never forget it....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lauren E
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 10 March 2015

I was really surprised by this hostel. The staff was really friendly and the location was AWESOME. Right in the middle of LGBT Houston. Close to nightlife and the highway. The only draw is they only have two parking spots and the breakfast was laughable. Great overnight stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wyatt P
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 11 February 2015 via mobile

A fantastic hostel, staff were welcoming and helpful even with our check-in at midnight. Rooms are clean, and shared areas are lovely. Great location, walking distance to lots of eateries and bars. Only downside was the walls are quite thin, so you can hear everything but didn't affect us too much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JessP0
dallas
Reviewed 19 October 2014

HI Houston Hostel is located 1 block off of the major happening street in Houston. Hostel is on a oak tree lined upscale street with mansions built in the 20's. Minutes from downtown, really in the center of where you want to be, close to bus, bars, restaurants and grocery stores. The hostel had been an upscale hotel, common areas...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dtx75220
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 11 October 2014

I am always very sceptical about staying in hostels in the U.S. The main reason is poor quality of facilities, and owners trying to make money giving nothing in return. Hi-Houston The Morty Rich Hostel is an exception from this general opinion! I was really impressed by, the quality of this place. Great first floor design, very welcoming and home...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ARM-RK
Grace D, General Manager at HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your fantastic feedback! We are always happy when our guests enjoyed their stay. If you are coming back to Houston after November, come and check out our newly renovated kitchen. Happy and safe travels. Grace Dodier, General Manger

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2014

The grand hall of the Morty Rich hostel was a great respite from the summer Houston heat. We were struck by how great the reception area of the hostel looked and it was possibly the nicest general hostel area I had been in. Unfortunately that's about as good as it got for this hostel. We were checked into the "back...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank baddler
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Please allow me to start my review by saying this was my first Hostel experience and based on the prompt follow up with the Manager regarding my concern; this was clearly a rare instance. That said, I stayed in room #7 (the attic) and the first thing I noticed was the filthy carpeting. As a New Yorker, I've seen worse...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jordyn B
Grace D, General Manager at HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Renee. While it is always hard to read a negative review, we appreciate the feedback so we can improve our facilities and services. Since your stay we have been able to make some small improvements to the bathroom and the room and have others planned for later this year. I apologize that our hostel was not up to our...

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 506 in Houston
380 reviews
Modern B&B
#67 of 506 in Houston
199 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 506 in Houston
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 506 in Houston
1,644 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#37 of 506 in Houston
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the best hostel in Houston! HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel is the only hostel to offer 24 check-in, outdoor swimming pool and a full-sized pool table. We also offer free WIFI, computers with free internet access, onsite laundry, free parking, 24 hour access to all common areas and the fully equipped kitchen and an extra special complimentary breakfast every morning from 7:30-10:00am!! HI-Houston is located on a beautiful tree lined boulevard in the diverse and funky neighborhood of Montrose. We are surrounded by some of the most popular restaurants, bars and coffee shops in Houston! We are also conveniently located just 2 blocks away from a 24 hour Walgreens and a 24 hour grocery store. Coming to Houston for a conference at the George R. Brown Convention Center. We are 1 block away from #81 & #82 bus lines that will drop you off in front of the convention center. Want to come shopping at the Galleria or get a visa in the Post Oak area, we are located just one block away from the buses that will get you there! HI-Houston is also conveniently located just 1 mile away from the famous Menil Collection and Rothko Chapel and just 2 miles away from Houston's amazing Museum District and Hermann Park! Whether you are coming to Houston to work, play or just relax...HI-Houston is the place for you! Never stayed at a hostel before! Hostels mainly consist of dormitory style rooms, where you will have the opportunity to interact with guests from all over the world. Hostels are a great place to make new friends and save a little money while your traveling. Come and try us out!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel

Address: 501 Lovett Blvd, Houston, TX 77006-4020 (Formerly Lovett Inn)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Price Range: $44 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you book lower bunk”
joannapenn84, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“If you want a bottom bunk, call ahead. They don't answer emails.”
SavvyFaire, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pick a room with an outdoor balcony. Very pleasant to sit out and have a nice beer/wine.”
M8690BWdavidp, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a 4 bed dorm-- the others are mostly smelling badly -”
Shimano2013, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel or bring your broom”
  • More dust
  • Beautiful flowers in the room
  • It was dirtier than it looks
kathyas2013, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$56* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates