We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dragonfly Hotel Colchester

Save
Share
A12/A120 Ardleigh Junction, Ardleigh, Colchester C07 7QY England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$54
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$54
View deal
Expedia.comUS$54
Priceline
FindHotelUS$54
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (110)
Dining (8)
Room & Suite (2)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Dragonfly Hotel Colchester is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Ardleigh, offering a budget friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Rooms at Ramada Colchester Hotel offer a flat screen TV providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

An on-site restaurant will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Ramada Colchester Hotel, free parking is available.

If you’re looking for a pub, consider a visit to The Crown, which is not far from Dragonfly Hotel Colchester.

Best of all, Dragonfly Hotel Colchester makes it easy to experience some great Ardleigh attractions like Green Island Gardens, which is a popular garden.

Enjoy your stay in Ardleigh!

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
349Reviews4Q+A54Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 73
  • 87
  • 70
  • 53
  • 66
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
SillyFizzy wrote a review 21 Oct
London, United Kingdom213 contributions58 helpful votes
+1
Check-in was a bit patronising. I was “invited” to register my car on the electronic pad then was “invited” to pay for my stay using this other device. Not being funny, either you have used one Of these devices or you haven’t, so there is no need to “invite” anyone to do any of these, you just need to explain to guests what to do if they don’t know what to do. I paid in full however was told the VAT invoice would not be issued until I checked out. What a waste of my time having to wait for the invoice when I had already paid! I’m on business trip and I don’t have time messing about waiting for the invoice at check-out when I have already paid in full. Honestly what a waste of my time. I made an effort to go to reception early when I was checking out to get the invoice, guess what?! The printer was not working! WHAT A WASTE OF MY TIME! Room looked fine to start with but on a closer inspection there was dust on surfaces and dead insects on top of the heater. Worst thing was the hair in the bathroom. It makes you wonder what else was not cleaned properly between guests. Bathroom fans kept making prolonged noises. Absolutely annoying. Not impressed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
John H wrote a review 10 Oct
Spalding, United Kingdom2 contributions
While the hotel is set in lovely surroundings the fact that a electricial fault and there's no hot meals either Saturday night or breakfast Sunday morning wasn't at all a good thing . What was served was nit to a standard you'd expect
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Carolyne Cowie, Other at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Responded 1 week ago
Dear G8980GUjohnh Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at the hotel. I can only apologise for the inconvieince caused to you by a power outage the hotel experienced on Saturday night, however, unfortunately, it was outwith our control and we were unable to get an electrician in until the Monday morning. I do hope that we can welcome you back again so we can restore your faith in us. Kind Regards Carolyne Cowie OM 01206 230900
Read more
Richard S wrote a review 3 Oct
Hayling Island, United Kingdom22 contributions5 helpful votes
Check in is self service and you also have to check in your car or face a £100 fine from the car park operators. Room was clean and tidy with tea & coffee making facilities, comfy bed, shower and bath, TV, iron and ironing board. We decided to have a meal in the restaurant that evening. that was a bit of a mistake. After ordering the food and drinks the drinks arrived quite quickly as for the food apart from frying the chips I would imagine the microwave was constantly in use by the 'chef' It was edible but not worth what we had to pay for it, Another couple had to wait over an hour to receive their food, The whole Hotel seemed to be being run by two female staff who were doing reception, bar, waitressing and anything else that needed doing apart from the cooking, which may have been better if they had. All in all can not fault the room but would think twice about using the restaurant for an evening meal but the breakfast had a very good variation of both hot and cold food.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Carolyne Cowie, Other at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Meshgrille Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at the hotel. All comments, whether positive or negative, are taken on baord to enable us to improve on the service we offer for yourself and future guests alike. We do hope to welcome you back soon Kind Regards Carolyne Cowie OM 01206 230900
Read more
michelleGateshead wrote a review Sep 2021
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom31 contributions10 helpful votes
We had to visit family and due to the students coming to settle into their University accommodation with families we found accommodation hard to find at short notice. We were lucky to get one of the last rooms here. It was clean, tidy and friendly. The bathroom was clean but could do with a little modernising. Be careful stepping out of the shower which is in the bath, no-slip matt. The staff were very friendly from check-in to check out. Plenty of parking and free for residents. It can be easy to miss the hotel as the road comes off the slip road to the left very quickly, so keep your eyes peeled to turn left almost straightaway going onto the slip road, once you have done that the hotel is on the left. The bar area is spacious, and clean with a conservatory and plenty of outside seating. The breakfast was nice, with plenty of self-service hot and cold breakfast choices. All in all for the price this was a good place to stay for a short visit to Colchester. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Carolyne Cowie, Other at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Responded 1 week ago
Dear michelleGateshead Thank you very much for your lovely review and the kind comments made. Surya Hotels are in the process of looking at bathroom upgrades currently. We do hope that we can welcome you back when you are next in the area Kind Regards Carolyne Cowie OM 01206 230900
Read more
Jackie wrote a review Sep 2021
Sheringham, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Needed a one night stay to break up a journey and this was in an excellent location just of the A12 near Colchester. Great value and we liked the fact that there was a bar and restaurant so that, after a long journey, we didn't need to venture too far from the hotel that evening. The self check-in/check out system is great for ease and speed - just scanned the QR sent to us earlier in the day. However, we did need a little help with the car registration for the car park and the receptionist was extremely helpful and friendly. In fact we later realised she was much more than a receptionist - as she was also barmaid, room service and waitress. The room was perfectly comfortable and very clean - although it was a little dark and could have done with a lamp/uplighter as the only lighting was provided by the two bedside lights, hallway light and small desk lamp. It was a very hot night and, unlike so many hotels, it was possible to open the window wide enough to get a flow of air which we really appreciated. The bathroom was clean with lovely, fluffy clean white towels. The shower was a bit on the weak side and the shower curtain didn't quite reach the bath so we did end up with quite a lot of water on the floor - but this was easily mopped up with the towelling bath mat provided. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good night sleep. hair dryer/iron & ironing board, tea and coffee facilities were what you might expected in a much more expensive hotel so a real bonus. There is a very nice, comfortable bar/restaurant area, including outside seating. However, I would have to say that our meal was very disappointing. There was a very long wait and when the food arrived the waitress apologised and explained that they had a new chef and he was finding his feet - personally I think he should be finding the door. There were only about 12 people eating and one couple waited an hour for 2 veggie pizzas. I opted for Scampi & Chips because I thought it was a safe option - sadly the chips were inedible, soggy and swimming in oil. The real lasting memory of the hotel were the two barmaids/waitresses/receptionists who worked their socks, were pleasant, friendly and helpful - a real asset. I really liked the old black & white photos of local landmarks/scenes along the corridors - very interesting. This hotel offers great value for money, great service and I wouldn't hesitate to return...although I would think twice about eating in the restaurant until the chef masters the menu or gets replaced.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Carolyne Cowie, Other at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Responded 1 week ago
Dear jackiebB7173ZN Thank you very much for taking your time to review your recent stay. While it appears that overall we met with your expectations I am very sorry to read of your disappointment with the evening meal and we are addressing your comments with the team. We do hope to welcome you back when you are next visiting the area Kind REgards Carolyne Cowie OM 01206 230900
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ramada colchester hotel colchester, colchester ramada
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Quality Hotel Colchester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEssexColchesterArdleigh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Which popular attractions are close to Dragonfly Hotel Colchester?
Nearby attractions include Doomsday Escape Games (4.0 km), Escape Colchester (4.5 km), and The Munnings Art Museum (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dragonfly Hotel Colchester?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Orange Tree Tapas-Wine, Gin and Cocktail Bar with restaurant, The Wooden Fender, and Timbers.
Are there any historical sites close to Dragonfly Hotel Colchester?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Flatford Mill (7.1 km), Roman Circus Visitor Centre (5.1 km), and Dutch Quarter (4.4 km).
Is Dragonfly Hotel Colchester accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.