We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dragonfly Hotel Colchester

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 167: English reviews
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for a work trip. I will not rush back. It is located in the middle of nowhere and when I arrived the restaurant had stopped serving food at 9 there was no where nearby to get anything. The bathroom was dated and not super clean, not dirty but just due to being dated didn't have that just cleaned feeling.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sonya186414
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear Sonya186414 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel & I have raised the points you have mentioned with the team to ensure that for you and future guests, these situations do not arise again. All comments, whether positive or negative are welcomed to enable us to improve on the standard offered and... More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arranging wakes is something I do a lot (I am a funeral director) my job was made much easer by the efficiency of Carolyn and Emely they both had a very pleasant manor on the phone and gave me all the answers I needed. A1 Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Lee J
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear Lee Thank you for your 5 star review and the comments contained within it. I will ensure that Emily is also made aware of your comments. I am very pleased to help, in what is a stressful time for all and hope we can assist you again in the future. Kind Regards Carolyne Cowie OM 01206 230900 More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Terrific praise to the staff who were friendly, helpful and welcoming, they did all they could to make our stay pleasant. Sadly it had seen better days and there were only a handful of people staying. On the two nights we ate there, there were only about 4 others eating. The menu was limited but as one night's meal was... More 

Helpful?
Thank judith_aldous
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear judith_aldous Thank you for taking time to post your review in regards to a recent stay at the hotel and it is very rewarding to read of you kind comments regarding the team which I will ensure are passed on. We are aware of heavy usage within the hotel and this is currently under review by the hotel owners.... More 

Travellers are raving about these Ardleigh hotels

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel was very dated. Rooms very basic even the remote control did not work as was held together by sellotape. Breakfast was very poor with rubbery scrambled egg fatty bacon and nasty sausages. We also had some property go missing from one of the rooms our party was staying in. When the hotel was e-mailed to inform them of this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sharon l
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear sharon l Thank you for your review and comments on your stay with us recently. I was disappointed to read your feedback on your experience in regards to breakfast and that housekeeping failed to adhere to the hotel's security policy of letting guests into rooms without checking with reception first. I have re-addressed this issue with the team today... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Quick easy check in,friendly staff Nice clean room Lovely to see the deer in the grounds at dawn and dusk Sadly we were told no childrens menu in the evening so we had to go out..not good after a busy day when we just wanted to relax in the hotel

Helpful?
Thank j1956
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear j1956 Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at the hotel and the kind comments. Unfortunately we do not offer a child's menu but I have taken your comments on board and maybe this something we can look into for our future younger guests. I hope, despite this, we can welcome you and your family... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Room basic and in dire need of a make over, carpet stained and threadbare with pieces missing. Breakfast was a choice of sausage, bacon, beans, and yellow rubber that was passed of as scrambled egg. The evening menu was mostly microwave meals or frozen pizza. We complained that we could not eat our meal because of the poor quality ,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen F
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear Helen F Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at the hotel. I'm very sorry to read you have had cause to be less than satisfied with your experience and for this I can only apologise. I have discussed your comments with the team and I am sorry that you were not offered alternative meals,... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

NOT AT ALL HAPPY! Called at the hotel to meet a business acquaintance for lunch availing myself of the FREE car park. A couple of weeks later I received a fine in the post and, having unsuccessfully appealed over recent weeks, have just paid £100 for parking!!! I'm a regular traveller and this could have been a frequent pit stop... More 

Helpful?
Thank _7ravel_bag
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear _7ravel_bag Thank you for your recent comments in regards to the car parking charge. I have forwarded your comments onto Surya Hotels who own and operate the Dragonfly Colchester. Kind Regards Carolyne Cowie OM 01206 230900 More 

UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel was basic, which wouldn't be a problem if it was properly maintained. You get a tired hotel that looks grubby that no amount of happy staff can make up for. My room also stank of smoke. The wood cooked pizza offer was pretty bad. Seemed like a cheap frozen pizza base. It seems the owners don't care about... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear Andrew T Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry to read of your disappointment with the hotel during your stay and I would like to apologise for any inconvenience the issues may have caused you. We take all comments seriously, whether positive or negative, to enable us to improve... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016

I stayed here last week with my other half, we had a king size bed which was SO big and very comfy. The room was clean, plenty of choice of coffee and tea in the room, a kettle, there was shower gel, shampoo and soap in the bathroom. We stayed the one night but it had everything that we needed... More 

Helpful?
Thank baby_todge
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear baby_todge Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your visit with us for and for the kind sentiments contained therein. I will pass these comments onto the team here as they always appreciate positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next visiting the area. Kind Regards Carolyne Cowie OM... More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

the room was very basic as were the facilities.the bed needs replacing so does the well worn and stained carpet.the restaurant food was very poor quality and overpriced.nothing on the menu was fresh.all cooked from frozen.the tables were badly scratched and the room needed a good spring clean.a lot of improvement needed.

Helpful?
3 Thank colintayloris
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear Colintayloris Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel and I'm very sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and for this I can only apologise. Please be assured that all comments are taken seriously to enable to improve on the standard of service and... More 

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardleigh
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
11.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.3 km away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
333 reviews
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
4.6 km away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hotel Colchester

Address: A12/A120 Ardleigh Junction, Ardleigh, Colchester C07 7QY, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Colchester)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Ardleigh
Price Range: $68 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonfly Hotel Colchester 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Dragonfly Hotel Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Colchester Hotel Colchester
Colchester Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dragonfly Hotel Colchester staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Dudley, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Dragonfly Hotel Colchester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms need a makeover.”
 of 5 bubbles colintayloris, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Register your car at recieption no matter how long you stay!”
 of 5 bubbles adamtyler, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 628andrewa, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I am not aware there are any”
 of 5 bubbles Birtabroad, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Front-facing room as far away from reception as possible, would probably provide the best chance of a quietish night.”
 of 5 bubbles deebeedee2014, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay