We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Youth Hostel Los Amigos

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flores
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Youth Hostel Los Amigos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

666 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Youth Hostel Los Amigos
See the most recent reviews
Showing 540: English reviews
Koh Tao, Thailand
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

This hostel is something of an a rarity in Guatemala, that being it is an upscale hostel that doesn't cut corners and favors comfort over attacking backpackers to the rafters. The restaurant is nice, if a little overpriced for Guatemala standards but it's still cheap considering and the back bag is fun with a good crew of people. Would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joey R
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Hi Joey! Thank you for recognizing and placing value at our life's creation! So glad you enjoyed your stay! Warm greetz, Los Amigos

Reviewed 12 December 2016

So as a backpacker, who reserves one dorm bed a week out from when I'm supposed to stay, receiving confirmation and everything, I thought it reasonable to expect that be a reservation? Apparently not. At Los Amigos, if you haven't arrived by 3pm, they'll give your reserved bed to an unorganised traveller who happens to rock up before you do,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess M
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Hi Jess! We are so sorry for the mistake that we made in your reservation. We understand your anger and frustration. On behalf of our receptionist who mistook 9 am for 9 pm a huge apology. We will make sure this doesnt happen again! Thank you for writing this review and helping us to improve our business! Warmest of Greetings,...

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Private rooms are in a separate building to the actual hostel so feels a bit more private. We had 2 fans in our room and a little yard to ourselves which was nice. Lighting wasn't great though in the room or bathroom. All very nicely decorated though. Restaurant/bar is very pretty. Most staff are friendly and helpful. We got a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JezzicaB87
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Hi Jessica! Thanks for your review! We will have a look at the light situation and improve it! Furthermore, happy to read you had a good experience at our hostel! Warmest of Greetz, Los Amigos

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Stayed here in November with my daugher and her boyfriend for 2 nights. We had a private room and me husband I myself in another building around the corner. The main part of the hostel is beautifully present and very quirky and boho . Lovely to sit it for Coffee and something to eat. The room that we stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Hi Trish! Thanks for taking the time to write your review! Sorry to hear you had such a terrible shower. We have 3 people full time working on maintenance and, I am not just saying this, usually if a shower is not working properly we have it fixed within the hour. Did you report the malfunction of the shower to...

Reviewed 10 December 2016

Hostel is really nice I slept in a private room and it was amazing. Every night it's something going on. Drinks and food in the bar are excellent not cheap but good:) Very friendly stuff. I hope one day I'll come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka G
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Hi Agnieska! Happy to hear you had such a lovely time at Los Amigos Hostel! Nuestra Casa es tu Casa! Warmest of Greetz, Los Amigos

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We stayed three nights in a basic private room with shared bathroom and enjoyed our stay. The restaurant / lounge area were amazing. The food was really good. We arrange our Tikal tour and our overnight bus to Antigua through the tour desk and both worked out well for us. Flores is really nice, although very quiet. I would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chantallymac
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Hi Chantall! Thanks for taking the time to write us your review! Lovely to get reflectyed back from people how they enjoy our creation made with love! Flores is indeed a quiet little town but definately has its charm! Buig hugg and have a beautiful trip ahead! Los Amigos

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Los Amigos a few times during our trip to Guatemala and were very happy with our stay. Lively when you want it to be but quiet when you need. Tasty food, alright prices and a nice vibe.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louisesummers969
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Hi Louise! Thanks for your kind review! Happy to see you had such a good time with us! May you have many more beautiful travels! Los Amigos

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We stayed one night and the best part of a day and it was fairly decent overall. The staff were speedy and friendly, although not the best at answering emails. The lounge area is laid back, but also got fairly noisy at times. We liked the room, which was clean and spacious. Our biggest complaint has to be the shower....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hacb86
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for your review! We are very sorry about the shower problem you had to deal with.... I understand your frustrations as an old time traveler myself. Will look into why your shower wasnt fixed immediately! Thanks for letting us know and helping us to improve our service! Warmest of Greetings, Los Amigos

Reviewed 25 November 2016

The hostel is fine, really good common area. However one MAJOR complaint is the tour organiser dude (the desk below reception). We booked tickets with him to Semuc chempey and he told us the seats were ours and he could put the tickets on our tab. We went to get money from the ATM and when we got back he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Hi Lucy! Thank you for your review! I can only agree completely... So sorry about this huge mistake on our behalf. We have seriously addressed the problem and trust me, we are stepping up in our service! Again... our most humble apologies and thanks for letting us know here so we can improve! We hope you have many more amazing...

Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 22 November 2016

This is a great place for 20-something backpackers with a bit extra in their budget for a high-end hostel. It was the nicest hostel I've ever been to! That being said, I'm not a 20-something backpacker. I stayed here because my friend wanted a hostel experience and, boy, did we get it. It certainly was memorable. The hostel is absolutely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CeeGunn
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Hi dear! Thank you for expanding your comfort zones and choosing the hostel experience instead of your normal preference of staying! We are glad, besides the stairs and credit card issue, you had such a nice stay with us! We wish you many more beautiful adventurous new experiences and travels on your path! Warm Greetings, Los Amigos

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 17 in Flores
262 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 17 in Flores
298 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 17 in Flores
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#5 of 17 in Flores
176 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Villa del Lago
Hotel Villa del Lago
#4 of 17 in Flores
229 reviews
0.1 km away
Hostel Yaxha
Hostel Yaxha
#7 of 20 in Flores
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Youth Hostel Los Amigos is a unique hostel created by travellers for travellers with love, detail and creativity over the past 11 years. We consider it more than just a quick sleep or another stop on your way. Los Amigos is truly that warm nest that you'll be looking for during your travels. We provide a 5 star service at a backpacker price offering loads of extra free services like - a free cinema - pool table - Separate Night lounge - Reliable in House Agency - Wide lush green garden to relax - Free PC to use - Sauna and Spa - Soccer games with the locals - Boat tours on the lake - Rope swing tours and canoe rentals and much more! You catch our drift! Los Amigos is more than a place to stay, it is a place TO BE!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Los Amigos

Address: Calle Central (Next to Pro-Peten), 1 Block From the Central Park, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Price Range: $4 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Youth Hostel Los Amigos Hotel Flores
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Youth Hostel Los Amigos staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Youth Hostel Los Amigos staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you're requesting a private room, ask to be put in the second building (they have an apartment-style building down the street).”
 of 5 bubbles ps02161982, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“do not take the dorm room located at the reception”
 of 5 bubbles jennifergn2015, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You can pick whatever suits you best”
 of 5 bubbles RudyKoenen, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you triply clarify your reservation with front desk”
 of 5 bubbles 982jessm, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room in the main section and not around the corner.”
 of 5 bubbles trishm371, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5