We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

IFA Catarina Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
IFA Catarina Hotel
IFA Catarina Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,741 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for IFA Catarina Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 889: English reviews
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed here on 2/03/13 to 10/03/13. If your are staying fully inclusive you are not allowed the cakes that in the little coffee shop in the counter, but you can have the cakes that were out for breakfast which have been sat on the table for a couple of hours. You are not allowed any food that is on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shell e
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and thanks for the time taken. We are very sorry that your holidays wasn't as you expected. Regarding the All-In offer in the IFA Catarina, we inform our guests via tour operator as well via our web page about our schedules, where and what we offer and not offer. At arrival you got a leavelet again...

Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed here February 2013. Can't say I thought much of he place. This was my third trip to the Maspalomas area. I'd stayed twice before in Melonaras. Do yourself a favour and see if you can get into one of the hotels in that area. The service from the staff in this hotel is poor. The Thomson rep was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leachy77
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we are very sorry that your stay was not as confortable as you expected to be. We already forwarded your comment to our head of department for taking action inmediately. We are sorry also not to be able to provide you with some services like ironing and according to our precedures for safety reasons we...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2013

First impressions of this hotel were very good check in was really smooth no problems at all.Our room was 5th floor last block from reception quite a trek but so worth it no noise and a view across the dunes and sea, the maid service was very good no problems.Now to the bar staff some seem to pamper to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 201daisysue
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your review and thanks for taking your time for it. We are very happy that your stay was as enjoyable as you expected and we had already forwarded to all the staff particularly the one your named. Your comment encouraged them to continue with their friendliness and shows that their effort is compensated. We...

Scotland
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Just returned from our 8th stay in 4 years and have to say this hotel works for us every time. Staff are very friendly, Oskar on reception and Miramar at the restaurant reception always add a personal touch and greet us like old friends. Special thanks to both of them! We always stay on half board so cannot comment on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glenip
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experince and thanks for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are very glad your stay was as you expected and we hope to welcome you again comming season. With "sunny" regards and hasta la vista, Enrique Giersberg Hotel Manager

Cork
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Having been to the ifacatarina last year we returned again this year with great expectations of a super weeks holiday. Our week got off to bad start with the allocation of our bedroom. We had booked a room with a pool view but what we got was room 108 on the ground floor. The view in front of the balcony...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CorkVisitor2012
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and thanks for taking the time to wright the comment on your last stay at the hotel. We are sorry you had not been allocated to the wished room due to the booking situation and we would like to welcome you again once more to show you how good we can perfomed as you had it...

London
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed 16-23.2.13. Room 521 which was great (NB see below as to how you get rooms on the 4th/5th floor, which is the one thing I do strongly recommend). It's a typical hotel for the area, in that it's classed 4* but feels more like a good 3* - but i've stayed twice and no complaint this time. Friendly staff,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mickdevil
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your review and your experience at the IFA Catarina and we are very pleased that your stay was as expected. Gran Canaria is a destination specially for UK and German visitors and in minor amount, Dutch, Belgium, Austria, Swiss and also Scandinavians. We try to please every guests and according to the Nationality the taste and expectations...

Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed at Catarina last month. The reception staff very rude. The first big disappointment was when I found out that I had to pay for the Internet in the room and additional tv channels. The guy at the reception asked me sarcastically whether I came to relax or work that I need the Internet in the room. Another big...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mrbejm
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and thanks also for your honesty and we are sorry you had a disappointing moment with a receptionist. Regarding WiFi service, we offer at the Bar Madison free WiFi during whole day. According to the brochures of tour operatos as ell as our web page, we offer WiFi in room on charge. Referring our food, we...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I had read the wonderful reviews for this hotel and was expecting big things from them for my first Christmas break abroad since I was a teenager. I was sorely dissapointed. Firstly, the hotel caters mainly for German guests, however this is not normally a problem as I have stayed previously in hotels where one nationality dominates. However on Christmas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wickedqueen
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and thanks for sharing your comment on your stay at christmas time. We feel sorry, you did not have the perfomance expected specialy at Christmas Eve. Traditionally on the Island and in Spain, Christmas Eve is different and all hotels offers on Boxing day a Gala-Christmas-Dinner with a special menue, well decorated restuarant, buffet as well...

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed for one week at this hotel which was very clean and spacious. We had a lovely view from our balcony of the swimming pools and gardens plus the dunes and in the distance the sea. There was plenty to choose from at all mealtimes, so always something for everyone. The entertainment was good in the evenings, we were out...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JoyandDen
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and thanks for sharing your experience. We are please that your stay was great and you could enjoy not only the hotel also our charming perfomance. We hope to welcome you again at the IFA Catarina for your next vacation and remain with "sunny" regards and hasta la vista... Enrique Giersberg Hotel Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2013

On first arival the hotel looked ok... The large writing is missing on the front just leaving an outline which wasn't a great site to see but things got better as we got inside. The reception was clean and smart with welcoming reception staff. We checked in quickly and easily. We was given our key to our room on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou H
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and thanks for taking the time to share your comment. We had noticed your comment specially on mattresses and we are working to get brand new ones in a close time. We are glad that the general perfomance was as expected and you could enjoy the fantastic weather on Gran Canaria. We hope to welcome you...

1,347 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1064)
Viewed
View from Room (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (276)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (173)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (20)
Viewed
Other (371)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (264)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Kids Pool (6)
Viewed
Pool (27)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Garden View (30)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Pool View (42)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Street View (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
2.3 km away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#24 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
2,198 reviews
1.2 km away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#20 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
692 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3,828 reviews
1.2 km away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,147 reviews
0.5 km away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#11 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about IFA Catarina Hotel

Address: Avenida de Tirajana 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $138 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Catarina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your IFA Catarina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
IFA Catarina Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria
Ifa Catarina Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from IFA Catarina Hotel staff and other travellers.
167 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (167)

Questions? Get answers from IFA Catarina Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room away from central block if you want quiet”
 of 5 bubbles JulianP531, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The view from room 161 was very nice with e.g. the palm trees, flowers and green grass.”
 of 5 bubbles Suomineito_11, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the pool side might be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Varpuliini, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“best rooms with views on swimming pools, duna and ocean (in the distance)”
 of 5 bubbles pippot769, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for the garden view upgrade if you want a good view and dont mind a little noise.”
 of 5 bubbles lauraclaireferguson, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5