We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Billy Goat's Gruff Campground

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Billy Goat\\
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Billy Goat's Gruff Campground
See the most recent reviews
Showing 38: English reviews
Fredericksburg, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I don't usually write bad reviews, but this place was pretty bad. They didn't enforce 11pm noise curfew.. People were loudly drunk & played music till about 5 am (the owners left around 10 pm). Not only music, but five different radios blaring LOUDLY! Secondly, they took credit cards over the phone for booking a place, but on arrival to... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank Amelita_13
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

Ok lets see YOU enforce 100 partying adults to be quiet all night. If you can please come here every weekend and stay up all night long and have at it and just see how many like adore you in the morning. ALL CAMPERS MUST POLICE THEMSELVES, BE COURTEOUS, HAVE FUN AND CHILL OUT!!! IF THERE IS A PROBLEM CALL... More 

Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The property is very small, expensive for primative tent camping. Sites are VERY close to each other. You have to haul water from the restrooms. The Toilet and Showers are closed from 11:00am to 7:00pm. So you have to use the most disgusting port potties during the day. This is NOT a family friendly place. People drinking music all night,... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Raquel M
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

Yes we are a small camp and that's they way we like it. Yes camping on the Guadalupe in most camps you are camping right next to other people. The bathhouse is closed like you stated so people from the river do not trash, vomit, sh**, and have sex in them during the day. Disgusting porta pottys? Why didn't you... More 

Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

PREFACE: We stayed Memorial Day weekend with the intent to "have a good time" so I'm guessing the "party level" was a bit higher than normal. The campsite has probably about 25 spots, pretty close to one another, especially riverside. Riverside sites are basically on clay, the other sites had decent grass to pitch your tent. There was a lot... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dmoney884
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

Thank you and you are pretty much right on target. In regards to cleanliness, remember it is the river and also we do pick up your bagged trash in the morning and it helps if all campers clean up their own campsite. Glad your caught up on your sleep and sorry about your hangover -- NOT - lol More 

Granbury, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Got a good laugh out of all these reviews.. We had a big rowdy group with us and had a great time! We were all planning on hitting up Ice House after our float but were having such a great time at this sites bar there was no need to leave. I love how everything is right there with no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank amanda n
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

Thankyou More 

New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I'm not posting a review to comment negatively on the owners or employees. I was actually very impressed with their hospitality, seeings that I was on crutches with a fractured ankle. The property was clean, rather small ... but very quaint! And they do have a great view while tubing. Very impressive! However, I wish I had checked Billy Goat... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank clickmyspace
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

DO TELL!! It seems that you want to be ENTITLED. You called, we quoted you the rate, (rates are comparable with most camps on guadalupe), you did not make a reservation, you just showed up, (usually there is a two night minimum), you paid, you played, you stayed, you didn't have to, it was your choice, are you kidding us,... More 

ARLINGTON
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I made the reservation before I read any reviews, and after reading the reviews, I was pretty nervous, but I have no complaints! It was very nice to camp in the same place you get your tubes, and also have food and drinks available there. Our camp site was way less crowded than many others I passed while floating the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jubilee D
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

Thank you and glad you had a good time. More 

Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2012

A group of 4 of us just enjoyed this past weekend at Billy Goats Gruff and had a perfectly pleasant time. We booked our campsite quite a few weeks in advance and were a little nervous when we read the reviews on trip advisor the week before we were booked to camp. However, our worrying was all in vain as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MandaLeeNM
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Also pointing out that the bathrooms are closed 1-7 and that it is not on our website we will get that on our site soon. Also pointing out the reason why they are closed. Before we did this many of a disgusting things were occuring in them.... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This place is horrible. Don't ever come here. The woman that owns the property is a drunk lunatic. When we called to make the reservation we clearly stated that we had 5 people in our group. They gave us a cabin for 4, so we added an air mattress to the middle of the floor so the 5th person had... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Hakciria
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this review

This unit has been a rental for eight years. It ONLY rents out for a party of four adults. The person that made the reservation signed off on all paper work upon his check in that three guests were checking in on early Friday and one later Friday evening. Security checked the late vehicle at 11:45 (check in ends at... More 

San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I was charged $300.00 fo damage that was pre existing. The door jamb was broken when we received the cabin. Check out was at 11 and we waited until 11:30 to leave we had no key to the unit and the total for one night was $412.00. They hit my card for an additional $300.00 and did not even call... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank 12ofus
Management response:

First we know you and your family had a great time and we are sorry that you or someone in your group damaged our property, and were charged for it. So let us begin. The truth was not told beginning at your check-in. You stated that you had six people, which ended up being eight and we overlooked that, as... More 

Christoval, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Biggest problem with this place is the management. I've never witnessed such a lack of professionalism as was witnessed here. Rude doesn't even begin to describe it. People like this have no business dealing with the public. Their threats to sue people who post negative reviews are just ridiculous (this happened). Bring it!!! Clearly.....it's a common occurrence, otherwise, why so... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Txgirl76401
Management response:

U ummmm - had to clear our head and throat for this one. Your family was so embarrased by your behavior that they apologized three times. You were supposed to turn in our river equipment by 6 pm but we waited and waited and waited. We asked your party where you were and they said you hooked up with some... More 

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Braunfels
9.1 km away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#24 of 31 in New Braunfels
103 reviews
14.1 km away
Hill Country Cottage and RV Resort
3.9 km away
The Summit Vacation & RV Resort
The Summit Vacation & RV Resort
#18 of 28 in New Braunfels
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
#1 of 31 in New Braunfels
618 reviews
6.5 km away
Hideout on the Horseshoe
Hideout on the Horseshoe
#7 of 14 in Canyon Lake
112 reviews
7.1 km away
Lamb's Rest Inn
Lamb's Rest Inn
#2 of 18 in New Braunfels
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Billy Goat's Gruff Campground

Address: 8570 River Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78132-3127
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Billy Goat`s Gruff Campground Hotel New Braunfels
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Billy Goat's Gruff Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“save yourselves the hassel and stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles J4042OVlisac, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“There is no place there to camp that is good.”
 of 5 bubbles raquelmO4916ZD, 24 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Not as family oriented as I would've liked. More for the drinking croud than single mother with 2 kids.”
 of 5 bubbles clickmyspace, 12 Aug 2012 | Read review
3 of 3