We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Double Barr Cottages

Save
Share
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (33)
Family and Play Areas (5)
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good27%
  • Average7%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“gas stove”(2 reviews)
“front office”(3 reviews)
“beach”(61 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Kitchenette
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
61
40
11
10
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
61
40
11
10
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas stovefront officebeachpattilinenstoastergulf
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

was a last minute decision but was happy. after checkout I got a nasty text from front office accusing me of leaving a cup of ashes in the room and telling me that I was not an "adult". the accusation was absolutely false. there were...More

1  Thank William H
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Found the management team very helpful, would have liked to have had a toaster in the unit, but toasted our bagels on the gas stove! Very glad that we were able to leave our two small dogs in the unit, whilst we went shopping, very...More

Thank JudEth2014
Response from Patsy W, General Manager at Double Barr CottagesResponded 29 March 2017

Thank you for staying at Double Barr Cottages. Your feedback is what drives us to make changes. I will see about adding toasters to the full kitchens we offer at Double Barr Cottages. We love that your pets were comfortable while you enjoyed the island....More

Reviewed 28 February 2017

Stayed there 2/20 to 2/24/2017. They are in the process of updating cottages. Patsy and her crew were all very nice to us. The location is close to the drive on beach. Just load up the car and go! The cottages were what you would...More

Thank jeanannevans
Response from Patsy W, General Manager at Double Barr CottagesResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for staying at Double Barr Cottages. Our standard cottages got a face lift this off season. I hope to have the Deluxe units finished this next year. Double Barr Cottages is close enough to everything to walk, but the golf carts give you...More

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

The cottage was old and small. We booked a deluxe and was informed upon our arrival that the booked unit had flooded. There were oscillating fans pointing into the rooms in an attempt to cool the rooms off. It was very hot the entire first...More

1  Thank JayLovely1
Response from Patsy W, General Manager at Double Barr CottagesResponded 22 August 2016

Thank you for staying at Double Barr Cottages. I'm sorry you had some issues during your stay. We did have a unit down with a water leak, and a oven door was broken the night before in the unit you were to stay in. After...More

Reviewed 11 August 2016

Cant beat the location. It's in the middle of everything and only three blocks from the beach. Quiet family place to spend the night. Served our purpose, but would have liked a little more refinement. The downside was: A/C is a window unit, insufficient to...More

Thank Guillermo V
Response from Patsy W, General Manager at Double Barr CottagesResponded 12 August 2016

Thank you for staying at Double Barr Cottages. Our cottages are quaint at 450 sq ft. This is why we keep the occupancy at 6 people including children. Too many people in a cottage makes for a cramped unpleasant hot vacation. Due to the excessive...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Details
Price range
US$223 - US$336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$223 - US$336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (33)
Family and Play Areas (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
debbie k
14 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Patsy W | Property representative |
No maam. We are a vacation rental. I do some monthly rates for Winter Texans on vacation in the winter months but again it is not for living long term just vacation.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Location and quietness is it's only attribute."
Read review
"If you are in Cabin 6, watch out for the bed frame in the private room. Our ankles and toes are still sore!"
Read review
"The pizza place next door is AMAZING!!!"
Read review
"We stayed at 826 room 2. Not a view of the water from that room so I would try to get the room with balcony..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing