We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dalem's Chalet

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dalem\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dalem's Chalet
See the most recent reviews
Showing 48: English reviews
Baltimore
Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

Miserable, this place is run by a mean old German woman. She was very unfriendly and begrudgingly gave us service and ice. We love Vermont, but will never stay here again. We stayed in the spring. She made us move our kayak because she said it was in the way of other renters. I though we were staying there too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaptainThom
Oad217, Manager at Dalem's Chalet, responded to this review

We are so sorry you won't give us another try. Mrs. Dalem has been the proprietor here since she and her husband built the place in 1965. She is 88 and does not have patience for people with no common sense and said there's PLENTY of parking and you chose to park lengthwise in front of 6 rooms and an...

Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

I paid the same price for this piece of garbage room as I did for a room at the fine Lane Hotel in downtown Keene. I booked a queen room that was listed on Trivago and reserved by booking.com. I got a call from the front desk after I reserved the room that they had only a room with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael M
Oad217, Manager at Dalem's Chalet, responded to this review

Well, there is no accounting for taste if you're comparing our place to a Motel 6. If you want modern, no personality, on-the-strip hotels at a cheap cheap rate, then you should stay there. We've had international diplomats and world-famous physicians stay here and request the least-expensive rooms with no view over the places you mention. There is no bait-and-switch,...

Front Royal, Virginia
Reviewed 8 July 2015

It isn't cheap, and it isn't charming. Maybe to some it is quaint, but this was, by far, one of the worst places I've stayed in a long while....we typically stay at Hampton Inn for about the same price, but it was not available that night. We were wary ahead of time, because of the reviews, so we were not...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank SparklySuzq
Oad217, Manager at Dalem's Chalet, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. If you stayed in a room that had a hallway, then the price was under $80, you chose our least expensive room in the oldest part of the motel and CERTAINLY not a comparable price to a Hampton or anything even close. We do suggest that people look at rooms first and...

Zionsville, IN
Reviewed 5 October 2014

This is one of those places that doesn't look quite as nice in person as it does in the advertising, but wasn't too disappointing. The location is good for sightseeing in the Green Mountains and there is some beautiful scenery in the area. Everything in the room was functional but very dated. Once we turned on the heat, the room...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank billvfitz
Brattleboro, Vermont
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I had company coming to town and didn't want to put them on the busy, ugly strip. I didn't want to put them right in the center of downtown and they prefer the unusual, off-the-beaten path kind of places so I put them up at Dalem's Chalet in West Brattleboro. The outdoor pool was beautiful and quiet. It was very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ian D
St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I loved staying here! The room was musty but I've stayed in places more expensive but a million times worse. The outdoor pool had a great view. The food was AMAZING. The whole vibe was really quaint and interesting.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julsy709
Southeastern MA
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was a last minute weekend getaway and I did read the reviews here. This hotel needs major TLC. It is very dated but you can see how nice it once was. Room was musty and needed a good scrubbing. It was very inexpensive but it is bare bones.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lisaf7
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Visible bedbugs and their droppings in the bed. We checked out immediately without spending the night and I hope we didn't bring any with us! The woman at the front desk refunded our money but yelled at me and vehemently denied it. I was calm and non confrontational (also had my sleepy children next to me in pj's) but she...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JandKids
Oad217, Owner at Dalem's Chalet, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry this customer was so unhappy with our room. She had rented the least expensive room on the lower level for she and her 4 other family members against my recommendation because the room is so small for 5 people. I was very busy checking in other guests and with the diningroom when she decided not to...

Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed at the Dalem's Chalet in January with my husband and our dog for 3 days. I have to admit that it could stand some renovation, but this does not mean the place is dirty or badly kept. People sometime can't distinguish between old and dirty. The rooms have everything you need and unless you are used to 5+...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank uberland
Grass Valley, California
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed here for one night on our journey thru VT in early Oct to see the colors. Got great prices from the internet, but made our reservations by phone. The sweet woman running the place said we didn't need a email confirmation, so we crossed our fingers. When we arrived we got the room just fine and pretty much...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DJSwift

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
4.5 km away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#5 of 10 in Brattleboro
219 reviews
3.4 km away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
537 reviews
5.4 km away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
153 reviews
5.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An Alpine Lodge and seasonal restaurant. Old fashioned hospitality, cozy ambiance yet modern comfort and conveniences. Seasonal pool, high-speed internet and Wi-Fi. Facilities to accommodate weddings, parties or business gatherings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dalem's Chalet

Address: 78 South St, Brattleboro, VT 05301-6153
Region: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Price Range: $115 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dalem's Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Dalem's Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dalem's Chalet staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
larabe
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dalem's Chalet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid ground floor rooms, musty odor, although clean. Ask beforehand if restaurant's open for business. Photos are not current.”
 of 5 bubbles Synumbra, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Just avoid it...there's no good reason to stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles SparklySuzq, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
“We were on the second floor which may have been a better choice than the lower floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles billvfitz, 5 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Upper level rooms with a private balcony were really nice!”
 of 5 bubbles 618iand, 10 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Rooms on the upper floors have nice views.”
 of 5 bubbles JaimeD865, 16 Oct 2012 | Read review
5 of 5