We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dalem's Chalet

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Dalem\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dalem's Chalet
See the most recent reviews
Showing 48: English reviews
Lemont, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed at Dalem's Chalet during hurricane Irene and a year later, were very happy with the rooms, dining hall, delicious food, quaint ambience, very friendly service, kind advice about the surroundings, internet connection, adaptability to our needs. A huge wedding party was there last time, and they seemed more than comfortable and happy.This is the place to stay in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Antanas S
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This is nothing like a typical hotel chain kind of place. If that is what you are looking for, then this in not the place for you. Quiet, clean rooms with the option of suites availalble. NO frills, (except for the coffee pot, hair dryer and a t.v.) kind of place. Yes, it is an older establishment, but you will... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Kat F
Brattleboro, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My parents stayed here over the weekend and they had a very nice time. The previous reviews are way too harsh. My parents' room was lovely and clean, with no fancy frills (but a TV and coffee maker of course), and a beautiful view out the window. Yes, the parking lot is unpaved, but it is Vermont, and the establishment... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime D
Augusta, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

If it was not for my husbands family staying here, we would have left as soon as we walked into the smelly molding room! Just plain awful awful awful. I was up half the night because I could not breath!! ther has to be better places in this town!

Helpful?
3 Thank S D
Oad217, Manager at Dalem's Chalet, responded to this review

We are very sorry for any discomfort you may have had while with us. As you said, "there must be other rooms in town" but you did choose just about the least expensive one in town. We have 2 more levels in our Inn, both are more modern, have better views and are thus, more expensive. If you had come... More 

Travellers are raving about these Brattleboro hotels

North Tonawanda, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I knew right away when our party arrived in the unpaved, muddy parking lot during a rainy day that things might not be up to snuff at this Inn. It looked like we were the only people staying here. We were given a room on the first floor. The hallway was dirty and musty smelling. I unlocked the door to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel G
Oad217, Owner at Dalem's Chalet, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry for any discomfort. We certainly would have moved you to an upstairs room but no one ever came to the front desk to express their disappointment. We don't know anything about leaky ceilings or many of the things this customer says they encountered. We have plenty of ice. :) Of course, this is our least expensive... More 

Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The actual physical condition of this motel does not correspond with the photos on the website. We booked and paid for a night but ended up leaving before we even unloaded the car due to the poor upkeep of the parking area, stairs, bathroom and oddly spooky and dangerous interior hallway.

Helpful?
1 Thank Womble05
Oad217, Owner at Dalem's Chalet, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry that you were not happy with the appearance of our exterior. We are a small family-owned and operated business and Hurricane Irene left us with extensive damage to our parking lot and retaining walls. We have been working diligently to make repairs but the costs have been well over 100,000 dollars. The hallway behind your room... More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

While visiting Vermont for a recent family reunion, so glad I chose to stay at Dalem's Chalet...attentive and responsive service adds to the charm of the already warm, old-world atmosphere, complete with wood beam construction in dining and guest rooms (ceilings)...walk the grounds and watch the sunrise over the church steeple and nearby waterwheel, use the outdoor pool (in season),... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Cavalier M
Bernardston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

My wife and I used the Dalem's Chalet for our wedding reception, and it was everything we could have asked for and more. Mrs. Dalem helped us with everything we could possibly need, she was very friendly and flexible. The upstairs hall was great and the views were awesome!!! It happened to be a very hot, late September day, so... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Brian W
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Upon arrival, we approached the counter to check in only to find out our reservation we made online was not an actual reservation for the actual room we booked. The reservation print out we brought listed the exact room and price expected to receive, however, the lady behind the counter was adament that the particular room reserved was not available.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ImJustSayingIsAll
Oad217, Owner at Dalem's Chalet, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry for any inconvenience. This happens to be the busiest season of the year in Vermont. Our on-line reservation system is not always updated with reservations taken over the phone. This happens very rarely but since it is the busiest time of year, it happens sometimes. I tried my best to be accomodating and tried to explain... More 

Orono, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My husband and I and our two kids recently stayed at Dalem's at the end of a two-week trip around the northeast. This was our fifth visit to Dalem's. On this occasion, Dalem's was the last of four hotels we stayed in, including Gaylord National in National Harbor, MD. If Gaylord National is your speed, you won't like Dalem's. We,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BeasieBee

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
4.5 km away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Brattleboro
194 reviews
5.8 km away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 11 in Brattleboro
505 reviews
3.4 km away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 11 in Brattleboro
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
150 reviews
3.1 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#10 of 11 in Brattleboro
96 reviews
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An Alpine Lodge and seasonal restaurant. Old fashioned hospitality, cozy ambiance yet modern comfort and conveniences. Seasonal pool, high-speed internet and Wi-Fi. Facilities to accommodate weddings, parties or business gatherings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dalem's Chalet

Address: 78 South Street, Brattleboro, VT 05301-6153
Region: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Price Range: $120 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dalem's Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Dalem's Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dalem's Chalet staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
larabe
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dalem's Chalet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid ground floor rooms, musty odor, although clean. Ask beforehand if restaurant's open for business. Photos are not current.”
 of 5 bubbles Synumbra, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Just avoid it...there's no good reason to stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles SparklySuzq, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
“We were on the second floor which may have been a better choice than the lower floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles billvfitz, 5 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Upper level rooms with a private balcony were really nice!”
 of 5 bubbles 618iand, 10 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Rooms on the upper floors have nice views.”
 of 5 bubbles JaimeD865, 16 Oct 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay