We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

587 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 581: English reviews
New Canaan, CT
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is not the first time we've been to the Mountain Top. We've been 4 times over the years and pretty much anyone with bring with us returns as well. We didn't want to stay home for New Year's, but we didn't want to go too far either so we thought of The Mountain Top since there's a lot to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jtperreca
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed each aspect of your visit and recognized the staff as well. As a repeat guest you knew what to expect and it sounds like we exceeded those expectations, which is always our goal. Regarding the in-room WIFI, we are aware that...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We booked a trip to Mountain Top based on previous visits that were great. On a recent return, we were disappointed at the lack of overall effort from the resort. The in-house restaurant menu selection was mediocre at best and the food was very bland. The horse drawn sleigh ride was overpriced, much shorter than the advertised 30 minutes and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank TravelerS5071XL
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

We are always appreciative of feedback from our guests, since that is how we can identify issues that we need to correct. Having stayed with us previously, you know it is always our intention to provide a much better experience than you encountered on your last stay. Each of the areas that you mentioned have been addressed with our managers...

Middlebury, Vermont
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We visited here the busy week leading up to New Year's. Inn was full. Bar was packed with diners. Wi-Fi is only available in the lobby and lounge area so it was full as well. The room had a sitting area with fireplace, a mini bar with sink and refrigerator, and comfortable king bed. Bathroom had a recent makeover with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bikers_Mom
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

It is disappointing to hear of your displeasure with your recent stay. We appreciate that you took the time to share specific areas that we need to reassess, since that helps us to review things like decor and menu items. Thank you for mentioning the positive aspects of your stay as well; that way we learn what we are doing...

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My boyfriend and I visited the Mountain Top Inn back in October, I had planned to review this beautiful place sooner but it slipped my mind! Our stay began with a warm greeting by a receptions whose name escapes me for the moment, it started with an M. Regardless, she was wonderful throughout our stay-- our first room had an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liza B
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our front desk staff. It is rewarding to know that the way they greet the guests and handle 'issues' is what keeps guests returning time after time. We appreciate your taking the time to post a review and we look forward to seeing you for your winter retreat. Warm regards, Khele...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I went here for an event and was a little disappointed. Totally cute location, building and ambiance, but it fell behind in some of its basic functionality. The rooms I looked in were total cabin in the woods, what you should expect from a New England Lodge Resort. I had quail wallcovering with matching window treatments. The bathroom had a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Becky S
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate that you took the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Specific comments such as yours can help us to implement procedures that will create a more positive experience for future guests. Making changes to how the fire alarm system works is prohibited, due to fire safety regulations; however we can take steps to make...

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Could not be more happy that my daughter and son-in-law chose VT as their venue and the Mountain Top Inn instead of a typical "NY" style wedding. The scenery is beautiful, the food is delicious, the wedding coordinators, manager and the staff were a pleasure to work with and did everything we asked for. We love the Inn and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank legalone
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about the resort and our staff. Weddings are very important to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, so it is rewarding to hear that we created a memorable experience for you, your guests and of course the bride and groom! We all look forward to welcoming you back to see us. Best regards, Khele...

South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We used a package deal to stay three nights. Although it rained around the clock we totally enjoyed ourselves. Our room was absolutely beautiful and looked out on the lake and the mountains. On our last morning, the rain had cleared out and we saw the most beautiful sunrise as the sun crept up over the mountains. The food and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joe d
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing for feedback with fellow travelers. We are happy to hear that you chose The Mountain Top Inn & Resort for your anniversary get away; and pleased that we made it a memorable one for you. We are sorry that the new pool was not available while you were with us. The issue with the...

Boston
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We recently had our wedding at the Mountain Top Inn & Resort. It was beyond our wildest dreams! Our guests were all able to stay at The Inn or one of the rental houses on the property, so once they parked their car they were able to stay put all weekend and experience all that the resort has to offer!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann P
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Your thoughtful and thorough review of your visit to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort for your wedding is sincerely appreciated. We are proud to have had the chance to host you and your family & friends for such an important occasion. Thank you for mentioning staff members who were particularly instrumental in providing professional service and friendly hospitality. Be...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

I visited the resort for a 2 night stay for a wedding weekend. I shared a lovely house with seven friends- cozy with big fireplace and comfy lounge, nice kitchen, private outdoor hot tub with pond and lake view. We visited the rustic lodge for a dinner and breakfast (fabulous made to order pasta bar as part of pre-wedding dinner)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wedding you attended, as well as your stay with us. Your positive comments have been shared with our staff. We hope you will come back again for a 'non-wedding' vacation. Sincerely, Khele Sparks General Manager

New York, NY
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Was recently here with my wife for a wedding. The property was beautiful, and had a great history. From the moment we arrived it was pretty clear that folks working at the property were calling it in, and honestly if it wasn't for the wedding we might have cut our stay short. The front desk clerk looked honestly surprised when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AaronNYC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us. It is always most helpful when guests identify specific areas, as you did, where our service was lacking. As you noted we are fortunate to have a beautiful property, with a great history dating back to when elevators were not standard in a 3...

373 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (307)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (127)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
34.0 km away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
365 reviews
16.5 km away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
9.7 km away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland - Killington
15.9 km away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
90 reviews
35.7 km away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Address: 195 Mt Top Rd, Chittenden, VT 05737-9826
Region: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Price Range: $387 - $1,060 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
Mountain Top Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mountain Top Inn & Resort staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Mountain Top Inn & Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not get a room on the main floor, you will hear everything going on in the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 608ErinM, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try rooms away from the common area, front desk and entrance/exits. Avoid the parking lot also unless you are a sound sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles J4451PLrobertb, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All good, depends how much room and amenities you want.”
 of 5 bubbles VTMum, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had rooms facing the reservoir (great view) on the first floor (could hear those above us and out in the hall)”
 of 5 bubbles eburke_3, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Top floor on the pool side are the best rooms and best views.”
 of 5 bubbles svega892, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay