We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Management photos
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

580 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 574: English reviews
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We recently had our wedding at the Mountain Top Inn & Resort. It was beyond our wildest dreams! Our guests were all able to stay at The Inn or one of the rental houses on the property, so once they parked their car they were able to stay put all weekend and experience all that the resort has to offer!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Your thoughtful and thorough review of your visit to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort for your wedding is sincerely appreciated. We are proud to have had the chance to host you and your family & friends for such an important occasion. Thank you for mentioning staff members who were particularly instrumental in providing professional service and friendly hospitality. Be... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

I visited the resort for a 2 night stay for a wedding weekend. I shared a lovely house with seven friends- cozy with big fireplace and comfy lounge, nice kitchen, private outdoor hot tub with pond and lake view. We visited the rustic lodge for a dinner and breakfast (fabulous made to order pasta bar as part of pre-wedding dinner).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wedding you attended, as well as your stay with us. Your positive comments have been shared with our staff. We hope you will come back again for a 'non-wedding' vacation. Sincerely, Khele Sparks General Manager More 

New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Was recently here with my wife for a wedding. The property was beautiful, and had a great history. From the moment we arrived it was pretty clear that folks working at the property were calling it in, and honestly if it wasn't for the wedding we might have cut our stay short. The front desk clerk looked honestly surprised when... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AaronNYC
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us. It is always most helpful when guests identify specific areas, as you did, where our service was lacking. As you noted we are fortunate to have a beautiful property, with a great history dating back to when elevators were not standard in a 3... More 

Rocky Point, New York, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

If you were to imagine the perfect country inn, nestled in the mountains of Vermont--one that offered stunning views and country comforts, you'd find yourself dreaming of The Mountain Top Inn. Top notch staff, food overall was good, a couple of misses but the kitchen was also handling a large wedding party. It shouldn't have been a problem, but it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura S
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent stay at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. We are happy to hear that most of your stay was enjoyable and that you will return; however we are sorry that your dining experience was less than perfect. Sharing comments like this helps us to focus on inconsistencies that should... More 

Island Park, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I have vacationed in Vermont many times at various locations. This was the first resort that had it all! Every member of the Mountain Top staff went out of their way to make my stay special! The location is wonderful, our room was very comfortable with a fantastic view of the lake. The food was delicious as one meal was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary Z
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your vacation at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. Creating a dream vacation for our guests is what we always strive to do. You were able to take advantage of the many activities that we offer and it seems like we did not disappoint. Thank you for mentioning some of our... More 

Boston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had been to Mountain Top 20 years ago, and finally made our way back. Our room was charming, and the fact that it had a balcony was great. It was a very relaxing stay. The lake is beautiful, kayaking and canoeing were great fun. Even the walk down to the beach was nice. The new Barn facility is great... More 

Helpful?
Thank katieanddj
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Congratulations on your anniversary! We were honored you chose The Mountain Top Inn & Resort to celebrate. Thank you for the positive comments regarding your stay. We hope you will be back this winter season, rather than waiting another 20 years. Warm regards, Khele Sparks General Manager More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We used a groupon which made the price $119 a night with breakfast instead of $225 (not sure if that includes breakfast). If I was paying full price I would be been very disappointed. If you want to be a luxury retreat area then at least keep up your interior/exterior. The bathroom, bedroom and dinning room had wall paper peeling... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dana L
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your TripAdvisor review. We appreciate specific feedback and critiques from our guests; it is how we can improve the overall experience. Certainly the "little things" do count and we are dedicated to correcting each of the things mentioned. We appreciate that you added the positive aspects of your stay as well. As maintenance and renovation... More 

Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a wonderful place to visit if you want a completely relaxing stay amidst beautiful scenery and with lots of outdoor recreational possibilities. Let's start with the scenery which is gorgeous. The Inn overlooks a picture postcard pretty scene of a beautiful lake with the Green Mountain National Forest in the background. Most of the guest rooms face the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vinny46
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the detailed review of your stay with us. We appreciate so much, that you have returned three times and we look forward to welcoming you back again in 2014. It sounds like you were able to take full advantage of our many activities as well as dining with us, indoors and outdoors on the Terrace.... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Got a deal from Groupon which made it very affordable. A very nice place far from anything. The view is amazing, it's a short walk to the lake where there are kayaks and canoes available. Got there late afternoon so we got a room facing the parking lot :( the a/c is very noisy and the bed is a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Issybella00
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Vermont. It is always helpful to hear feedback regarding the Resort and we appreciate your suggestion for a table d'hôte menu. It sounds as if you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Khele Sparks General Manager More 

Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I had a groupon for the Mountaintop Inn, and we used it as an overnight stay on our way to Northern Vermont. It has the typical - lake with canoeing and kayaking, a pool, plenty of hiking trails. a good workout room. I thought the staff was very nice. Breakfast was good, and the on-site restaurant was reasonable. If you... More 

Helpful?
Thank JSVinda
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. You touched on many of the features that we hope our guests will enjoy. We hope you will find your way to Vermont to see us again soon. Best regards, Khele Sparks General Manager More 

374 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (307)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (127)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittenden
34.0 km away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
357 reviews
9.7 km away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
10.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland - Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
35.7 km away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
16.3 km away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located centrally, just 11 miles from Killington, The Mountain Top is the quintessential Vermont Mountain Resort. Set, literally, at the top of a mountain on a private road, the resort rests on 350 acres with sweeping views of the surrounding Green Mountains and a 740 acre lake (with private beach). With a variety of winter, summer and year-round activities, the Mountain Top is the perfect 4-season escape. Accommodation types include rooms and suites in the main lodge, Cabins and guest houses (guest houses are available for short & long term stays). Other amenities include Dining Room & Tavern (outdoor seating in summer), heated pool with a view, hot tub, brand new full service spa and salon, yoga classes, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, horseback riding, xc-skiing, snow tubing, ice skating, events, conferences and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Address: 195 Mountain Top Road, Chittenden, VT 05737
Region: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Price Range: $347 - $1,449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
Mountain Top Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mountain Top Inn & Resort staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Mountain Top Inn & Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All good, depends how much room and amenities you want.”
 of 5 bubbles VTMum, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had rooms facing the reservoir (great view) on the first floor (could hear those above us and out in the hall)”
 of 5 bubbles eburke_3, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Top floor on the pool side are the best rooms and best views.”
 of 5 bubbles svega892, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Spring for one of the suites - they have the best views around!!”
 of 5 bubbles scohen228, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are traveling with a lot of family members it makes sense to get one of the cottages. ”
 of 5 bubbles M5419NTjosephc, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay