We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Trailside Inn

Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (91)
Dining (9)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Located only 3 miles from Killington Ski Resort and overlooking the fairway of Vermont’s #1 voted golf course, this country inn has everything you could hope for in your Vermont vacation. Completely renovated in the summer of 2011, this 30 room inn is ideal for anyone seeking a family, golfing or skiing vacation or attending a destination wedding. This larger than life up-style country farmhouse is finished with wide, white pine flooring in the guest rooms and great room with natural stone tile in the foyer and private bathrooms. The handmade natural wood touches add to its’ unique ambience. The great room where the complimentary continental breakfast will be served daily features a beautiful fieldstone fireplace, endless windows to let in the natural light, a big screen television and cozy sitting groups for guest enjoyment.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free parking
Breakfast included
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Air conditioning
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
247Reviews
228Photos
1Q+A
49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 202
  • 34
  • 2
  • 3
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 youths) booked suite #201 for 4 nights in mid February for skiing. We are very glad we found this country inn. Josh and Ann are wonderful hosts who have prompt and excellent correspondence. Just a few days after we booked, we received email
Read more
Response from Ann E, Owner at The Trailside Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so very much for the incredibly kind review! We are so glad that our recommendations helped make it a great stay. It was such a pleasure to host your family and we absolutely hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
I always like to stay in family owned and run places like this. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They let me use some snow shoes free while I was there. Nice location next to a beautiful brook and away from the traffic on Route 100, though near the main road. It's right
Read more
Response from Joshua E, Owner at The Trailside Inn
Responded 15 Feb 2019
Thanks for staying with us and the great review!
Read more
The inn was exactly what we needed for a ski weekend. The room was clean and the common area was beautiful. They even had boot and glove warmers, a nice touch. The owner was very helpful and gave us a number of helpful tips about skiing, food, and parking at Killington mountain.
Read more
Response from Joshua E, Owner at The Trailside Inn
Responded 5 Feb 2019
Thank you for staying with us and the great review! Please come back again!
Read more
Let me start this review by saying the owners of the Trailside Inn gave me and my wife the single worst customer service experience I have ever encountered in the hospitality industry. I used Booking.com to book my stay at Trailside Inn with an active filter for one room for 2
Read more
Response from Ann E, Owner at The Trailside Inn
Responded 25 Jan 2019
We apologize that you didn't have a great experience at our inn. Reviews like yours impact small businesses and we do take them seriously. We are consistently a well rated property and we did receive multiple great reviews the exact same weekend that you stayed with us. Unfortunately, the power to review online allows slighted versions to be posted without recourse or validation. Everyone reading please note: 1) When you book with an external website (Expedia or booking.com), you have a contract with them. As a property, we are not allowed to make changes or cancellations to your reservation. They require all communication to be handled through them. Before any cancellation occurs, booking.com policy is to contact the guest via phone twice and via email twice. Booking.com confirmed that they did contact the guest 4 times, per policy, before sending a cancellation notice. This was explained during every conversation with the guest. 2) Per Expedia/Booking.com policy, if you show up with more than the maximum allowed guests for a room, the hotel has the right to refuse the check-in and retain the full amount of the reservation. We went above what was required and refunded the second night due to the situation. Booking.com website and confirmation email clearly states the maximum occupancy of rooms. ***Please read your confirmations before arriving to avoid these situations*** 3) On the weekend of this situation, as the reviewer stated, we were in the middle of a blizzard. A guest was cleaning our front walkway. As the reviewer was loading his car, he and the other guest did exchange heated words and he was called a name. The same guest had overheard the conversation the previous night when the reviewer "understood the concern". The guest almost came over to help the female owner because the reviewer was very agitated and aggressive when confronted about the additional guests. To have said he "understood the concern" is a misrepresentation of how the conversation went. The guest did not have the right to call any name, but was very upset for the owners and the situation at hand. Unfortunately, a heated exchanged occurred. 4) When you book a reservation under your name with a credit card and someone else shows up to check into the room, please know that we have the right to refuse entry. At the time of check-in, it was only the wife who was present and we were told "my husband booked the room for me". Our response was: "if anyone books a room for you, please communicate that in the reservation details as we are required to verify identification." With a statement that someone booked the room *for you*, common sense would preclude anyone to believe that there would be only ONE guest staying at that point. Had the guest been forthcoming at the time of check-in to the fact that there would be 2 guests staying, the entire situation could have been avoided. It was not until after 10pm when both husband & wife returned from being out that they asked for an extra blanket (at which time it became clear there were 2 guests).
Read more
Our company held our annual retreat here this fall, and I could not recommend the Trailside Inn more! Josh and Ann went above and beyond, and truly made our stay memorable. The layout of the inn is perfect for groups; there is a mix of single rooms and dorm-style. The shared
Read more
Response from Ann E, Owner at The Trailside Inn
Responded 9 Oct 2018
We thank you so very much for the wonderful review! It was a pleasure to help put together your booking and host your retreat :) Thank you for the kind words. We certainly hope to have you stay again in the future!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Trailside Inn
The Standard Queen Room - 210 at The Trailside Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Trailside Inn
The Standard Queen Room - 103 at The Trailside Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Trailside Inn
The Standard Queen Room - 103 at The Trailside Inn
Photo provided by managementThe Trailside Inn
Queen Room
PreviousNext
12345619
Hello, Diane! Thank you so very much for your interest in the Trailside Inn! Unfortunately we do not have any availability this Saturday night. (We do have rooms on Sunday.) Please let us know if there is anything else that we can be of assistance with! Best, Ann & Josh
1 vote
"Suites 201 and 200 are great for family with kids or youths. It is spacious, bright and clean."
"Everything was wonderful; family atmosphere, breakfast, hospitality, you name it. I’ll be back again with my family."
"Go with the second floor. It’s probably a little quieter."
"Our 2nd floor queen room was small."
"Cozy rooms"
PreviousNext
12345610
PRICE RANGE
US$120 - US$224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
beattie`s trailside hotel killington
LOCATION
United StatesVermontKillington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing