We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Middlebury Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Middlebury Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

468 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Middlebury Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 458: English reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2016

2nd stay here, once in September in the main hotel, this time in one of the other rooms located on the property. The price is right for the location, rooms were clean, nice fireplace in main hotel, they serve cookies, scones, and tea and coffee in the afternoon, people working there were pleasant!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for being a returning customer - our favorite kind! The Inn has four buildings and each has a different character. But all guests are welcome in the main Inn for Afternoon Tea or just to relax in our spacious lobby.Thank you for your nice comments. Geoff Conrad General Manager

Portland, Maine
Reviewed 13 December 2015

I had the opportunity to stay here for one night recently while in town on business. I loved the charm of the hotel and the historical decor and elements. There was a slight problem at check out when I was charged for breakfast on my room when I paid with a credit card. The day before when I checked in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MBRECED
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had trouble with what should have been a simple request - we do offer a discount if you prearrange breakfast, but it doesn't matter how you pay for it. But as most guests do charge to their room, it sounds like we were out of practice. Otherwise it appears we satisfied your needs. Thanks for taking the...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 10 December 2015

This was our second stay at the Middlebury Inn. It is definitely in need of some upgrading but it has an old world charm and the staff on the whole were very welcoming. We were staying in December so it had a lovely Christmassy feel. Our room was rather small and the king bed barely fit. Window looked out on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMK7
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

Christmas is indeed a magical place at the Inn and in Vermont. We do hear the siren call to upgrade and we appreciate our guests understanding as we embark on a complete renovation of the Lobby next month and then on to the Guestrooms. Thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again soon. Geoff Conrad General Manager

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2015

We last stayed at the Middlebury Inn 33 years ago and enjoyed our stay so we thought we would include it on our 3 week tour of New England, it was our 5th stop on the trip. We booked a deluxe room with 1 queen bed in the main inn including breakfast for 3 nights. On arrival at the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank highgreave
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

As we prepare in 2016 to give the Inn the TLC which you are requesting, I appreciate your feedback. I'm sorry you only felt your room was 'adequate', but it appears you were mostly satisfied by the rest of your experience. Your description of maze like corridors leads me to believe that you were in our oldest section - the...

Silver Bay, New York
Reviewed 1 December 2015

We had a great time at the Middlebury Inn. The room was very comfortable and the Thanksgiving Dinner buffet was amazing and very reasonably priced. Perfect walking distance to everything we needed. We can't wait to go back again. Thanks to all the staff who worked on the holiday!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

I will let my staff know that you appreciate their hard work on Thanksgiving. Hospitality service workers are the unsung hero's of our economy. We are their for you when you want to travel, dine or enjoy your self on a major holiday. Our families, as well, are used to accommodating our tricky schedules, but it's nice to know we...

Georgetown, Texas
Reviewed 17 November 2015

My husband and I had a very pleasant experience in Middlebury, Vermont made even better by our stay at the Middlebury Inn. The room was very comfortable and the location excellent. It is within walking distance of the many shops and restaurants in town. They offer a lovely brunch with a small discount if you are staying there. Since 1837...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Middlebury. Whether you are here visiting family, friends or the College, the Inn is a perfect central location. Ours is a very walkable town! We appreciate your kind remarks. Geoff Conrad General Manager

Burlington, Vermont
Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

The Middlebury Inn is a beautiful building, with great service. Yet, the Inn itself feels as if it's time has come and gone. Not with its decor, but with its accommodations. It feels as if it's trying too hard to please a small highbrow crowd, in a town that is filled with hippies. The food at the restaurant is nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnnyflycritic
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

An interesting perspective - I've never thought of Middlebury as being full of Hippies, and I'm a 'former' hippie myself! We do try hard to please everyone and whether we have a luxury hotel feel is certainly in the eye of the beholder, after all, this is Vermont. I hope you'll travel south again and give us another try and...

Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

The Middlebury Inn was a delightful place to stay! It was clean, comfortable, and rich with history. Our bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had a great jacuzzi tub that was perfect after a long day of traveling. The staff I encountered were all very pleasant and helpful. The complimentary afternoon tea was fabulous, and probably my favorite part!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannahbettina
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

And we hope there is a next time! The complimentary Afternoon Tea is a welcoming aspect to many guests first arrival at the Inn. We try to provide that extra level of hospitality to go along with our fine, old Inn and I appreciate you recognizing our efforts. Hope to see you again soon. Geoff Conrad General Manager

Mendocino, California
Reviewed 2 November 2015

My wife and I recently visited Middlebury over homecoming weekend. We were looking for a place in the center of town that had historic roots. We were fortunate to find the Middlebury Inn. When you enter, you will find a lobby that is both warm and welcoming. Every afternoon, they have refreshments set up to welcome you back from your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MendocinoInnkeeper
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

Just what we like, a satisfied customer! Nobody can complain about the weather the last few months and that can make the difference over Homecoming weekend, but I'm pleased that you were also happy with other aspects of your stay with us. I often refer to our Inn as the grand old lady on the hill - a perfect spot...

Reviewed 20 October 2015

When I booked Middlebury Inn, all I had seen was the old Inn, the historic looking building. Our room was actually behind this building and in the motel looking building. Still, the room was very nice, spacious, and comfy. There was coffee and teas offered in the morning in the lobby, and you can get a small discount on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

I'm pleased that you found our Annex rooms to your liking - they are comfortable and certainly convenient. And you are correct - our $12.95 Breakfast is $11.50 if you arrange for it at check in. Thank you for pointing this out and we hope to see you again now that you know what we offer. Geoff Conrad General Manager

719 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (645)
Viewed
Annex Deluxe King Room (43)
Viewed
Annex Two Double Room (35)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Double Room (38)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Queen Room (38)
Viewed
King Suite (55)
Viewed
Luxury One King Room (45)
Viewed
Luxury Two Queen Room (50)
Viewed
Porter Mansion Luxury King Room (34)
Viewed
Porter Mansion Luxury Queen Room (36)
Viewed
Porter Mansion Queen Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (40)
Viewed
Standard Two Double Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)
Viewed
Two Queen Suite (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
1.6 km away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
209 reviews
27.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
33.1 km away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
246 reviews
0.1 km away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
184 reviews
3.3 km away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic Vermont Lodging - Enjoy warm Vermont hospitality in the heart of Middlebury, a vibrant college town with classic New England character. Welcoming travelers since 1827, the Middlebury Inn offers the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic historic charm. Centrally located between Burlington and Rutland, and convenient to so many of Vermont's attractions, our historic Middlebury, Vermont hotel is perfect for that pampered fresh-air getaway, a family reunion, a base for leaf peeping, bike touring, hiking or cross country skiing, and also to host your organization's professionally managed retreat. Our town is surrounded by thousands of acres of the Green Mountain National Forest as well as numerous trails and back country roads which are ideal for biking, running, hiking, and cross-country skiing. Friendly Lake Dunmore and spectacular Lake Champlain are easy drives from the Inn. For downhill skiing, the family-friendly Middlebury College Snow Bowl is nearby and Sugarbush, Mad River, Killington, and Stowe are all within 40 miles of the Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Middlebury Inn

Address: 14 Courthouse Square, Middlebury, VT 05753
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Price Range: $183 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlebury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Middlebury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlebury Hotel Middlebury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Middlebury Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Middlebury Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing the square”
 of 5 bubbles victorianmodiste, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The front of the inn can be loud. I would ask for a higher room with a courtyard view.”
 of 5 bubbles CJean12, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try and find a room where the sun doesn't shine in early in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles kimmie92592, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room in the newer section in the back was somewhat noisy”
 of 5 bubbles xxrrttyy, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“It is a nice sall town. Not much noise”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay