We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilltop Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilltop Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilltop Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 247: English reviews
Boston,MA
Reviewed 21 September 2012

It was late/dark and we needed a place to stay.We were quoted one price over the phone only to be told the price was $20 more when we got there.The receptionist wasn't the friendliest one I've ever encountered but...the room was old and musty...sink dripping and stained...light over the sink didn't work...wouldn't walk barefooted in the room or in the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MassTraveler55
econoinn, Director of Sales at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Good day Tripadvisor member. Thank you for your information. We value all information we receive both online and at our front desk staff from our valued guests. Generally our rates are readily available online and can be confirmed by our GSR's. Our business center is located in the same area as the front desk for easy confirmation for our guests...

Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed here quickly as the night was dark and rainy and windy. Wish we had gone down the road a little further. This place is actually in Berlin, VT next to Montpelier. The room was dirty with scraps of who knows what on the floor. The picture on the bathroom wall had two cracks in the glass and the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anne C
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 17 September 2012

If I had little kids I would have run away screaming. If my son wasn't so sick I would have asked for a switch, but he was aslepp as soon as we hit the bed. It took awhile to notice the wires, I wonder what would have happened if I touched the green wire???

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tav4th
Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Please do not let anyone you love stay at this inn. The room smelled awful and even after running the air conditioning the smell did not improve. The beds were dirty and disgusting. I have never seen such deplorable conditions in any hotel!!!! My family and I could not believe that the hotel was full! The handle on the fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Goose46
econoinn, Director of Sales at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Good day TripAdvisor Member. Thank you for your response. Admittedly I am a bit puzzled by your feedback. As a person who travels all over the state on a weekly basis I am not sure why you would allow yourself to stay in a room that meets the criteria you have spoken of. Our staff will always make every effort...

Plantsville, Connecticut
Reviewed 4 September 2012

A fair price considering the costs of others around the area. The first morning we had no hot water so a sponge bath with cold water had to be done. The second day the hot water was back but not very hot. The room was okay, the bad was almost against the frig, but it was clean (except the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChetBacon
econoinn, Director of Sales at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon and thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your honest criticism. Our hotel is located in an area that generally hosts very high rates. If you do the rate comparison among hotels in the area online you will find that we are among the lowest. While our quality expectation is unwavering. We will always work hard to provide...

Reviewed 2 September 2012

My wife and I reserved a room for a night and requested a non smokg room. I informed the gentleman that I talked to that I would be paying I cash. Upon checking in the woman at the front desk informed us that she had charged my credit card. I questioned this and she said they always charge the cards...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank pbd1973
North Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Staff members are pleasant, but frankly, from the front door carpet to the room itself, the entire place needs to be professional cleaned. Room bathroom was clean, but lighting was dim as the lighting fixture yellowed. Bed was comfortable, and saw no signs of bedbugs. Unfortunately, the capitol of Vermont does not have much to choose from. Didn't eat at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VTCT
Riverhead, New York, United States
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The place is horrible!! It has a stench to the entire Motel, it's dirty, and I MEAN dirty! The remote control to the OLD tv didn't work, there was no hot water, the ATM was out of order, the bathroom had soap scum that I don't accumulate with 2 sons and a husband in a month, ice machine was filthy,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
Grimsby, Canada
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Had it not been the middle of a terrible monsoon (complete with serious thunder and lightning) after a 10 hour drive, we would have keep looking for another hotel. The room felt / smelled wet, the bathroom smelled of urine. The shower head was so low I had to duck considerably to wash my hair and I am only 5...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atinob1212
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Moldy shower head, dirt on shower liner, broken fridge, a/c, overhead light, ice machine. Disgusting smell in the hallway. Refused to refund unused 2nd night. It's worth the extra money not to stay here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank egkammeyer

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
1.5 km away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
466 reviews
6.0 km away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
4.9 km away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
20.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe
4.4 km away
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 4 in Montpelier
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hilltop Inn of Vermont, Located in the heart of Central Vermont. 81 Spacious and newly appointed rooms with refrigerators and microwaves. Wireless Internet & Business Center, 4 HBOs, Indoor Heated Pool and Fitness Room and an onsite Restaurant.Complimentary Full Hot Breakfast Buffet. Updated rooms with new Serta Plush Mattresses.Open 24 hr with easy access off I-89 Exit 7. Meeting and Banquet facility. Interior corridor with plenty of parking. Providing all amenities of a modern hotel. Our best feature is friendly staff and most Economical Rate in the area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn

Address: 3472 Airport Road, Montpelier, VT 05602
Region: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Price Range: $81 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilltop Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilltop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Hotel Montpelier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilltop Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hilltop Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid this place”
 of 5 bubbles KevinA206, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I wouldn't choose this place.”
 of 5 bubbles _stumper55, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Please do not stay here. Save yourself.”
 of 5 bubbles evanmcshane, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“tip: dont do it!”
 of 5 bubbles travelbugc2016, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay away is your best option”
 of 5 bubbles thedarkones, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5