We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hartness House

Booking.comUS$98*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hartness House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hartness House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 268: English reviews
Livonia, Michigan
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

The house was formerly occupied by Governor Hartness and when you walk in the front door, it looks very inviting. Unfortunately, most of the rooms (including ours) have been added onto the back and are ordinary and somewhat dated. Breakfast is included (which we could not tell from the website), but did not start until 8:00, which was too late...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
HartnessHouse, Front Desk at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and hope that next time we are able to take care of any concerns you may have had during your stay. Please don't hesitate to come to our front desk and voice any concerns you have!

Wallingford, CT
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Went to Vermont for an overnight stay. Found this place and decided to give it a try. The staff is super nice especially the chef Nick. He's a jack of all trades. He was behind the bar, in the kitchen, waited on us at breakfast, and gave us a tour of the telescope tunnel. We had dinner and breakfast (breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paninimom
HartnessHouse, Frontdesk at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are very happy to see such a positive review, thank you very much for the kind words, we definitely try and make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible. Our new chef has definitely brought his own flare and style to the Hartness House, so we are glad everything was to your liking! Please do come and join us again...

Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The first room we were givin was freshly painted, and the odor was overpowering even with the windows open. Paint and dust littered all of the surfaces including the beds. The second room was on a different floor in the same wing. Here is a list of the problems we encountered; The door literally fell off the door frame! Maitanance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bevie13
HartnessHouse, Frontdesk at Hartness House, responded to this review

We apologize for the issues you had during your stay, our manager did speak with you at the inn and we had thought all the problems were addressed, this is a newly opened restaurant and we are trying our best to quickly overcome these problems! If you have any other problems we would be glad to hear them as any...

Nice, France
Reviewed 9 August 2016

wow. what a dump. the first room we got was terrible...in a wing undergoing renovation with stains on the ceiling, baseboards ripped off, and a large (we think) electric conduit running a foot from the wall. we complained and were relocated to the main house which is certainly nicer but old and in bad repair. this place has certainly seen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjmmillard
HartnessHouse, Frontdesk at Hartness House, responded to this review

We apologize for any inconvenience you had while you stayed with us, we were going through renovations and are sorry to have had you in the back during that time! Since your stay we have had time to update and make things more comfortable, we hope you would come again and see the progress.

Mansfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We were heading to Springfield VT for a friends birthday party. I found the Hartness House and I'm so glad I did. Walking into the house was so cool. The home is still decorated to the period but feels warm and homey. We arrived a bit early and had no problem checking into our room a bit early. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mindiegem
HartnessHouse, Front Office Manager at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in maintaining our mansion rooms in their original state as well as offering clean less expensive rooms in the back of the house. We look forward to you joining us again.

Dunedin, Florida
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We'd Love to give a better than 3 stars rating, but the truth is there's a lot of work yet to be done here at this funky inn. The good news: breakfast was lovely, the chef is a lifesaver and attempting to bring the new pub and restaurant on board--great concept and this will be the place to come in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank floridatravelerssss
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

This B&B is in transition. The breakfasts were wonderful and would give it a 5 star rating. They are remodeling and will have this historic inn back to its original glory when they are done. The room I stayed in has not been redone and is sorely in need of it. The staff are friendly and helpful. I definitely will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lenora B
HartnessHouse, Front Office Manager at Hartness House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are working hard to update the inn and renovate it to make it even more beautiful and timeless. Our chef takes great pride in his food and we are especially happy you enjoyed your breakfast. We can't wait to see you again! Cameron- Front Desk

Mills River, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 June 2016

OMG! Worst scariest place I have ever seen. We immediately asked for our money back. The Inn itself is old and smelly but kind of cool, I' m sure the rooms in there are probably nice however when you book online they give you one of the 'modern' rooms in the back addition......NO. Stay away, I'd rather stay at the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ilovelucy417
Saint Albans, Vermont
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Hartness House is a wonderful experience! The inn itself is chocked full of beautiful art and history of the original owners who had a taste for exquisite detail. I loved looking a t all the period pieces and discussing them with my nine year old daughter. We both learned a lot not only about the house but also about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
Hudson, NH
Reviewed 7 June 2016

This was our second time staying at the Hartness and can't wait to go back again. They are in the process of refurbishing the restaurant and tavern and should be finished soon. Breakfast is included and right now is being served in the ballroom. The use of local ingredients made the breakfast exceptional. We stayed in the James Hartness suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McDunnville
HartnessHouse, Front Office Manager at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are very glad to see you enjoyed stay! The staff here at the Hartness House most certainly maintain the customer service skills needed to help make your stay as enjoyable as possible! We are pleased to see you enjoyed the breakfast as well, Head chef Nicholas Matush does his best to serve the freshest and most organic ingredients! We...

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
16.6 km away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
13.9 km away
The Common Man Inn
The Common Man Inn
#1 of 1 in Claremont
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 km away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
7.6 km away
The Inn at Weathersfield
The Inn at Weathersfield
#1 of 2 in Perkinsville
229 reviews
10.8 km away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Hartness House

Address: 30 Orchard St, Springfield, VT 05156-2612
Region: United States > Vermont > Springfield
Price Range: $147 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hartness House 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hartness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartness House Hotel Springfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hartness House staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hartness House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stick with the main building, not the wings. We were on the third floor and when going upstairs we saw some pretty rooms.”
Krioux48, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the Mansion, it is not that much more and well worth it!!”
mindiegem, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“get upgraded to the main inn rooms if you can”
floridatravelerssss, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Dont go there”
Ilovelucy417, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Book Early !”
D5161QEjeffl, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$98* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$98
Hotels.comUS$98
Expedia.comUS$98
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates