We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
13/11/2017 14/11/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Hartness House

    30 Orchard St, Springfield, VT 05156-2612
    (802) 821-4603
    Hotel website
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    -- / -- / --Check In -- / -- / --Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Traveller (135)
    Dining (20)
    Room & Suite (20)
    Overview
    • Excellent55%
    • Very good20%
    • Average7%
    • Poor7%
    • Terrible11%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Hartness House
    Hotel packages
    Deals
    13 Nov14 Nov
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    View all 0 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (290)
    There are newer reviews for Hartness House
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    31 - 35 of 287 reviews

    Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

    Went to Vermont for an overnight stay. Found this place and decided to give it a try. The staff is super nice especially the chef Nick. He's a jack of all trades. He was behind the bar, in the kitchen, waited on us at breakfast,...More

    1  Thank paninimom
    Response from HartnessHouse, Frontdesk at Hartness HouseResponded 1 December 2016

    We are very happy to see such a positive review, thank you very much for the kind words, we definitely try and make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible. Our new chef has definitely brought his own flare and style to the Hartness House, so...More

    Reviewed 28 September 2016

    The first room we were givin was freshly painted, and the odor was overpowering even with the windows open. Paint and dust littered all of the surfaces including the beds. The second room was on a different floor in the same wing. Here is a...More

    Thank Bevie13
    Response from HartnessHouse, Frontdesk at Hartness HouseResponded 1 December 2016

    We apologize for the issues you had during your stay, our manager did speak with you at the inn and we had thought all the problems were addressed, this is a newly opened restaurant and we are trying our best to quickly overcome these problems!...More

    Reviewed 9 August 2016

    wow. what a dump. the first room we got was terrible...in a wing undergoing renovation with stains on the ceiling, baseboards ripped off, and a large (we think) electric conduit running a foot from the wall. we complained and were relocated to the main house...More

    Thank kjmmillard
    Response from HartnessHouse, Frontdesk at Hartness HouseResponded 1 December 2016

    We apologize for any inconvenience you had while you stayed with us, we were going through renovations and are sorry to have had you in the back during that time! Since your stay we have had time to update and make things more comfortable, we...More

    Reviewed 1 August 2016

    We were heading to Springfield VT for a friends birthday party. I found the Hartness House and I'm so glad I did. Walking into the house was so cool. The home is still decorated to the period but feels warm and homey. We arrived a...More

    Thank mindiegem
    Response from HartnessHouse, Front Office Manager at Hartness HouseResponded 14 August 2016

    We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in maintaining our mansion rooms in their original state as well as offering clean less expensive rooms in the back of the house. We look forward to you joining us again.

    Reviewed 31 July 2016

    We'd Love to give a better than 3 stars rating, but the truth is there's a lot of work yet to be done here at this funky inn. The good news: breakfast was lovely, the chef is a lifesaver and attempting to bring the new...More

    Thank travelerssssfun
    Holiday Inn Express Springfield
    123 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Springfield
     
    Motel in the Meadow
    49 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Chester
     
    Timber Inn Motel
    93 reviews
    #2 of 5 hotels in Ludlow
     
    Ludlow Colonial Motel
    148 reviews
    #3 of 5 hotels in Ludlow
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$111 - US$210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 43
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hartness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Vermont >
    • Springfield
    • Also Known As
    • Hartness House Hotel Springfield
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (135)
    Dining (20)
    Room & Suite (20)
    Hotel & Grounds (102)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (10)
    Bathroom (3)
    Family and Play Areas (2)
    Nearby
    Holiday Inn Express Springfield
    123 reviews
    5.19 km away
     
    Timber Inn Motel
    93 reviews
    19.35 km away
     
    Motel in the Meadow
    49 reviews
    12.45 km away
     
    Ludlow Colonial Motel
    148 reviews
    20.59 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    56 Main Street Restaurant
    137 reviews
    .50 km away
    The Subway
    21 reviews
    1.00 km away
    McDonald's
    13 reviews
    1.27 km away
    Perkins Country Deli
    10 reviews
    .32 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Springfield Cinemas 3
    35 reviews
    .39 km away
    The Fort at #4
    44 reviews
    6.40 km away
    Eureka Schoolhouse and Baltimore Covered Bridge
    14 reviews
    2.06 km away
    Gallery at the VAULT
    6 reviews
    .53 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Nancy N
    25 July 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from HartnessHouse | Property representative |
    Good Day Nancy, Rooms in the Carriage Wing are on both the first and second floor. There are ramps leading to both levels. All of our guest rooms feature their own private bathroom located in the room. All My Best, Jen
    0
    Votes
    Nancy N
    25 July 2017|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from HartnessHouse | Property representative |
    Good Day Nancy, We have private and group tables at breakfast for our guests! There are small tables for 2-3 people and we have round tables that seat 7. If a private table is important to you please let our front desk know... More
    0
    Votes
    Karen K
    21 January 2016|
    AnswerShow all 5 answers
    Response from Mary S | Reviewed this property |
    Stayed there in Oct. 2015 No updates were being done.There had been reports of bed bugs In June 2015.They must have done something about that. I would not recommend you to stay here.T.v. was in room.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Rooms in the Inn have most character but rooms in the extension are easier to access."
    Read review
    "The new wing has just been renovated."
    Read review
    "more luxurious rooms are in main house. Less costly rooms are in the rear annex. Nice, simple, clean for $40..."
    Read review
    "We stayed in the Anna room. I would not recommend it. Some of the windows don't have shades and the bed..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing