We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hartness House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hartness House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hartness House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 266: English reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

Very nice place. Friendly work staff. Needs a little updating. Very comfortable bed. Old Victorian house. The town closes up early. Looking at the menu prices are a little high. Good for a one night stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine K
HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The staff does everything in their power to ensure positive guest experiences. We are happy to give recommendations to surrounding towns if you are seeking a little nightlife and we will also be happy to direct you to a restaurant or bar that...

Granbury, Texas
Reviewed 23 October 2015

On fall foliage tour and took a chance on this property. The exterior and location were nice but the interior, especially the guest room, needs alot of TLC. The property has been neglected for sometime. I think it's stuck in the 50s. The staff was nice and gave a great recommendation for dinner but would definitely NOT stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie F
HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are currently in the process of renovating the entire property and will be updating the interior as well as the exterior. We are redoing all of our guest rooms. The staff will always be happy to do whatever they can to make your stay more pleasurable.

Denton, Texas
Reviewed 22 October 2015

My husband, sister, brother-in-law, and myself arrived on Friday, Oct 2, 2015. First vacation for both couples in a long time and our first to see the fall foliage. We left Texas and spent 2 nights on the road to get to The Hartness House. I booked this place myself and was so looking forward to this night. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Judy P
HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are sorry that you had a very disappointing experience here. We are aware that the rooms need updating and are currently under renovation to make those changes. We are also sorry that you did not get your choice of a main house, but the person taking the reservation probably thought you wanted a first floor room, which there are...

Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 October 2015

This was our first stay at a Bed & Breakfast and we were excited to get a room at such short notice and also at a discounted price. We booked our stay from Groupon and we paid extra for a larger (upgraded) room. I did look at some of the reviews on tripadvisor, but not many. When we got to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J M
HartnessHouse, Manager at Hartness House, responded to this review

Dear guest, I must apologize for your disappointing stay. We have gone through an ownership change rather recently, the Inn is in need of some love. We have already begun a large scale restoration project to bring this once prestigious inn back to its former glory, unfortunately it is a large project. Being built in 1904 many of our rooms...

IL
Reviewed 10 October 2015

Booked 2 nights as part of an anniversary trip throughout New England area. Read many of the reviews before booking. Quite mixed reviews but thought it would be okay since we have stayed at many types of accommodations (camping, motels, hotels, B&B and resorts) in the U.S. and in other countries. The first floor/main guest area of the mansion was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AnywhereWithU
HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you had a disappointing stay. Unfortunately our renovations of the "modern" rooms was held up by permitting issues beyond our control. The weary furniture in the hall was actually waiting for our demolition dumpster to be empty, as we had already purchased new period couches. Our renovations, that have now begun, will include all new...

Sierra Vista, Arizona
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Our travel agent booked us here for one night during our "leaf peeping" road trip this fall. When I read some of the negative reviews on this site I became very concerned and thought of cancelling but my husband insisted on coming here, tell them about our reservations, ask to see the room before checking in and then decide. So...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lacovi3
HartnessHouse, Front Office Manager at Hartness House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with our breakfast offerings. We are working on renovations and upgrades of the Inn and hope that you will visit us again in the near future

Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewed 8 October 2015

The new owner has a lot to do to get this otherwise once charming place up to a standard level of expectation such as a Comfort Inn. The location, charm and price through Groupon of this old B&B inn was why we chose it over the Holiday Inn nearby. Believe all the other negative reviews about everything posted 9 and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. The new owners took over in late August and we have begun a full renovation of the property. As to preserve the integrity of the inn, it is grandfathered in that we may not have an elevator in the building, however, the staff is always happy to help you...

Cambridge UK
Reviewed 5 October 2015

To be fair, with any historic house, there will always be problems. It is simply not possible to keep them to the same physical standard as a modern property - some paintwork will be chipped, window frames will be a bit wonky etc etc. We have stayed in many such old properties, and found most of them charming. However, this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UK-EastAngle
HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness House, responded to this review

We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. This inn was just purchased by new owners who are beginning renovations to give it the love is has been needing. The staff is happy to help with bags when asked and during slow times are happy to walk a guest to their room rather than just offer directions....

Manlius, New York
Reviewed 5 October 2015

I thought I was safe looking at TripAdvisor and Expedia when I did some research and booked the Hartness House. Totally agree with Mary S. Very misleading! This house is located in a depressed area. When we were directed to our room, it was not within the main home. It was down some long mildew smelling, dirty halls on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim S
HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not have a pleasurable experience at the Hartness House. There are two separate types of rooms here, the main house rooms, or the mansion and the inn rooms. We have begun a full renovation of the entire property.

Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Hartness House is a lovely Victorian Inn - the former home of the governor of Vermont. We stayed there for two nights in October and couldn't believe our luck. Our room was so unlike a motel! It was a large wallpapered room with two queen beds, and part of the room was an alcove with two comfortable easy chairs, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank revelinor
HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in maintaining our mansion rooms in their original state as well as offering clean less expensive rooms in the back of the house. We look forward to you joining us again.

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
16.5 km away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
7.6 km away
The Inn at Weathersfield
The Inn at Weathersfield
#1 of 2 in Perkinsville
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
The Common Man Inn
The Common Man Inn
#1 of 1 in Claremont
176 reviews
18.3 km away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
10.8 km away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Hartness House

Address: 30 Orchard St, Springfield, VT 05156-2612
Region: United States > Vermont > Springfield
Price Range: $149 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hartness House 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hartness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartness House Hotel Springfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hartness House staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hartness House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stick with the main building, not the wings. We were on the third floor and when going upstairs we saw some pretty rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Krioux48, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the Mansion, it is not that much more and well worth it!!”
 of 5 bubbles mindiegem, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“get upgraded to the main inn rooms if you can”
 of 5 bubbles floridatravelerssss, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Dont go there”
 of 5 bubbles Ilovelucy417, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Book Early !”
 of 5 bubbles D5161QEjeffl, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5