We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Stowe Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Stowe Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 355: English reviews
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in Stowe Inn in June for Residency Week graduation from Norwich University, however, the first room I got that was not inside the main house was not what I expected. The room was okay with the basic amenities, but unfortunately in the middle of the night I had mouse in the room which was not a pleasant experience....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy N
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in main house, which is historic, old, and charming in the common areas but our room was only more or less clean and in need of updates. For what we got the room was not great value. Cheap (king) mattress, slight bleach stain on carpet, old cheap furniture. Staff were courteous but mildly neglectful. For example, no one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph A
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Don't not stay in room 101. Though it is advertised as one of their highlighted rooms, it's not cozy, there is a stain on the floor, the appliances are falling apart, and the room was just dirty. The TV was smaller than my IPad. They have a fireplace, but I guess you have to bring your own wood. Yes -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karim H
Oakland, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a really nice place to stay. The staff is so friendly and really helpful. The beds are really comfortable. Overall a great place. We spent the night there because my sister was having surgery at the Copley Hospital in Mountainsville.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nancymwalker
Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stowe is such a beautiful town. And from the outside, you'd think the historic Stowe Inn would match the this beauty. Sadly, it doesn't. the rooms are fairly drab, generic and poorly appointed. It has none of quaint atmosphere you'd expect from the billing. The staff is great, friendly and helpful. But even they can't salvage the ordinariness of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anotherjoshua
Kuwait
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I was in the area and decided to stay overnight. Quick and easy reservation. Lovely property that is within just a few minutes walk from everything. The dining room looks out over a small river. Gorgeous antique furniture throughout the property. Bed was comfy. Pillow a bit thin. Slept well anyway.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John B
TheStoweInn, General Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

We are very happy that you choose to stay at our inn even a last minute stay is great to have, we hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. We strive to make your stay with us a great one. The Stowe Inn

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

The Stowe Inn and Tavern is a great place. When I walked in I wasn't sure where the restaurant was so with the help of Cresta I was able to find my way. The servers Maleighna and Harley were super friendly and the Bartender Josh was great as well! The meal was prepared well and tasted delicious!! If you're looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaleb W
TheStoweInn, General Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review we are glad that your experience here was a good one and hope to see you again soon, we strive to make our customers happy.

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

My visit at the Inn's restaurant was amazing. The bar tender Josh and server Maleighna were incredibly friendly. The manager Cresta was extremely helpful. They were all the nicest people ever and the food was perfectly prepared! I can't wait to come back for more amazing food and great company! If you're looking for nice people and great food The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes L
TheStoweInn, General Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your kind words, we enjoyed our conversations with you and your great company. We hope you will continue to come and eat and enjoy the Stowe Inn. We strive to make our customers happy :)

Norwalk, Connecticut
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Really enjoyed my stay at the Stowe Inn this past weekend (non-stop snowfall didn't hurt). I was initially upgraded to a room in the main building, which was unexpected and a very nice room. Unfortunately I had my hound in tow and didn't feel comfortable making everyone in the hotel listen to him all day while i was out skiing,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ahryb22
TheStoweInn, General Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Stowe Inn and we hope to see you again in your future travels. We were happy to have you as our guest and your dog was very cute and no problem at all. We strive to make our guest happy and comfortable. Kind regards Cresta Perkins General Manager

Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Comfy and Cozy Inn!! We plan to stay here after hiking from Mount Manfiled the mountain near downtown Stowe. So only one nice to stay there. So we don't expect the room we would stay only one nice. Lovely staff Thank you so much for upgrade the room. More comfy for us after long hiking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Js S
TheStoweInn, General Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay we were happy to have you with us here at the Stowe Inn we hope to see you again soon.

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
10.2 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.7 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
4.5 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 24 in Stowe
1,726 reviews
0.6 km away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
1,005 reviews
2.0 km away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Stowe Inn is one of Vermont's architectural treasures. Carefully restored, the Inn provides a peaceful, elegant setting for guests and visitors alike. Graceful, wraparound porches overlooking the river, period furnishings, inviting rooms and an exceptional collection of American art distinguish this exceptional property. Ideal for weekend getaways, memorable ski vacations, family reunions, weddings or small corporate retreats, the Stowe Inn caters to discerning travelers looking for a Vermont experience out of the ordinary. Conveniently located, the Stowe Inn is only a short stroll through a covered bridge to the enchanting village of Stowe where galleries, shops, museums, live theatre and fine restaurants flourish. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Stowe Inn

Address: 123 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4630
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Price Range: $133 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Stowe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Stowe Inn Vermont
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Stowe Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
lancaster
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Stowe Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find a room inside the main house”
 of 5 bubbles 652AmyN, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in main building very charming, perfect for couples. Carriage house comfortable, perfect for ski crowd or those with 4 legged friends.”
 of 5 bubbles ahryb22, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Fireplace room is very large with its own deck, but make sure to bring/buy your own firewood and lighter.”
 of 5 bubbles allisone805, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try the second floor rooms towards the back of the property, views ample and easy parking and more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles NEKTraveler2016, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Suites are large, updated and have fireplaces! Very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 445JenniferR445, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay