We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Stowe Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Stowe Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Stowe Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 357: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 February 2015

I'll be honest, I was a little anxious after booking this hotel and THEN reading the reviews on here, but, as it turns out, I had nothing to worry about! Having read certain reviews about the Carriage House, I asked for a room in the Main Inn upon arriving, and was easily accommodated by the nice woman at the front...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keri W
Reviewed 17 February 2015

Found the Stowe Inn online where looked clean and met our budget. We arrived from Long Island and found that it was conveniently located very close to shops and restaurants. We stayed in the main house and found the room to be clean and just what we were looking for. The staff was very nice when we arrived and looked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christian G
Boston
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We made a reservation to stay at the Stowe Inn over Valentine's day and we couldn't have been more disappointed with our experience. When we checked in it took the staff about 20 minutes to find our reservation and have us pay for the room. We were then told to wait in the lobby and one of the staff would...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jean_Nick_G
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your favorable comments about our restaurant. We agree Suzanne is wonderful. We spoke with you at the hotel and apologized when we had to do an emergency repair on our boiler system for the safety of our guests due to the extreme temperatures which was unusually colder due to the snow storm that came into...

Reviewed 16 February 2015

Very accommodating staff helped when weather impacted our arrival. Check-in was easy. Our room was lovely with new hardwood floors, we even got upgraded to a king sized bed. As a Valentine's Day special I was given a pretty pink rose. The location is great. Very close to downtown shops (in warmer weather very walkable).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kittykat1369
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about us. Your kind comments about us are greatly appreciated. We are looking forward to you staying with us again. Warmest Regards, The Stowe Inn Management

Reviewed 16 February 2015

Upon checkin we were greeted kindly and shown to a nice room. The beds, room, and bathroom was very clean. Plenty of room for a small party of 2-4. Staff was very kind and friendly as well as helpful with our stay in Vermont.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariejill
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We strive to keep our guests as comfortable as possible. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about us. Sincerely, The Stowe Inn Management

East Lyme, Connecticut
Reviewed 10 February 2015

The charm of this National Historic Register site and the beautiful breakfast room view over the town, make this a potentially special destination, but the lack of oversight of this facility ruined the experience to the point that we wonder if there are more systemic issues. Stayed 1/17-1/19/15 and were placed in a room with no heat (on 10 degree...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SeekingSpecialPlaces
Reviewed 1 February 2015

Found the Stowe Inn online and the pictures made it seem very appealing. We got a room in the main building. It seemed as if it had recently received some updating. It was clean and nicely decorated. The heater was a large unit attached to the wall. Unfortunately, it did everything except heat the room adequately. Blew cold air, made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan T
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 30 December 2014

Great location, close to main street on Mountain. But it needs a little love and renovation. This is old, looks like your grandma place! Service is Amazing, room 211 is ok (suite large). Owner Should invest à few bucks. But if you get à good price it is clean

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TheRho
Management17, General Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Hello Guest. Room 211 just received brand new wood flooring 2 weeks ago (it was a scheduled installation along with two other main inn rooms) which looks lovely against the antique furniture in this room. Our hotel is listed on the National Historic Register and built in the 1800's yet lovingly restored. Many inns in Stowe, VT capture the New...

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 24 December 2014

We chose this property because they are pet friendly. While there are only a couple of pet friendly rooms, Jennifer and Lisa at the front desk were VERY HELPFUL! They understood that a family travelling with a pet and ski gear, need space. They worked with us to make sure we were comfortable and did a terrific job of keeping...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lovetohavefun22308
Spencer, New York, United States
Reviewed 24 December 2014

We were very pleased with The Stowe Inn. It was very comfortable and met all our needs. We will definitely stay here again. The room was very clean and so was the bathroom. It also had a comfy couch and chair. The bathroom floor was heated too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. We love to hear feedback from our guests. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was pleasant. We look forward to you staying with us again. Sincerely, The Stowe Inn Management

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
10.2 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.7 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
4.5 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 24 in Stowe
1,727 reviews
0.6 km away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
1,006 reviews
2.0 km away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Stowe Inn is one of Vermont's architectural treasures. Carefully restored, the Inn provides a peaceful, elegant setting for guests and visitors alike. Graceful, wraparound porches overlooking the river, period furnishings, inviting rooms and an exceptional collection of American art distinguish this exceptional property. Ideal for weekend getaways, memorable ski vacations, family reunions, weddings or small corporate retreats, the Stowe Inn caters to discerning travelers looking for a Vermont experience out of the ordinary. Conveniently located, the Stowe Inn is only a short stroll through a covered bridge to the enchanting village of Stowe where galleries, shops, museums, live theatre and fine restaurants flourish. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Stowe Inn

Address: 123 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Price Range: $131 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Stowe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Stowe Inn Vermont
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Stowe Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
lancaster
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Stowe Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find a room inside the main house”
 of 5 bubbles 652AmyN, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in main building very charming, perfect for couples. Carriage house comfortable, perfect for ski crowd or those with 4 legged friends.”
 of 5 bubbles ahryb22, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Fireplace room is very large with its own deck, but make sure to bring/buy your own firewood and lighter.”
 of 5 bubbles allisone805, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try the second floor rooms towards the back of the property, views ample and easy parking and more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles NEKTraveler2016, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Suites are large, updated and have fireplaces! Very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 445JenniferR445, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay