We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (87)
Room & Suite (56)
Dining (4)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Coolidge is perfectly situated in the heart of Central Vermont and the Upper Valley Region of Vermont and New Hampshire at the junction of the White River and Connecticut River.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quiet
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
65Somewhat walkable
Grade: 65 out of 100
16Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
8Attractionswithin 0.5 km
469Reviews
123Photos
7Q+A
99Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 145
  • 188
  • 73
  • 37
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My son and I were travelling together and the Cologne offered a combo queen room and double room sharing a bathroom for under $100. Great value and lovely town to visit! Also since their cafe was closed they gave us bfast vouchers to the excellent restaurant next door.
Read more
Response from Judith F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Coolidge
Responded yesterday
Thanks for your four star review, and for highlighting our linked rooms (also know as Jack-and-Jill rooms). Those suites are great options for family members or friends traveling together, providing comfortable, spacious rooms and privacy at the same time. And so glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy our downtown. Come visit us again!
Read more
A very historical hotel with interesting remnants from the past. Very clean, great service. Touches of the past but also with modern amenities. Overall a very memorable stay. Great little cafe in the morning for coffee and treats.
Read more
Response from Judith F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Coolidge
Responded yesterday
Thanks so much for your four star review, and for taking the time to write! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our historic Hotel, listed on the National Register of Historic Places. I hope you can come visit us again!
Read more
Quaint and beautiful but noisy: train across the street, water radiator clinking and clunking much of the night. Otherwise beautiful and quaint. Breakfast is not efficient. Only one employee who was flustered and stressed by more than two customers at a time. Great breakfast
Read more
Response from Judith F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Coolidge
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Yes, the train is still a noticeable presence in White River Junction--it made the town the thriving place that it has been for many years! Many people enjoy the sounds of our steam boiler heating system--they find it reminiscent of visits to their grandparent's house, or of their childhood home. I will certainly pass on your feedback about the cafe. Thanks again for writing--we truly appreciate the feedback!
Read more
Super clean, vintage hotel - like staying at your great- grandma's house. My single room was spacious, had a TV, small bath tub and shower and old fashioned radiators . I wouldn't change anything except if there is going to be a phone in the room - to have it actually work. The
Read more
Response from Judith F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Coolidge
Responded 1 week ago
Hi There--Thanks so much for your four star review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! And yes, while you were there, we were experiencing some phone issues--but happily, our fantastic Maintenance Department took care of it very quickly. I love that you described your stay as being like a visit to your Grandma's house--we hear that time and time again, and nothing pleases us more. I hope that you come visit us again!
Read more
My stay at the Coolidge was extremely pleasant despite an unexpected problem. I found the spacious room that I reserved to be well-furnished with a comfy armchair, queen bed, dresser, closet, TV (which I did not use), and several bright lamps. (Too many hotels forget that their
Read more
Response from Judith F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Coolidge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your four-star review, and for the nod to Thom, our Front Desk clerk on duty that evening. Thom, like all of our staff, takes the notion of hospitality very seriously, and puts the comfort of our guests at the absolute forefront. I'm glad that the situation was handled quickly, giving you plenty of time to enjoy everything that White River Junction has to offer. I hope you come stay with us again!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementHotel Coolidge
image 5
image 3
image 2
Dirty stained carpet
PreviousNext
12345612
We are events only featuring two unique banquet rooms and 3 breakout meeting rooms. We provide for Andy for service to groups of 15 persons and up to 200. Our guests enjoy being able to walkout to these eateries all within two city blocks: Tuckerbox Piecemeal Pies Thyme Elixir Trailbreak C&S Pizza (will delver) Big Fatty’s BBQ
0 votes
Show all answers
It is just around the corner, just about everything in town is within 200yards of the Hotel..
1 vote
Show all answers
HI there--just saw your question--we have hair dryers available at the Front Desk--you can pick up one when you check in, or we are more than happy to bring one up to you.
0 votes
Show all answers
I would say "no" unless you liking walking about 5 miles each way. We've always had a rental car the four times we've stayed there.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Rooms facing the rear parking lot are quieter than street side, though I was not disturbed when I stayed on the street side."
"It's an old building; expect it to be noisier than your average new(er) hotel. Bring ear plugs...."
"Suites include a small living area with a fridge, no microwave. Suites do not come with a tub, just a shower"
"stay on the courtyard side not street side"
"Quieter rooms are located in the back. There is a bar on the side street next to the hotel which can get noisy."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$74 - US$151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
coolidge hotel white river junction
LOCATION
United StatesVermontHartfordWhite River Junction
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing