We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Boar's Head

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Boar\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

814 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 810: English reviews
Start your review of The Boar's Head
 Click to rate
Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My sister and I spent the night here on Thursday April 13th. Check in was seamless and the staff vey pleasant. Our room was clean enough but there wasn't anything spectacular about it. We strolled the grounds (pretty!) and had a bite to eat at the Bistro (separate review on that). In the morning we got up and went to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank setter3
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went here for their Easter Buffet. Had a 4PM sitting - it was a good time, lots of food, all of it very good. Not too crowded, and service was impeccable. Party of four languished around the table for over 2 hours. Had four trips to the buffet - salads, shrimp/crab claws, lamb/rockfish/roast beef/veggies, and then a whole table of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OldTar_71
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

BHSTAY17 - This was the first time we had stayed at The Boars Head, and we usually visit Charlottesville 5-6 times per year in different seasons. This time we stayed over Easter weekeend (April 2017). This is a large and attractive property consisting of a main building that is partly old (the dining room area) and partly new, plus outbuildings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craven C
Management response:

Dear Craven C, We appreciate your comments and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us over the Easter season. Our goal is to provide each guest with a wonderful experience during their stay. We hope you will return soon for another luxurious stay! Kind regards, Russ Cronberg

Reviewed 1 week ago

The room with the fireplace on the second floor was exceptional. We were able to spend a considerable block of the morning at the gym - which is excellently equipped - and then take a walk around the lake. Don't miss the weekend brunch. A Virginia Festival of Flavor

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
Management response:

Dear David M, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts and comments on TripAdvisor about your visit to Boar’s Head. It is always a great day at Boar’s Head when we receive such glowing reviews from our guests. I am pleased to see that you were able to enjoy some of our amenities and dining experiences during...

Santa Clara, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights and had a terrific time. We used the exercise equipment in the Sports Complex. Very clean and up to date. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. We had dinner and breakfast in the Old Mill Room. Excellent service and delicious meals. Can't wait to go back! BHSTAY17

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taw914
Management response:

Dear taw914, Thank you for taking your time to leave such a glowing review of your time spent here at Boar’s Head! We are always delighted when our guests leave their thoughts and comments for others to see after their stay. We look forward to your next visit with us. Regards, Russ Cronberg

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were here for two nights and were very disappointed with our king room with lake view. We have no chairs, only an ottoman. The room is tiny. Our bathroom trash had not been emptied, and on our bathroom counter was a plastic orange juice bottle with water in it presumably left from the previous guests.The bed cover was stained....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E1722
Management response:

Dear E1722, Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback regarding your stay. We encourage our guests to do so because we like to celebrate when we have successes but also need to know about our shortfalls so we can address them immediately. I am sorry to hear about your experience and the shortfall to your expectation. The cleanliness...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Honestly, I was a bit surprised. We had heard it was a four star resort, so we had 4 star expectations. They weren't met. Pros: nice property, well manicured, pleasant staff. The weather was great so that helped. Good selection of on property restaurants, one with full service open until 11pm which was very helpful. The service was good enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jay366
Management response:

Dear jay366, Let me jump right in and say thank you for taking time to leave your feedback, but at the same time give you my sincere apologies for the shortfalls in expectations for your stay with us. The level of cleanliness you encountered is unacceptable and is not our norm here at Boar’s Head. It will be addressed swiftly...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a hotel/spa that knows how to treat customers. The check in was early, fast, friendly and the room was perfect. This is how I like to begin a stay. The facility is spread out over a wide area so ask for a room with a view of the lake if available. The oldest part of the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
Management response:

Dear Gary W, Thank you so much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We, too, agree that the rooms you mentioned, which are near our Coach Room but we refer to as our Main Inn rooms, do offer a gentle quaintness. Some of them share the rich history even further with the exposed beams from an 1834 grist mill. We...

Bowie, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

My tennis team held its 3rd annual tennis retreat at Boar's Head Sports Club. Unfortunately, not all of our teammates could stay at the hotel due to high demand that weekend. Jacek Wolicki coordinated our clinics. Regrettably, he has left the BHI and is travelling the world! Ron Manilla and his team took over and not one ball was dropped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
Management response:

Dear Sharon B, Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our resort! We are thrilled that you had an exceptional visit and loved all the amenities, especially our Sports Club for your weekend of tennis. This is exactly the kind of experience we strive for all our guests to enjoy. I will be sure to relay your feedback...

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We love to stay at The Boar's Head. It is a lovely hotel with beautiful rooms and excellent views. Our meals have always been delicious food, and the staff are always friendly and helpful. We will be back soon, I am sure of it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary Stewart P
Management response:

Dear Mary Stewart P, Thank you so much for your recent review of your visit to Boar’s Head. We are so pleased when we are able to welcome returning guests. It is always nice to hear that the location and amenities meet with our guest’s expectations. We look forward to having you return again when you are in the area....

259 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (214)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
3:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
5.4 km away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,625 reviews
4.2 km away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
4.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
337 reviews
2.4 km away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
287 reviews
4.1 km away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Old Mill Room
Old Mill Room
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boar's Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630. Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar's Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., And at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Address: 200 Ednam Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4674
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Price Range: $298 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boar's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesville
#6 Family Hotel in Charlottesville
#7 Business Hotel in Charlottesville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Boar's Head staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Boar's Head staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the second floor overlooking the lake”
Z6596ZNdavidm, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We enjoyed staying in the main building.”
taw914, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“don't pick rooms 721 or 702”
E1722, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with lake view, or historic rooms.”
G5707JHgaryw, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The lake view would be nice!”
ChristineNG1029, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5