We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 374: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good stay, good value for the price, very friendly staff. Booked two adjoining rooms for my parents and myself + boyfriend. Nothing spectacular about the rooms, but nothing bad either. Highlight was the friendliness of the staff, that's always a plus in my book.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kendra W
Sherrills Ford, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There were no rooms available in the Downtown/University area so we had to stay here. It has a nice entrance, fireplace, restaurant and bar downstairs. The room was basic and clean. It backs up to the road and the elevator is noisy, so if you have trouble sleeping, be forewarned! Good/ safe location to drive to Monticello, but if you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank April N
cheryl h, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review

Dear April N, Thank you for your candid review. The short drive to Monticello is definitely a plus. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet your expectations due to the noisy elevator. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely Cheryl Hill

Shipman, VA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed just one night here but I was quite impressed. I think this hotel has been here a while, and I was expecting to see signs of wear and tear, but that was not the case at all. My room was large, fresh and modern, with a very comfortable bed and bedding. There was a small sectional in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaryP544
cheryl h, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review

Dear MaryP544, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had a great experience with our clean, comfortable rooms. We take great pride in ensuring that our guests are 100% satisfied while staying with us. One of the hallmarks of Holiday Inn is that we provide a hot, cooked-to-order breakfast in our restaurant or in the comfort of...

Franconia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's pretty good. The staff was fine. The room was clean. Not the hotels fault but some moronic guests don't know that slamming doors at 6:00 in the morning is not a delightful sound. The heat and hot water worked. That's always a plus. Its location was convenient to everywhere we wanted to go. This place was still good enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
cheryl h, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review

Dear C Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you found our property to be conveniently located. Unfortunately we don't have the same complimentary breakfast as offered by the Holiday Inn Express, but we do understand that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Hopefully you were able to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean, updated hotel. Our first room shared a wall with the elevator. The front desk moved us to a different, quieter room without hesitation. However, we still heard highway noise overnight. A minimal inconvenience during an overall wonderful stay. The coffee in the lobby each morning was appreciated. The bar was consistently well-staffed with happy, efficient, friendly bartenders each night....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christie G
Reviewed 20 February 2017

This hotel was very clean and hospitable. We had a large room and we loved the huge shower. The bed was very comfortable and all of the staff was very polite. Our only complaint was highway noise, but if it's convenient to the highwy, you get the noise.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ewteach1
HIReservations, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review

Dear ewteach1, Thank you for the five star rating of our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you had an excellent stay due to our friendly staff, clean hotel, and comfortable hotels rooms. Unfortunately the downside to having easy on and off access to the highway is that we sometimes have the traffic noise. Should you travel...

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

My husband, 3 month old baby, and I stayed here, and did not have a good experience. When we did not have hot water, we were told to let it run 15-20 minutes as it "takes a while" due to plumbing issues as we were on the fourth floor. The higher the floor the longer it takes to get hot...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elizabeth V
HIReservations, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth V. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry about the uncalled for attitude of the staff as well as the qualities of your room....

Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night and our room was on the top floor (6th) facing the back of the hotel, odd numbered room. We listened to traffic all night long. Had to turn the fan on high to drown out the traffic noise. The walls are thin and you can hear everything with adjoining rooms on both sides of us not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark S
HIReservations, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review

Dear Mark S Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry to hear that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your expectations in particular the traffic noise. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. If you travel to this area again contact the front...

Rogersville, Tennessee
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

It is what you would expect from a holiday Inn with clean rooms but one thing that I absolutely hate is the sliding bathroom doors that are frosted glass. Not only do they not filter sound but if your sharing a room with someone who likes to poop consistent in the middle of the night then they might as well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darrin J
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review

Dear Darrin J, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that you found our rooms clean and apologize for your dissatisfaction with regards to our bathroom doors. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points...

Canada
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Appreciate the modern style with less carpet. Microwave and bar fridge in room was helpful. Very low pet fee of $20 compared to other chains charging up to $100. Lobby and business area very attractive. Cleaner needs to do a better job vacuuming. Found strange items under bed skirt that looked like dried pieces of two bite brownies. Also found...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KiwiFan14
HIReservations, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review

Dear Kiwifan14 Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay and for the room conditions that did not meet your expectations. We will certainly discuss your comments with our staff. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
235 reviews
7.0 km away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
509 reviews
6.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#29 of 35 in Charlottesville
289 reviews
7.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
331 reviews
5.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#18 of 35 in Charlottesville
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Monticello Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, we are 2 miles from the Historic Downtown Mall . We are the closest hotel to nearby attractions such as: Monticello; Ash Lawn-Highland; and Michie Tavern, and a convenient 3 miles from the University of Virginia and the UVa Hospital. Our hotel is just minutes away from the numerous arts and entertainment events held at the Paramount Theatre, Downtown Pavilion, Starr Hill Music Hall, Ash-Lawn Opera, and our newest venue, the John Paul Jones Arena also known as The Jack or JPJ . For visitors traveling on business we are close to State Farm Regional Office, GE-Fanuc, Hyosung, Lexis Nexis, SNL Securities, Klockner Pentaplast, UVA Medical Center, Martha Jefferson Hospital, , and Luck Stone Corp. This Charlottesville hotel features comfortably appointed rooms, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, HBO, pay-per-view movies, irons & boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. The full service restaurant Charlotte s serves breakfast, dinner and room service daily. We have over 2200 square feet of versatile meeting and banquet space to host events for business meetings, weddings, reunions , and events . Let our experienced staff focus on the details to ensure that your event is a complete success. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello

Address: 1200 Fifth Street SW, (I-64 And Route 631), Charlottesville, VA 22902
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Price Range: $160 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
4 months ago
California
over a year ago
over a year ago
Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from the interstate.”
 of 5 bubbles MaryP544, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms past the elevator on the side away from the highway are probably quietest.”
 of 5 bubbles 267christieg, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Very convenient to I-64. Not far from shopping and close to Montecello.”
 of 5 bubbles ewteach1, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the front-entrance side of the building. Do not accept a room on the back side facing I-64.”
 of 5 bubbles vbkkb, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room that's not at back of hotel for better view.”
 of 5 bubbles H4488XHannat, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5