We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sonesta ES Suites Charlottesville University

Save
Share
1111 Millmont Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4868
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$139
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Hotels.com
Official Website
US$134
View deal
Expedia.comUS$139
TravelocityUS$139
StayForLong
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (3)

About

#15 of 39 hotels in Charlottesville
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
From the moment you arrive, Sonesta ES Suites Charlottesville University makes you feel right at home with warm, open common areas, friendly staff and oversized suites. We make sure your stay is surprisingly different by combining affordability with convenient amenities such as paid parking and everyday surprises like complimentary treats and other unexpected delights. Each studio and one- and two-bedroom suite features a fully equipped kitchen, roomy work area, free Wi-Fi and bigger, cozier beds. It’s no wonder we’re a favorite among business travelers and families for hotels in Charlottesville, VA.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
300Reviews6Q+A62Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 141
  • 106
  • 34
  • 8
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jai Kim wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
Im staying at the Sonesta in Charlottesville and Jada has been such a wonderful receptionist. She is kind, courteous, professional, and so attentive to the needs of guests. My mother can’t speak English well and needed help with something and Jada was so patient and helped her out while also accomplishing several other tasks simultaneously. She is awesome!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
bcbcbc wrote a review Aug 2021
Columbus OH273 contributions111 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We (three senior citizen couples) were visiting Charlottesville for only 2 nights. We wanted a hotel that was convenient to Monticello, as well as restaurants and wineries. None of us had ever stayed in a Sonesta ES, but the price, as well as the TripAdvisor reviews, convinced us to give it a try. The hotel was absolutely perfect for our needs. The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was mostly continental, but did include one hot menu item each day. Both days, the food was very good, and the breakfast attendant, Maria, was very friendly and helpful. All of the staff we came in contact with were friendly and pleasant. All in all, it was a very good stay and we would definitely recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Danielle Q wrote a review Sep 2022
New Jersey2 contributions
Group of 10 stayed here for UVA football game. Adequate stay. Only complaint is outdoor pool was not open AGAIN. Was closed for Labor Day Weekend 2021 and again 2022. We could not get a clear answer as to whether or not it was open in 2022. It was closed. Cover was still on so who knows the last time the pool was opened.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
cjbielinski wrote a review Aug 2022
Lancaster, New York6 contributions
I have .stayed at Sonesta Suites whenever possible since my first stay in Boston many years ago.That being said I have never had a bad experience(perhaps just luck). This stay was no different. I stayed 2 days.The room was clean and spacious,as are most Sonesta suites I have stayed at. The property was quiet and close to many attractions and restaurants. The staff was very helpful, The only negatives were limited stations on tv and an elevator that was in the center of this rather large property. All in all would recommend and would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: corner suite
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lydia B wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
At check-in, I asked where to park my car to be closer to my room since I have health issues and was carrying bags, etc. I was told I can either side of the lot but he didn't know which was closer. Turns out I parked in the most distant lot to my room walked the entire length of a hotel to find out my room was next to another parking lot. After traveling 7 hours So next time I saw this gentleman I informed him just so he would know for other guests in the future. I was nice about it just like FYI. The room card never worked kept getting locked out and when I couldn't get back in my room the first morning after getting coffee they sent the manager to change the batteries. He did come right away, but when I asked why they didn't check the batteries so guests would not get locked out. He looked at me with anger and he said I was rude to staff and he could kick me out of my hotel since he was the manager. I wasn't being rude - I do think staff should know the closer parking to rooms people are traveling and have bags to carry It was should know by staff where to park your car. I was traveling alone and what really upsets me is I know he would never have behaved or spoken to a man this way. I should have a room key that works and staff should know the closest parking lot to guests' room, nothing crazy about expecting the bare minimum. The cherry on top was the old dried-up gum on my nightstand that I was not even going to tell them about because I am usually a complainer, but this hotel has a lot to complain about. The young woman at the front desk was very nice. I got the feeling they didn't like where my license plate was from and judged me so my reasonable concerns were taken as me being a difficult person. I feel unsafe here and I am finding another hotel for the rest of my stay. He doesn't have to kick me out like he said because I am leaving.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth P, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Charlottesville University
Responded 22 Feb 2022
Dear Roam771575, Thank you very much for your honest feedback. Please allow me to sincerely apologize for your experience at our property. We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional customer service as well as an exceptional product, and in this instance we failed to meet not only your expectations, but ours as well. I can understand your frustrations, which seem to have been exacerbated by the conversations with staff. Please believe these were miscommunications as we always aim to make a guest feel welcome and safe. I will use this incident as a way to train our staff and improve our guest approach so that this will not happen again in the future. We assure you that this is not a standard occurrence for our hotel and we hope to be able to make it up to you in the future. Thank you again. Sincerely, Elizabeth P., General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debbie D wrote a review Jan 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina59 contributions33 helpful votes
We continue to stay here while visiting family throughout the year. This location is perfect for walking and driving anywhere in Charlottesville. The staff is attentive, professional and we love Maria who is the hostess for breakfast each morning. She is kind and dedicated. We highly recommend Sonesta Charlottesville on Millmont to anyone traveling to Charlottesville !
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Quieter on the top floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth P, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Charlottesville University
Responded 22 Feb 2022
Dear Debbie D, Thank you so much for your very nice review of our hotel, but especially of Maria! She will be delighted to hear she made such a good impression on your stay. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Thank you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Greg S wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
We came here to bring our daughter to UVA and this will always be our first choice in Charlottesville. The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. The people go above and beyond, especially the Assistant General Manager, Dina Shannon. She made extending our stay as accommodating and comfortable as possible.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Denise H wrote a review Jul 2021
Clarence, New York1 contribution1 helpful vote
We arrived after 12 am to find the front door locked and no person at the front desk! I had called the hotel at 6 pm to let them be aware of our late arrival and they assured me it was not a problem . We banged on the door and called the front desk for almost 20 min before someone arrived. The next morning I realized I was not given the AAARate or the essential health care worker discount . I called the front desk and was transferred to the manager to be told nothing can be done to adjust the rate. The room hotel is very dated and not clean. I would look to stay elsewhere again .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth P, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Charlottesville University
Responded 2 Aug 2021
Dear dch06, Thank you again for your feedback. As we explained when you called about the rate, you booked through a 3rd Party online website. We are not able to make any changes to those rates, but we do encourage you to double check when you book on those sites that the rate you book is the rate you are looking for. We offered for you to cancel the remaining nights of the reservation and rebook the remaining 2 nights at a different rate. I do apologize you had to wait for our night auditor to arrive. They sometimes have to leave the desk, but always post a sign so you are aware. I hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to Charlottesville!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Everything Hazel wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
My overall experience at this hotel was absolutely horrible. As soon as I arrived I felt discriminated against. The front desk clerk was very rude and unprofessional. I was made to wait outside for 10 minutes at 12am before I was let inside even tho I had a reservation. I was told, “eww i don’t want to touch your ID. There was absolutely no professionalism and I will never stay at this hotel or any other hotels associated with the Sonesta family.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth P, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Charlottesville University
Responded 7 Jul 2021
Dear EverythingHazel, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with me again. As I mentioned when we spoke on the phone, I am truly sorry you had the impression that you may have been treated differently from other guests. It is an industry standard for a hotel to verify a guest's name and reservation after 11pm prior to unlocking the front door. This is for our guests and associates' safety and security. Additionally, not touching your ID or credit card was simply a COVID precaution for both you and our associates. We have had this practice for over a year in addition to many other health and safety precautions. I am again very sorry that your check in experience was not what you expected. We value each and every guest the same and appreciate you staying with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vinit K wrote a review Nov 2020
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania115 contributions81 helpful votes
I felt most safe and secure re any health concerns. And as always, the entire stay was efficient and the set up allowed me to mix work and family time to the maximum benefit. The young man, Andrew? at the front desk was most helpful with extra towels and other items I needed given the limited housekeeping offering. A nice touch ... The special parking for Bonvoy Elite members
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$157 - US$191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
residence inn by marriott charlottesville hotel charlottesville, residence inn charlottesville, charlottesville residence inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaCharlottesville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
108
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SONESTA ES SUITES CHARLOTTESVILLE UNIVERSITY: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 46 Photos (VA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sonesta ES Suites Charlottesville University
Which popular attractions are close to Sonesta ES Suites Charlottesville University?
Nearby attractions include University of Virginia (0.5 km), Barracks Road Shopping Center (0.2 km), and Albemarle Anglers (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sonesta ES Suites Charlottesville University?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Sonesta ES Suites Charlottesville University?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sonesta ES Suites Charlottesville University?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sonesta ES Suites Charlottesville University?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sonesta ES Suites Charlottesville University?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sedona Taphouse, Aromas Cafe, and Zoes Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sonesta ES Suites Charlottesville University?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sonesta ES Suites Charlottesville University?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sonesta ES Suites Charlottesville University?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Sonesta ES Suites Charlottesville University?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Unlocked History Escape Rooms (2.5 km), Monticello (6.9 km), and The Glass Palette - Interactive Glass Art Studio (4.4 km).
Is Sonesta ES Suites Charlottesville University accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.