We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

464 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
See the most recent reviews
Showing 455: English reviews
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The drive from upstate New York took me six and a half hours to get to the Holiday Inn. What a pleasant surprise I got when I arrived. The lobby was warm and friendly and the front desk was very caring. My room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was king size with a choice soft and firm pillows...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alawishes8
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

Alawishes8, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. This is certainly appreciated. I am very proud of our entire staff for a true team effort to provide you with the experience you expected and deserved. I will also share your comments with the Houlihans staff and management and I would invite you to share your...

Front Royal, Virginia
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Rooms were very clean and the beds extremely comfortable! The front desk was extremely helpful and very professional. They were able to recommend wineries, hiking trails, and superb restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this area. The coffee in the room was awful......but that's the only thing that was unsatisfactory :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sbrown58
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

Sbrown58, Sorry to hear about the coffee. We understand that finding delicious coffee in a hotel room is a challenge, so please do not forget that we also offer complimentary gourmet coffee in the lobby 24-hours a day and it is always fresh. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels, Brent...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We drove from Mooresville, NC to Front Royal with a stop at Monticello and Carter's Orchard in Virginia on the way. So it was a long day of travel and we were looking forward to dinner and a good night's sleep. Attached to the hotel is a restaurant named Houlihan's which was very good and I will review that separately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TakeAPicture-PaintIt
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

TakeAPicture-PaintIt, Thank you for this very thorough review of your recent visit. We love to know that we are providing a great location for weary travelers who are exploring the Shenandoah Valley. We look forward to your next visit. Safe Travels, Brent C Jackson General Manager

Tampa
Reviewed 8 November 2013

After driving the 105 mile length of the Skyline Drive, we were ready for a good meal and comfy bed. We found both at the Holiday Inn and Suites in Front Royal. The room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant, Houlihan's, ( which we've visited in other areas) was excellent for both dinner and breakfast- the portions were huge and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank islandturtle
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

islandturtle, Thank you in advance for your future business in the fall. We are excited to know that we were able to provide you with a hotel that is worth returning to. Regarding the toiletries, while we are required by Holiday Inn to provide the coconut lime verbena scented products from the Signature Collection of Bath & Body Works, it...

Trenton, New Jersey
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed for two nights recently at this property. Asked for, and received, a room on the top floor rear overlooking the golf course. Fine view. Front desk personnel were accomodating and cheerful at all times. Only down side was a very noisy heating system and a bed lamp that did not work properly. Excessive dust inside the lamp when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RedSox1938
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

RedSox1938, We appreciate your recent business at the Holiday Inn Front Royal. Thank you for your visit and for your TripAdvisor review. I apologize that you had minor issues with the HVAC system in the room and the bed-side lamp. I will make sure to put a high priority in inspecting these items during our routine room inspections. If you...

Hanover, Maryland
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here because we wanted to check out the Skyline Drive during the fall. We live in Hanover, Maryland, so staying at a hotel was a must for us. There was a staff of one person when we arrived but she was nothing but friendly. They offered us a 1st floor room and I thought that was cool. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akiko C
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

Akiko C, Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community. This is greatly appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and I hope you enjoyed your Skyline Drive trip. This is such a great time of year for a drive on Skyline Drive. I am glad that the staff was accommodating and friendly and...

Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Convenient location for Skyline Drive. Friendly efficient front desk. Spacious suite. Lobby coffee machine was awful. My wife and I each took one sip and poured it in the sink. Bathroom is one of the better hotel bathrooms I've seen recently. Elevator a bit slow to arrive considering there are only 5 guest floors. Personally I think this hotel should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NikonGlass
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

NikonGlass, Thank you for choosing our hotel to be a part of your recent Skyline Drive trip. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the staff, the efficiency of check in and the guest room. I would also like to say that I agree with you that our bathrooms are very nice and provide a clean, well-lit area for...

Chillicothe, Ohio
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were traveling in October and was ready to stop for the night. We always like Holiday Inn Express hotels so we stopped at Front Royal, Va. We went in to get a room with 2 queen beds for one night. The lady at the desk said, "we require the room rate, plus a $150.00 deposit on the room, plus...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BL B
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

BL B, I appreciate that you took the time to share your concerns over our hotel's policies. I am sorry to hear that you ultimately chose to stay at another property instead of experiencing the award-winning Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. In your review you question whether the $150 deposit policy was an actual policy of...

Hampton, New Hampshire
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is a nice hotel. Parking lot- large, plenty of parking, well lit Area- seemed like a safe area, near a golf course and gas station Hotel lobby was clean Front desk clerk who checked me in seemed friendly enough although she did say should would check on something for me that I had asked about and would call my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank qwop
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

qwop, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. It is our pleasure to provide a clean, quiet room at a good rate to our guests. I see that you titled your review as "still great hotel" so Thank You for your repeat business, it is greatly appreciated. I will make...

New City, NY
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here one night and it was a nice hotel, very clean and was nice to have the restaurant attached. We used the laundry facilities, which was simple and useful. Breakfast next door in restaurant, not included in price but was actual food which was nice, not powdered eggs and stale muffins. Friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steelie42
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

Steelie42, Thank you for taking the time to share you review on TripAdvisor. I want to let you know that you comments have been heard and will be shared with the staff of the hotel. We are proud to know that we provided you with a clean and comfortable guest room and a good breakfast was available at the restaurant...

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
3.2 km away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
754 reviews
14.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
7.9 km away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#7 of 9 in Front Royal
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
9.5 km away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
73 reviews
32.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to an award winning hotel. The Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows is the recipient of the 2014 IHG Quality Excellence Award and the 2013, 2012 and 2011 IHG Torchbearer Award (awarded to the Best Holiday Inn hotels) and 2010 IHG Newcomer Award (Best New Holiday Inn). Sophistication and natural beauty unite at this Front Royal, Virginia hotel. For sophisticated but affordable accommodations, look no further than the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We're situated above the award-winning Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and surrounded by the beautiful mountains of Front Royal, VA. Our hotel's location is ideal for travelers to immerse themselves in the outdoors. You can take a leisurely drive on Skyline Drive to experience breathtaking views, enjoy a canoe trip on the beautiful Shenandoah River or explore the caverns around Front Royal. Lodging here is also convenient for business travelers visiting the Virginia Inland Port, Ferguson Enterprises, Family Dollar, Toray, American Woodmark, Axalta and other businesses in Front Royal. Our 24-hour business center, free high-speed Internet access, heated indoor pool and 24-hour fitness center are available for your use. Overlooking the beautiful mountains around Front Royal, our hotel rooms and suites offer triple-sheeted bedding, 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs with HD and HBO and refrigerators. From Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar, serving made-from-scratch cuisine three meals a day, to our 4,500 square feet of meeting space for hosting your special event, this Front Royal hotel's amenities provide a relaxing environment for our Virginia guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Address: 111 Hospitality Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630
Region: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Price Range: $150 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows Hotel Front Royal
Holiday Inn Front Royal
Front Royal Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at 'front' of hotel have nice view of the golf course.”
  • Bathroom 2
  • In room amenities
  • Bathroom 1
  • Comfy Beds
  • Flatscreen TV
  • Coffee and fridge
 of 5 bubbles K9159OGscotts, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a Golf Course view room.”
 of 5 bubbles benahere, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“It does not matter”
 of 5 bubbles jimmym73, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“hotel offers rooms with adjoining doors”
 of 5 bubbles brutus313, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I am always a fan ot the top floor away from the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles 472michaellw, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5