We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Lynchburg Grand Hotel

601 Main St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1321
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/03/22
Official Hotel
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (44)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (3)


#17 of 27 hotels in Lynchburg
Discover a wonderful downtown experience in Historic Lynchburg surrounded by the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains. The Lynchburg Grand Hotel provides a wealth of services like free covered garage parking, complimentary Wi-Fi, private dining, conference hall (that can accommodate 500 people), full service catering, fitness center, seasonal roof top swimming pool, business center and an environment of excellence in customer service.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Rooftop pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Vending machine
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Outdoor pool
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
353Reviews2Q+A59Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 89
  • 135
  • 71
  • 36
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
rach212021 wrote a review Oct 2021
Lynchburg, Virginia1 contribution1 helpful vote
Lynchburg is my hometown but I despised to stay in order to be next to the academy of the arts for a Lynchburg symphony concert I was playing in. What a wonderful stay I had. The staff, rooms and weekend buffet is something to tell everyone to enjoy when they come to visit!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
01SouthEasterN wrote a review Aug 2021
Miami, Florida41 contributions19 helpful votes
We booked this 1 night stay on line. The hotel was in the downtown area so we thought there would be a lot of activity go in in the area. We arrived at 4pm and found that the pool, restaurant and exercise room were not available. The place was deserted. Even the downtown area was felt deserted. The front desk offered no suggestions for local restaurants. One very strange event occurred. That evening we noticed a note slipped under our door. The note said that the water would be turned off the following morning at 8am and would not be turned back on until 7pm Monday evening. So the guest should plan accordingly. It was a scheduled maintenance. So why was this information not presented to us when we checked in? We checked out very early on Monday morning before the water was cut off. Very disappointed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Tony Camm, Owner at Lynchburg Grand Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2021
Dear 01SouthEasterN, THANK YOU for your review! I am sorry to hear that you were not informed about the water shutoff at check-in, as that was the procedure that we had in place. Our pool and food and beverage outlets have been closed since 2020 due to COVID, and the downtown area is still being developed. Hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Read more
Shelby Olin wrote a review May 2021
Phoenix, Arizona1 contribution1 helpful vote
I stayed here for three nights for a wedding that I was a bridesmaid in that was in downtown Lynchburg. While the location was ideal, the stay was disappointing. We had wedding festivities to attend the first night we arrived in Lynchburg, so we went straight to the hotel from the airport to shower, clean up, and get ready. We went to use the shower and the sink, and neither had running water. We asked our friends who were in the room a few doors down from us, and their water was off too. When we called the front desk, we were informed the water was turned off and would hopefully be on by the end of the day. At this point, we had to pack up all our stuff to get ready and head to the bride's house to use her showers, which was a bit inconvenient. When arriving back to the hotel later that night, we went straight to the front desk to ask about the water situation and was informed it was back on. Great. We went to the room and turned on the shower and the water was a yellowish-brown color and did not have a nice smell. The sink was the same, and our friends in the other room had the same issue. We called the front desk and at that point were told that we should run the water continuously for 15 minutes. We said we would do that, but weren't super comfortable using that water to brush our teeth and asked if they had any bottles of water to provide, in which they said they did not have access to any water, but that we could get some from the vending machines. We went to the vending machine on our hall to see they only had soda, so we then had to go to a local gas station for some water. By the next day, the water was clear and we felt okay to shower in it. I realize that the water issue is not the fault of the hotel or the staff. But there was an extreme lack of information and communication between guests and hotel staff about the situation. I believe we should have been informed via email the day we were checking in, so we could have made arrangements for getting ready prior to arriving to the hotel. I also feel that guests should have been notified via email, phone, or note on the door about the water being turned back on and what we needed to do in order to get clear, non-odorous water. The hotel room we paid for that first day was needed as a place to get ready, and we felt we should have been refunded for that one night that we didn't have the necessary amenity of water. We brought it up at checkout, and the staff member didn't offer any compensation or apology, but just responded with "yeah, I know." I am perfectly happy to pay the money for the nights the water was working, but felt something should have been offered in regards to that one night due to the inconvenience. That initiative shows guests how much the hotel values them and their experience there. The hotel is in a great location and could be a good place to stay, but I was disappointed with the water situation, and even more so disappointed with how they handled it and the lack of communication with paying guests.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Response from Tony Camm, Owner at Lynchburg Grand Hotel
Responded 24 May 2021
Dear Shelby, THANK you for your review! I am sorry to hear that the situation was not communicated appropriately during that time. I am also disappointed to hear that my team did not compensate you for the first night, as they were instructed by me. We are reaching out to you now to rectify this situation. We apologize for the inconvenience and we hope that you enjoyed the wedding,
Read more
Eliabeth42 wrote a review Apr 2021
North Carolina7 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed last night. When we got there, the front desk person was not wearing a mask and later when we went down to ask for more cups, that front desk person also was not wearing a mask. The room had a very musty smell, the carpet was quite dirty, and the dust atop the TV was thick. There seemed to be no one else staying there as we ran into no other people. I was afraid to go up to the room by myself as the motel was eerily vacant. We were the only car parked in the parking garage attached to the hotel. Beds were very soft and moved every time I moved. We booked a king room online but when we got there all they had were two doubles so my husband and I slept in separate beds. Only one of the elevators is working. One should close the bathroom door before using the toilet otherwise you’ll alive your knees off. Rough towels. They do accept pets which is why we chose this motel and the sheets were quite lovely. Perhaps in a few years time this hotel might live up to its name, but currently there is nothing grand about it. The lobby doesn’t even look like the photos—there is no blue sculpture.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Tony Camm, Owner at Lynchburg Grand Hotel
Responded 17 May 2021
Dear Elizabeth42, Thank you for your review! I am sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your visit. Our staff is mandated to wear their masks at all times during guest interactions. We will look into the reason that you did not experience this. We are currently in planning stages for our full property renovation. There IS the blue sculpture, by the way, atop the fountain in the middle of the lobby. We hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
elliemar123 wrote a review Apr 2021
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina1 contribution
Very kind front desk woman, pet friendly for $50, clean room, will definitely stay again. Nice option for when airbnb's are booked up and the Virginian prices go up. Great location downtown and free parking garage as well
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Tony Camm, Owner at Lynchburg Grand Hotel
Responded 17 May 2021
Dear elliemar123, Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Read more
US$130 - US$168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
holiday inn select lynchburg hotel lynchburg, holiday inn lynchburg, lynchburg holiday inn
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
United StatesVirginiaLynchburg
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lynchburg Grand Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Lynchburg Grand Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Amazement Square (0.3 km), Point of Honor (0.4 km), and Lynchburg Museum & Visitor Services (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lynchburg Grand Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a fitness centre, free parking, and a business centre.
Which room amenities are available at Lynchburg Grand Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Lynchburg Grand Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lynchburg Grand Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Depot Grille, Market at Main, and Mama Crockett's Cider Donuts.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lynchburg Grand Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a rooftop pool during their stay.
Is Lynchburg Grand Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Lynchburg.
Are pets allowed at Lynchburg Grand Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Lynchburg Grand Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Lynchburg Grand Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Point of Honor (0.4 km) and Historic Sandusky (6.1 km).
Does Lynchburg Grand Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.