We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Penny's Bungalow Resort

Save
Share
13/21 Moo 4 Khai Muk Beach, Ko Chang 23170 Thailand
eDreams
Priceline
StayForLong
Agoda.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (130)
Room & Suite (14)
Pool & Beach (4)

About

#101 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are a family oriented resort on Koh Chang. Our location is in "Had Kai Mook"(Pearl beach), a peaceful and quiet beach part. The beach here is pebbly but in most part of the year good for snorkelling. We are directly between the two biggest sandy beaches from Koh Chang(White sand to the left and Klong Prao beach to the right) both beaches are just 1.5 km away and easy to reach by walk (20 min) or taxi (approx 50 Baht per person) or just rent a motorbike by us or somewhere else(200-250 Baht per 24 hours) Two of the islands largest supermarkets are right on the main road(250 meter walk from us to there), there are also several restaurants close to us.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
131Reviews0Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 23
  • 38
  • 26
  • 25
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Wanderer652422 wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Ripped sheets. Curtains dont go to bottom of glass. Toilet smells. Rude manager organise a day trip for me yet taxi couldnt pick us up on rtn..no refund on the taxi. Noisy un cleaned air con, budget room really and very very average state of affairs.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Penny's Bungalow Resort
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Sorry, but it seems this person mix something up, maybe look to deep in the beer glass..we not organize day trips for example... so what kind of fake is this once again?
Read more
antoinette k wrote a review Jan 2020
london12 contributions1 helpful vote
We had 5 nights here over New Years and it was a nice experience but more despite the rooms and lack of amenities rather than because of them. We liked the beach even though it is rocky, the pool was nice and the staff were sweet - not wildly proficient but nice people. I have some feedback for management: Some of the rooms were of a good standard but ours had bathrooms that were quite run down. Western toilets, toilet paper is good supply. We had two rooms, one shower did not work but one did albeit only cold water and limited pressure. Our aircon was good but the one in the other room was poor and loud. Our friends had rooms where I suspect the filter had not been cleaned for some time as they both got raw throats. Having said that - it was fine without it as the weather was temperate. All of the beds were very hard - fine for me because I like that but some in our group didn't. They use sheets that were clean but ripped in places (again - it didn't really matter to us) and blankets rather than duvets...which I doubt were cleaned regularly so we just didn't use them. Pillows were excellent and when we asked for more they gave us two more. Rooms were made up everyday and water bottles provided. There are fridges in all of the rooms of varying sizes. They are run down but again - it is fine as they do the job. All of the rooms have nice porches and little tables and chairs. It was nice to sit out there in the evening. I think our biggest issue was the bugs. We had a snake outside (again - not a big deal) but because of the lowered ceilings in the rooms and lots of gaps - there were bugs everywhere. Lots of critters scratching on the roof at night. We bought ant spray as they were in our bed. There was an ant nest in our shower which was the only one working but when we sprayed we were able to keep it under control. The doors to our rooms didn't actually meet up so even if they were locked, bugs could still get in. It was a bit more like glamping. It could be such a great place - just needs a bit of TLC and a thorough clean. I know that management might feel it a bit unfair to post feedback rather share it with them but I knew that trying to share these things with staff would be pointless - these are more structural issues than front desk issues. We had fun there and liked being away from the busier places.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Schnauz wrote a review Aug 2019
Munich, Germany7 contributions6 helpful votes
Once upon a time there was a resort where happy people went and everything was incredible. When after awhile the resort's manager became lazy and just didn't care as much as in the beginning. Soon everything went downhill. And even after that some people from far away visited the resort. In the sunlight everything seems nice. But as soon as night fell everything went pitch black and the once happy manager grumpily offered 5 more minutes of light, shut down the restaurant's window blinds and left us in the dark. Once a probably wonderful resort, it seemed he became blind to the erosion that took place over the years. The once high standard pool benches degenerated into grey messes. Some lights and lanterns gave up too, consumed by the grim darkness the resort emits at night. It's become the evil castle from fairytales. The restaurant closes at 6 instead of 8 ( even though it doesn’t say on the menu), out of possibly just the managers ennui. And there we stood, feeling cheated and robbed of a wonderful holiday, as refunds were off the table immediately, and even tourist police didn’t seem to impress a delusional. Luckily the nightmare will eventually find an end, but once quite possibly a wonderful fairytale like location demade itself to a sinful harbour of solitude and coldness.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Penny's B, General Manager at Penny's Bungalow Resort
Responded 5 Nov 2019
The last 3 reviews was the same group. Of course, it was low season on Koh Chang and in low season it is everywhere a bit "sleepy". Sorry for that but, promised, a "traveller to the bone" would know that. It is strange that during the low season,where the room rate also deep down, we got almost guests with highest claims. Our location is several times explained everywhere, many of our guests like this quiet bay(not sandy beach mean also that is not overcrowded with tourists, right?) but it seems again and again people not inform themself in advance if they search for a quiet place or for a downtown nightlife hotel or whatever... By the way, funny: Our neighboor resort(Paradise palms) has almost perfect reviews about the location and we side by side located... About the rooms what this group coomplained: Of course , it is rain season in August and it is really a fight against the high huminidity for everybody. Seems some people not understand about tropical influences and it is surely not fair if they give such bad reviews.
Read more
Lissy G wrote a review Aug 2019
Ko Chang, Thailand11 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
run-down place, super unfriendly manager, all lights go out at 8pm so you‘re sitting alone in the dark, restaurant closes at 6pm (although the menu says 8pm), not really anywhere else to go since the place is quite remote, pictures advertized are very misleading. We left after one day but no refund, no apology for lies made, no nothing. Not recommendable at all.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Penny's B, Manager at Penny's Bungalow Resort
Responded 6 Nov 2019
Eigentlich sollte man die 3 für deren Gemeinheiten die sie hier verbreiten wegen Verleumdung verklagen aber leider kann man auf Tripadvisor alles ungeprüft posten. Selbst unserem ärgsten Feind wünschen wir solche Gäste nicht
Read more
Hendrik Le Strange wrote a review Aug 2019
Munich, Germany26 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Being a traveler to the bone, this was the worst nightmare of a ‚resort‘ I‘ve ever experienced. A complete run-down place with not even morbid charm, unfriendly staff (manager doesn’t care at all) and ants roaming along the mould on the walls. Lights go out at 8pm so you‘re sitting alone in the dark, restaurant closes at 6pm (although the menu says 8pm), not really anywhere else to go since the place is quite remote, pictures on Agoda are very missleading. We left after one day but no refund, no apology for lies made, no nothing. If you care for your life, stay away. We‘ve informed tourist police. Not recommendable at all.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Penny's B, Front Office Manager at Penny's Bungalow Resort
Responded 6 Nov 2019
Oh, what for a bone traveller, such bad nightmares...we hope you 3 will have always sweet dreams.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$19 - US$52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
penny`s bungalow hotel koh chang
LOCATION
ThailandTrat ProvinceKo Chang
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Penny's Bungalow Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Penny's Bungalow Resort?
Nearby attractions include King Tailor (1.6 km), Mu Ko Chang National Park View Point (7.0 km), and Khlong Prao Beach (1.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Penny's Bungalow Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Penny's Bungalow Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Penny's Bungalow Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Penny's Bungalow Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chill Out Cafe, Pizza King Express, and Restaurant & Metzgerei Baum.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Penny's Bungalow Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.