We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 40 hotels in Newport News

Point Plaza Suites & Conference Center

167 reviews
Save
Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (17)
Pool & Beach (1)
Overview
  • Excellent17%
  • Very good14%
  • Average20%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible33%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Bar/Lounge
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (167)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Point Plaza Suites & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
30
24
33
28
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
30
24
33
28
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfast isstandard roompull out sofavirginia beachoatmealcontractorsrollawaysignalwilliamsburg
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
41 - 45 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

Our room was in the front and on second floor with no elevator. Thank goodness we didn't have much luggage on our 3 night stay. Staff was nice for the most part. The road noise kept me awake at night. Hair dryer in my room...More

2  Thank luvmytwiinz
Response from Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites & Conference CenterResponded 9 April 2016

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time out to let us know about your stay with us. I apologize for the problems you had while being here. We take pride in our property and want to make sure everyone is happy. Again, I...More

Reviewed 14 March 2016

I stayed here because I was attending a conference held here. I arrived the night before for 2 nights. Checkin was a breeze, no problems at all. I was on the 4th floor of the hotel section. Appears there are 2 sections, one interior rooms...More

Thank gingerannlanier
Response from Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites & Conference CenterResponded 18 March 2016

Dear valued guest, Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us at Point Plaza Suites. I appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention. I hope that the next time you are in our area,...More

Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Cons: This hotel was cheap in every way. The room smelled stale and weird. The drain took forever to clear in both the shower and sink. The didn't have my reservation in their computer when we checked in or out. The pool is weird and...More

1  Thank Susan M
Response from Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites & Conference CenterResponded 14 March 2016

Dear valued hotel guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us. I apologize for the issues you had during your stay and we are working on getting this fixed immediately. Thank you again for letting me...More

Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

New management isn't much better I had a house keeper walk up to me and tell me I was trying to get her fired and started arguing with me. Housekeeping was just rude I've been here a month and I'm thinking about movingMore

1  Thank Crystal H
Response from Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites & Conference CenterResponded 19 February 2016

Dear Crystal, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about our hotel. I apologize for the issues you had with housekeeping. I will definitely speak with our housekeeping department about this. We appreciate and value you and hope you will stay...More

Reviewed 20 January 2016

I had read the reviews before booking this hotel. I knew some earlier reviews weren't very good, but I also knew they were under new management. We had a great stay, and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. The room was clean, smelled nice and very...More

Thank lpt41
Response from Kelli L, Manager at Point Plaza Suites & Conference CenterResponded 21 January 2016

Dear valued guest, Thank you so much for taking time out to write such a nice review of our hotel! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are working very hard at getting our hotel back to a full service...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
1789101134
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Microwave
Things to do
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$44 - US$60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$44 - US$60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (17)
Pool & Beach (1)
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Bathroom (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
253alt
When the comments from past guests are so overwhelmingly negative, how is it that this facility still has a 3 out of 5 rating? Anything higher than a 1 would be generous. I stayed there last month, and time and space don't permit me to list all the things I found wrong. I will add just a few thought to what has been listed by other guests. The front desk associate did not even acknowledge me when I walked up; too busy staring at her monitor, when I arrived on the evening of 5/19. The bathroom had no COLD water. Can you believe it - only HOT water, which means I was unable to shower the whole weekend (spray what you got, I guess). When I told the same associate, who by that time was putting OUT OF ORDER signs on the elevator, she said "I'll make a note" -- golly thanks. The hallways were like saunas. The outside entrances that are supposed to be locked for security reasons and accessible by room keys, had broken locks (anyone could walk in without a key). This appears to be a situation where management is milking the property for whatever they can get out of it, without investing a dime to keep it up. Again, anything over a 1 out of 5 rating is being more than generous.
10 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Denise H |
Sooo true this place is horrible!!it stinks of mold and can't see how they aren't shut down and Im super shocked that booking has them on there site! Nothing is accurate about this place it's a pure dump!!
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Spend the night on the street instead of staying here"
Read review
"Spend a little more and go to a different hotel"
Read review
"Pick another hotel/motel... this joint is not worth what seems to be a good rate for the area!"
Read review
"Check room and surrounding thoroughly before bringing a single suitcase into the room"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite