We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

336 reviews
Save
Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (2)
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good35%
  • Average9%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“york street”(6 reviews)
“front desk”(64 reviews)
Free Wifi
Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Special Offer: Book Now & Earn More
Hotel packages
Hotel deals
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (336)Write a Review
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
152
119
32
25
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
152
119
32
25
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyork streetwithin walking distancefront deskfull kitchenparking garagechrysler museumdaily breakfastbedroom suitelong stayeach morningtwo blockswaffleslight railmacarthur centernorfolk downtownlove this hotelbeds were very comfortable
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 334 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018

I stayed here for a business meeting while in Norfolk. My room was spacious and clean. No mater what I did with the thermostat, the room was very cold. The shower was lukewarm at best. I guess they can't pay their energy bills. They had...More

Thank Orso52
Response from Eric C, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk DowntownResponded 18 January 2018

Orso52, I am so very sorry you could not get your heat working. I have contacted my engineering team who has not seen an error here. I apologize also for a hiccup on the hot water side and I assure you this has nothing to...More

Reviewed 15 January 2018

If you get a rate commensurate with what a mid-range hotel goes for in Norfolk, you'll be fine here. The rooms are fairly large and the typical self-serve breakfast is adequate. Restaurants and bars are within walking distance, parking is a little pricey.

Thank corevel
Response from Eric C, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk DowntownResponded 17 January 2018

Thank you for the kind words!

Reviewed 10 January 2018

Stayed in residence inn downtown norfolk on 1/3/18 the night of snow storm in order to be close to work. unfortunately it was not a good experience. we loss power, cable TV and heat for a bit, rendering the room very cold. had to change...More

Thank lisajmlawson
Response from Eric C, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk DowntownResponded 11 January 2018

I am so sorry you had to stay at the Main during the snow storm and not with us. As you can imagine the snow storm providing an emergency situation can be difficult for guests and associates. During this emergency we tried our hardest to...More

Reviewed 25 December 2017

This property is currently under renovation, and we were actually the first "residents" in our room since the renovation. There was little evidence of the ongoing works, and there was no disturbing sounds during the day or evening hours. The staff were outstanding, and were...More

Thank Rex G
Response from Theresa T, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk DowntownResponded 27 December 2017

Thank You for taking time out of your busy day to comment on your stay. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly renovated rooms. We look forward to you staying with us again in the near future.

Reviewed 28 October 2017

Stayed here for work for about 5 months. Staff was very friendly especially Steve, Dorothy and Megan. The rooms are nice, clean. They are in process of remodeling (as of October 2017.) Indoor pool was great to have access to. The rooms are pretty quiet...More

Thank Steve H
Response from Theresa T, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk DowntownResponded 30 October 2017

thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay. We appreciate you staying with us and enjoying all Downtown Norfolk has to offer. We will soon be finish with our renovation in 2018, please feel free to make your net reservation with us, so...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345667
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hot Tub
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$135 - US$228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$135 - US$228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (2)
Pool & Beach (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kimberlyannhopf
13 February 2018|
Answer
Response from butta1898 |
The pet fee is $100.
0
Votes
butta1898
28 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Theresa T | Property representative |
Unfortunately, does not provide shuttle service in the area. we do have a City of Norfolk Free Ride trolley that will take you around the area within a limited radius. there is also access to the the Light Rail which is... More
0
Votes
John C
9 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Theresa T | Property representative |
about 10 - 12 minutes from the hotel. follow Virginia beach blvd
0
Votes
PreviousNext
123
Room Tips
"if facing parking garage be aware they empty the dumpsters in AM on that side. can get noisy."
Read review
"9th floor had good views and no upstairs neighbors"
Read review
"They allow pets, but not on certain floors"
Read review
"Get the suite. Plenty of room and comfortable, at a great price."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing