We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

809 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 797: English reviews
Washington, DC
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Decent property, but has a few areas of noticeable wear. Rooms are OK size, but certainly not large. Staff are efficient. Location is right in the heart of downtown; a few blocks from the MacArthur Mall. Not too many restaurants in the immediate vicinity; it is a few blocks to the mall or to Granby Street. Self-parking is available in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davidwatts
MARWATMAR, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review

Dear Davidwatts, Thank you for your comments about your recent visit. Your comments have been shared with the entire team in order to improve the service to all of our guests.

Hamptons, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the worst hotel experience. My husband and I planned a romantic downtown Norfolk date night before he deploys for 7 months. We wanted to stay in a nice hotel on the water, boy were we wrong to stay here. The hotel specifically left a note in our room that if people were to get a noise complaint they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sbug08
MARWATMAR, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review

Dear sbug08, Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you experienced from other guests. Your comments have been shared with the entire team in order to improve our service to all of our guests.

Hagerstown
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

In town to visit family for a couple of days. The hotel staff is great. I especially want to give kudos to Synada and Marcus at the front desk. The hotel does show some age, but it has a great home feeling. Its not overly commercial. Just enough new mixed in with the old. We enjoyed our stay and will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dre22
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review

Dear Dre22, Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent family visit. We are glad that our Brilliant Hosts Synada and Marcus took great care of you.

Wilsonville, Oregon USA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I paid for river view and was disappointed. It's really a block and a half or two blocks away. Nice people at front desk. The room was okay but outdated and not the best. So much street construction during our 4 nights --not their fault. The walking area past the construction is great. I walked miles everyday in this historic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ahna2
Jeff C, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review

Thank you for your your stay with us and your kind words regarding our front desk staff. I’m sorry that our accommodations were not to your liking; please forgive us. We have shared your comments with our Director of Housekeeping to take immediate corrective action. Your feedback is welcomed as it encourages improvements for future stays. Thank you for taking...

Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I remember when the Marriot opened in Norfolk. It was the height of elegance. I think it hasn't been updated since. Rooms are small, old furniture, dinged up (and dirty) elevator. We come to Norfolk every year. Won't stay here again. Oh, staff very nice. Which is why I didn't give it one star.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank medwriterdg
Jeff C, Guest Relations Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review

Dear medwriterdg, Thank you for you kind words regarding our staff. We will share your comments for improvement accordingly as we always strive to provide the most comfortable stays for our guests. Have a great holiday season.

Athens, GA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are great fans of Marriott hotels, and the Norfolk Waterside reinforced our appreciation for the quality of its hotels and service. We had a wonderful view of the harbor. The location is excellent and within walking distance of a large mall. The evening concierge lounge offerings were not as good as some of the other Marriotts where have stayed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rtw30606
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review

Dear rtw30606, Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We are glad that our Brilliant Hosts could provide you "another first rate Marriott experience," with a wonderful view of the harbor and an excellent location.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely hotel in a central location. Short walk to the waterfront boardwalk and lots of restaurants nearby. Friendly helpful staff. Nice spacious rooms that are clean and well kept considering it is an older hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 604Jinxed
MARWATMAR, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review

Dear 604Jinxed, Thank you for your wonderful review about your recent visit. We are very fortunate to be centrally located to all of the sights and sounds of downtown Norfolk. In addition we are glad that our Brilliant Hosts could provide you with friendly, helpful staff and a clean, well kept room.

Pasadena, Canada
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Waterside was an excellent choice for the NSSR conference in November. The rooms were well put together and maintained, the fitness centre has ample equipment, the pool was nice. The piano bar on the second floor was a great place to relax with colleagues. Located near plenty of restaurants and across the road from a small shop that sold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrozenNorth2014
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review

Dear FrozenNoth2014, Thank for your comments about your recent visit over the NSSR conference. We are glad that we could be a part of your conference and host all of the participants. Please accept our sincere apology for the temperature issues in the rooms and all of the wild mood swings. We are glad that you enjoyed all of the...

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Had a fine stay at the Waterside but it is somewhat old and in need for modernization. Colours, carpets and style in general is just a bit old and worn down. Still, I spent a couple of pleasant evenings in the bar/restaurant, with friendly bartender and rest of staff. The room had everything that one would need, and bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Finn J
MARWATMAR, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review

Dear Finn J Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant evening with our Brilliant Hosts in our bar/restaurant.

Altoona, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 30 November 2016

To be truthful, this is just an average Marriott property. But the staff and management of the property make up for what needs to be updated. We were there over the Thanksgiving Holiday and I was really missing my family. I asked for the Concierge Level and offered to pay but they were not busy so the let us have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsscaramo
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review

Dear mrsscaramo, Thank you for the comments about your recent visit. It was our pleasure upgrading you to the concierge level free of charge and we are glad that our Brilliant Hosts in the Executive Lounge took wonderful care of you. Please accept our sincere apology for the noise problem with other guests.

280 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (101)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
0.4 km away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.9 km away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.2 km away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
9.3 km away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
1.0 km away
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Shula's 347 Grill - Norfolk
Shula's 347 Grill - Norfolk
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
No photo provided
The Piano Lounge
Cuisines: American
No photo provided
The Dining Room
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surround yourself in our newly renovated accommodations seamlessly combined with traditional charm at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, a downtown Norfolk hotel set in the heart of the historic district. Located on the picturesque Elizabeth River waterfront, our Norfolk, Virginia hotel combines stunning river views with marble accents, classic wood styling and eclectic artwork. From its convenient connection to the Waterside Convention Center to the nearby Children's Museum of Virginia, Norfolk Naval Station or the Virginia Zoo, our location is ideal for business or leisure guests. Stay active at our premier Norfolk, VA hotel fitness center complete with personal TVs, or relax after sightseeing at Shula's 347, serving renowned cuisine within this hotel in Norfolk, VA. Plan intimate outdoor gatherings on our sixth-floor Riverview Terrace or execute grand galas in over 60,000 sq ft of premier Norfolk hotel event space. For unrivaled lodging on the vibrant waterfront, look no further than Norfolk Waterside Marriott. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Address: 235 E Main St, Norfolk, VA 23510-1668
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range: $176 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Waterside Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Norfolk Waterside Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel Norfolk
Marriott Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Norfolk Waterside Marriott staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Norfolk Waterside Marriott staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find another Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles sbug08, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get the concierge level if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles mrsscaramo, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the higher up the better”
 of 5 bubbles dewilson2, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“17 or higher, corner room facing the river.”
 of 5 bubbles 676jeffr, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“hit up sean if you've got an issue he'll fix you right up”
 of 5 bubbles corinwvogel, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay