We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Motel 6 Norfolk - Oceanview

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Motel 6 Norfolk - Oceanview
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 30: English reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Nice room, clean and plenty of space. We chose this one because it was crazy cheap and had ita own beach right behind it. It was a quiet, peaceful, and private experience. Plus only minutes from Virginia Beach. And just a short walk from an amazing fishing peer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Norfolk - Oceanview, responded to this review

Dear John P, Thank you so much for your compliments, rating and review of our high housekeeping standards and you found our location to be convenient. We are so glad to know that you had a wonderful time with us and that you find great value in staying with us. We always aim to give you the best value for...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 8 December 2016

I can see progress here and so I am giving this Motel 6 an average rating. It isn't poor but it certainly has a long ways to go. The front desk reception was friendly and precise. I was disappointed that I was unable to use my AAA membership because they only take AARP and Military for discount. I appreciated the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janej4747
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Norfolk - Oceanview, responded to this review

Dear janej4747, Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share the ways that we have impressed you and the ways that we can improve we want you to know that the matters you mentioned are being addressed to our management. I do thank you for bringing this matter to...

Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewed 30 August 2016

After being conned out of my reservations at the Super 8 down the street, some friends and I ventured down to this Motel Six that we had passed by on our way to the nasty Super 8 to be greeted with exceptional service. I was offered a discount for my military service, something grown to become rarely given out at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sawyer C
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Norfolk - Oceanview, responded to this review

Dear Sawyer C, Thank you so much for choosing Motel 6 Norfolk, I can't begin to tell you how much we enjoyed reading this review and thank you so much for your honest review and appreciated that you've taken the time to share your five star review! We're glad you had a great time with us and we look forward...

SW Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Where do I begin? I know my sister will read this, so let me preface by saying that I love you dearly, and you did the best you could during a family emergency. But you KNOW I needed to give this review... Ok, now that that is out of the way. If I could rank this place lower if I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RudeeRu
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Norfolk - Oceanview, responded to this review

Dear RudeeRu, Thank you for reporting this incident you had in the hotel. We are already making reports about this so the management will be informed by this news. We are very sorry about your disappointment but rest assured, your concerns will be highly appreciated to better our services to our dear customers. Please accept my sincere apology for the...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Poorest Motel 6 we've ever been to! Overcharged despite online booking direct at motel6.com and confirmation of amount. 1. Tacked on $5 daily "resort fee" (dump fee) 2 . "rate increase" within the week amounting to added $$/day. 3. No AARP discount on receipt...Called corporate number the checkout girl referred me to, "this is a franchise" they would have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goinuts
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Norfolk - Oceanview, responded to this review

Dear goinuts, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I apologize that you are not made aware of the additional charge on your stay. I will discuss this concern to the management so they can assist with this thoroughly. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements...

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Price varies depending on time of year ... it was a great location if you want a cheaper alternative to Virginia Beach. It is a smaller, calmer area. There is free parking. You can walk across the street to the beach, pier, or a restaurant. You can still drive to the Oceanfront in Virginia Beach if you want to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taina m
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Norfolk - Oceanview, responded to this review

Dear taina m, Thank you so much for sharing your review and giving us an honest look at the guest experience in our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel and hope you were able to explore the area! We are delighted by your compliments, rating and review of our high...

Mechanicsville, Virginia
Reviewed 27 July 2016

When I booked the room I was given one price then overcharged by more than $100 and management didn't care even when I provided proof. Our room had who knows what stained, smudged and smeared on every wall and surface. The door frames and hanging pictures were growing black mold. The toilet didn't flush and the shower didn't drain. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MBurke07
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Norfolk - Oceanview, responded to this review

Dear MBurke07, Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. Your concerns regarding the level of cleanliness and outdated condition of the facility will be addressed accordingly. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have...

Reviewed 15 July 2016

We arrived at the Motel 6 #8664 In Norfolk VA on July 1st at approximately 4:30 PM. We were denied a room and told they did not have the list of available cleaned rooms at the time that we would have to come back later. We came back around 9:00 PM and were given room 222. Immediately upon opening the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshua G
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Norfolk - Oceanview, responded to this review

Dear Joshua G, Thank you for completing our guest satisfaction survey and letting us know about your recent experience at our hotel. I am so sorry that you smelled smoke in your room and I want to assure you that we do our best to ensure that smokers do not smoke in our non-smoking rooms; and when a situation like...

Hopewell, Virginia
Reviewed 15 July 2016

I called for prices of rooms i was told $54some change plus tax for the weekdays and much higher for weekends well this was a wednesday so when i get there on wednesday same day I was told from the owner oh no no that was decembers prices and prices are never the same they change all the time i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank love2fish2016
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Norfolk - Oceanview, responded to this review

Dear love2fish2016, Thank you for your review, your feedback and your comments regarding your stay. I do apologize for the problem our staff has caused you. We look forward for a general orientation soon so we can better our services to our customers. We also promise to resolve the problem you are addressing. Thank you very much for staying with...

Newport n
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Good location, expensive on the weekends -- probably due to peak season. Very friendly staff, kitchenette rooms, renovating now, quiet area, good quality TV, executive style phone in my room, stones throw distance from the 24 hr pier.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N6019CXjenniferd
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Norfolk - Oceanview, responded to this review

Dear N6019CXjenniferd, It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have rated our hospitality and accommodations so highly! Hearing about how our efforts to give you a pleasant and accommodating experience have been successful is very rewarding for every member of our staff and management team. We look forward to serving you again in the...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
5.9 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#22 of 37 in Norfolk
40 reviews
6.0 km away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
12.8 km away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
10.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Motel 6 Norfolk - Oceanview

Address: 9601 4th View St., exit 273 on I-64, Norfolk, VA 23503 (Formerly Economy Inn Ocean View Navel Base)
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range: $74 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Norfolk - Oceanview 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Norfolk - Oceanview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Norfolk Naval Base
Norfolk Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel 6 Norfolk - Oceanview staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Wilmington, Ohio
Richmond, Virginia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Norfolk - Oceanview staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think they only have 4 refinished rooms. Good luck booking one.”
 of 5 bubbles RudeeRu, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask to see your room beforehand.”
  • ashtray in a
  • yellowed ceiling
  • mold and slime running down windows
  • mold under airconditioner
 of 5 bubbles 193joshuag, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“select another motel”
  • dirty window but you can see the ocean
  • Hair remains on tap
  • dirty faucet, I covered a piece of towel
  • dirty bathtub
 of 5 bubbles jolantak703, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Choosing the right room is up to the individuals needs”
 of 5 bubbles 371carolt, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Dont reserve a room”
 of 5 bubbles cathyc216, 7 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5