We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

779 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 766: English reviews
Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location and if you lucky you get a harbor view room, which is very nice. Stuff friendly and helpful. Overall , the hotel is old and "tired" rooms need an update. Coffee maker in room, but no fridge, microwave or safe. Valet parking is $25 a night! A bit steep if you ask me. Most important to me was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wisnia
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

While we were pleased you appreciated our great location and our staff's attentive service, we do wish that we had impressed you at every turn. We are excited to let you know that our property will be undergoing a complete renovation including all guest rooms. It's our hope that you'll visit us again in the future and enjoy our refreshed... More 

raleigh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel offers a "green choice" option to guests with multiple night stays. If the guest is willing to forego having the room cleaned, the guest is to receive five dollars to spend in the restaurant. Five dollars is not a lot of money, but I thought, why not?. Well, the staff did not clean the room, but did not... More 

Helpful?
Thank accordionpotter
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear there was a misunderstanding on the service you opted for. Please reach out to us directly with any concerns, we would be happy to clear things up for you. Thank you for the feedback! More 

Petersburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I just stayed at this hotel for 5 days for a conference. To save a little money and eat a little healthy, I brought down food to have for some of my meals. Most of this needed to be refrigerated. So, my only complaint about this hotel was the absence of a mini fridge and microwave. I feel like most... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gerryp84
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff provide personal service to ensure you were taking care of. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed without a mini-refrigerator in your room. For any future stay, please let our staff know, they would be happy provide one for you. Thank you for sharing your comments,... More 

Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
745 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We attended this wonderful event in support of Cultural and Arts in our Region. One of our close friends was a recipient of an award. The Hotel staff did a great job making this a great time.Thank you for the extra effort.

Helpful?
Thank boxshop
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

How wonderful to hear you had a good time celebrating your friend's achievements at the event you attended at our hotel. It's always our pleasure to provide personal attention to ensure our guests time is memorable. Thank you for sharing your positive feedback, we hope to see you again soon! More 

Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stay at the Sheraton when we are attending the Virginia EMS Symposium. The room was clean and as usual staff friendly and helpful. Small bar off the dining area but nice to relax with others after a long day. Would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Va5traveler
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel! Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed the time you spent here and appreciated our warm staff. We're delighted to learn you would return for another stay when in the area and we look forward to seeing you again! More 

Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate there yesterday and were handed a paper menu with very little on it. Even though they were not busy, the service was very slow. We thought we had a reservation for six, but they tried to put us in a table for four. I would have had something good to say about the desert menu except that the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Oranutan1
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with your invaluable feedback regarding your recent dining experience. It is disappointing that we did not meet all of your expectations on this occasion, especially with our menu. I’ll be passing your comments along to our restaurant team to ensure that your experience is not repeated. We hope you’ll choose to dine with us again. More 

Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hosted a large event, several hundred people, and met with the venue 7 months ago. There was not adequate valet attendants available. Many of our guest that valet their cars had more and a 20 minute wait. Valet did not have radios to communicate with each other which made things even worse. Some of the finer details were not completed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela B
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. I deeply regret to hear that we fell below our standards on this occasion and apologize for any inconveniences or frustrations that you and your guests experienced while with us. Please know that we remain committed in delivering the highest level of service at all times. I encourage you to reach out and speak... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were completely ignored when we went down to the bar to get something to eat. We had to clean our own table, get our own chairs for a party of 5. Had to go find someone to order food. Food came an hour later, totally cold (looked like it was made but sitting there without getting delivered. Had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank the lucha k
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

We care deeply for our guests and their experience at our hotel which is why we are saddened and disappointed to hear about your recent visit. We value your feedback as it will allow us to focus on the areas that require our immediate attention. Please be assured that your comments are being shared with our restaurant management. On behalf... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you saw "Les Miserables", you probably remember the greasy, shady inn keeper, bragging about all the ways he rooks and cheats his guests. I kind of expected to see that character wandering around the the lobby, grinning about how thoroughly fleeced we all were. Let me tick off a few good reasons for you to try your hardest to... More 

Helpful?
Thank HiDiddleeDee
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Guest satisfaction is crucial to us, and it's never our intent for guests to leave our property feeling disappointed in any way. We are very sorry that we didn't provide you with a memorable stay. Your feedback is appreciated, and please know, we are working hard to improve our property, renovations are underway including all guest rooms. We hope you... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My stay here was fantastic! very clean and very comfy. The rooms are a tad bit small for the money and the wifi isnt free but overall it is a nice room. I got the room for my best friends birthday we had a ball and enjoyed the view on the balcony, it was so cold out we had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Iesha T
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

We are overjoyed to learn that you had a fantastic stay with us at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel for your best friend’s birthday celebration. We're pleased you found comfort in your guest room enjoyed the stunning views. Thank you for sharing your experience, we hope you visit with us again soon! More 

221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
0.2 km away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.4 km away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
1.3 km away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
9.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.9 km away
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is near Virginia Symphony, Chrystler Museum, and Nauticus. We have 16 meeting rooms, totaling 35,000 sq ft of event space, some of which have gorgeous harborside views ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Address: 777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range: $132 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for harbor view”
 of 5 bubbles Wisnia, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pick someplace else to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles theluchak, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are willing to wait, the rooms that face the harbor at least have a view.”
 of 5 bubbles HiDiddleeDee, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Parking is in a garage, so valet is suggested if you do not want to keep walking to get your vehicle.”
 of 5 bubbles 527ieshat, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“get one on the water”
 of 5 bubbles RJ432, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay