We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Save
Share
777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510-2102
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Booking.com
US$139
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$111
View deal
Sheraton.com
US$111
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/12/21
eDreamsUS$139
FindHotelUS$111
Orbitz.comUS$111
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (331)
Room & Suite (130)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 11/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Updated 11/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 41 hotels in Norfolk
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
With inspiring views of downtown Norfolk, Virginia and the Elizabeth River, Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel boasts an ideal location near Norfolk Naval Base, Town Point Park and the Chrysler Museum of Art. Enjoy hotel amenities like an eclectic restaurant, a fully equipped fitness center, a seasonal outdoor pool, complimentary Wi-Fi and flexible event space.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bowling offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Car park
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Executive lounge access
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
River View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1044Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 262
  • 290
  • 238
  • 132
  • 122
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jroset wrote a review Oct 2021
Chandler, Arizona58 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
The Sheraton Waterside Hotel was the location for this year's annual Navy reunion (Wed pm-Sun am) for our group. It was to have been there last year, but we know how that went....Our group was in the vicinity of 125-160 people I believe, comprised of former "sailors" and their guests (spouses, family, friends). The hotel was very clean and seemed to have enough help for the most part, not like many other establishments across the country that we experienced on our road trips in the past six months or so. Our room was on the "club" floor (10th) and you needed to use your key card in the elevator to gain access to the 10th floor, where normally in the club room there would be drinks and refreshments for the 10th floor people to use, but not so as yet, but you could use the room which had more space than your hotel room to watch the big screen tv, read or meet your friends there to spread out on the comfy couches and chairs. Each morning a buffet was set up for our group, good choice of food, to get our busy day started. I did not use the restaurant downstairs since there were quite a few along the waterfront. They normally have valet parking to spaces under the hotel but you had to park yourself, and still a fee for daily parking, unless you got lucky like we did to use one of the spaces in the small lot in front of the entrance. We had use of one of the banquet rooms exclusively for our group to use as our "hospitality" room, and on Sat. evening we had a nice dinner banquet. We had choice of three entrees that we'd chosen ahead of time (chicken piccata, white fish, or sirloin beef) and I didn't hear any complaints at our table except for a little wait which is to be expected in a big group. The king bed was very comfy, good size pillows, nice harbor view, a very small refrigerator (no freezer section), no microwave. All in all, the Sheraton was very accommodating to our large group, considering the times we are experiencing right now. The only negative thing was that there was one elevator that did not like our room key (changed it out twice) in order to gain access to 10th floor. Hopefully they will get that fixed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Higher floor, harbor view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Dear Jroset, Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as your event. Our hotel aims to provide a great experience, and your feedback, including recommendations for improvement, helps us to succeed in this area. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Best, Brendan England General Manager
Read more
Kevin Golinghorst wrote a review Oct 2020
Saint Louis, Missouri13 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I really appreciated the staff here at the hotel and particularly at the restaurant, specifically Mimi & Rena, who were SO friendly and provided excellent service! Thank you and continue setting the great standard.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Waterside room was wonderful
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Randy P wrote a review Oct 2021
Newport, Rhode Island16 contributions33 helpful votes
Thank goodness this hotel has a great view ... its service and sophistication is a level far below the view of the river and shipyard. Having stayed here many times now, the lack of politeness and professionalism of the front desk staff and the horrible bar/restaurant service has finally crossed the line of tolerable. The front desk clerks are indifferent at best but often rude and detached that they're there to serve customers. The bartender ... a nice enough woman of about 75-80 years old (?), attempts to be efficient but often falls short and seems to be all bartender/waitress/short order cook and is often absent from the actual bar. Again, at least there's a view of the water! Why in heavens isn't the club lounge open for full service? Masks are not required in the hotel so I can only conclude that the hotel is trying to skimp because it can. Unfortunately, I think the Sheraton feeds off of all the military travelers that come through, otherwise it couldn't survive in a more sophisticated city. Time to look for a new hotel in Norfolk.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Be prepared to have to park in the garage a 5 min walk away as the on-site parking fills up fast
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Responded 21 Oct 2021
Dear XRandyPXL, Thank you for your review. I’m sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve and that this experience was not like past stays. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one and we are sorry for falling short of this goal. Your satisfaction is important to us and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity to make your stay the best it can be. Sincerely, Brendan England General Manager
Read more
Tredawg94 wrote a review Oct 2021
Raleigh, NC59 contributions60 helpful votes
I have stayed at this hotel several times over the years and this visit was okay. My concern was with the level of services provided with Covid-19. This is a nice hotel but this time there were a few problems. 1. the safe was locked like the previous traveler left something there so i was not able to use it. I notified the front desk and the attendant said he would have it looked into but, nothing was done. I was not able to lock my valuables in the room. 2. Room while not filthy, it was not cleaned throughly with care. There were empty bottles in the recycling bucket that should have been removed before I arrived. There was furniture spray or some type of white colored residue on the credena. It looked as if it was sprayed with a squeeze bottle and they housekeeper missed wiping it down. 3. The main problem I had was that I needed my room cleaned and during my stay from Thursday - Sunday, not once did they clean the room. On Friday of my stay I asked the housekeeper in the hall outside of my room would she clean the room as I was going to be out for awhile. The housekeeper affirmed she would and I went about my business. I returned to my room six hours later and nothing my bed was left in the same way i left it. Next on Saturday of my stay i learned requests for room cleaning should made by 1pm each. I called the Housekeeping Department (@12:59pm and the person was rude. I asked for a "maid" to clean my roomand the person on the other end of the line stated "we don't have no maids only housekeepers" I replied "whatever maid/housekeeper" , i just need my room cleaned . I gave my room number and was told they would take care of it. When I returned to my room, it was in the same condition I left it in earlier in the morning. When I complained at check-out the person did we needed to notify the front desk for room cleaning however, this was not the same as written on the information given to guests during check-in. The agent at front desk said they would provide me extra Marriott points to compensate me for this service deficiency. My other friends who stayed in separate room for the similar duration of my stay, said they requested their room be cleaned twice and the housekeepers did not clean the room
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Responded 19 Oct 2021
Dear Tredawg94, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm very sorry that your recent stay did not mirror your previous experiences. Normally our staff does a terrific job of responding to our guests’ needs, and in your case, that did not happen. The details definitely do make a comfortable trip and we regret we missed the mark. I will present your review to my team so we may address your observations and find solutions to improve in the areas that were not satisfactory. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again and provide the experience and service you've come to expect as well as deserve. Sincerely, Brendan England General Manager
Read more
rriospr7 wrote a review Sep 2021
Woodbridge, VA17 contributions17 helpful votes
Stayed two nights over Labor Day weekend. Overall hotel has everything you need. Good location, excellent fitness center and comfortable beds. Great service by entire staff but special shout out to Ms. MIMI..went out of her way to help us out…will return just based on the hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Responded 8 Sep 2021
Dear rriospr7, Sincere thanks for taking the time to share your review. It’s encouraging to know that your stay was pleasant. Our goal is to provide comfort and friendly service to all our guests who are away from home; your feedback allows us to monitor how we are doing. We appreciate your choosing to stay with us and look forward to your return trip. Best, Brendan England General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$148 - US$321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sheraton norfolk, norfolk sheraton
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaNorfolk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
468
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel?
Nearby attractions include MacArthur Memorial (0.4 km), VisitNorfolk Tourist Information Center (0.4 km), and Skystar Wheel (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Saltine, Varia, and Grain.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Norfolk.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.