We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 340: English reviews
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This hotel was easy to find and check in was a breeze. The mall and tons of restaurants were a couple of blocks away. I use the Courtyard brand a lot for business and am rarely disappointed. The rooms are always clean and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Parkedcars
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! So glad you had a good time in downtown Norfolk. Hope to see you again soon!

Boone, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Inexperienced Front desk staff; Breakfast station understaffed and unorganized. As 7 people waited in line the morning of May 4th, a cook took an order for a toasted bagel put it in the toaster oven and WATCHED it toast, put it on a plate, rang up the bill, made change - all before asking for the next order from me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mtnpainter
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for not exceeding the Marriott standards you expect as a valued guest. Please reach out to me when at your convenience. Warmly, Dawn

Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Hotel was clean and nicely decorated and the staff was very friendly. The only issue was all the noise. First from the light rail, I was awoken at 12:40 AM and 2:10 AM by other guest in the hallway. The AC relay was also so loud it woke me up every time the AC turned on.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Smith6064
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay. We certainly apologize for the noise you experienced. Our guest comfort is our number one priority and we hope to see you again soon! Dawn

Burlington ma
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I tried calling several times from my long road trip to check the check in time, no answer every time. The check in was efficient enough. Key card wouldn't work to pool and after a 12 hour drive just wanted a little whirlpool. I called the front desk, they said they would send somebody.The nice kid said ya ive been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bbxrt123
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments and review of our hotel. I reviewed your constructive feedback and the team appreciates it. Although not perfect, we do strive to be the best hotel in downtown Norfolk and want to be the best Marriott in the area. Thank you again! Dawn

Fairhope, Alabama
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Understaffed, poorly trained, like being in a grade school program you are paying to stay at! From the front desk to the Valet, housekeeping and Internet service this hotel FAILS on all levels. The wireless internet does not work on the top floor, and the IT dept. knows this. The wired service goes out every 5 -10 minutes and you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ramblinwreck13
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

We are so sorry that we didn't live up to the expectations of our Marriott guests. Our team takes pride in exceeding all of our guest expectations and needs. I would happy to discuss your stay with us; please call if you have time, Best Regards, Dawn

Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We could not fault our two night stay at the Courtyard. The location was in walking distance of many restaurants, shops and bars. The rooms were spacious and clean with comfy beds. Great place to stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments on Tripadvisor. The team and I greatly appreciate it! Dawn

Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I arrived late on a Wednesday night. Tired. Staff helpful. Surroundings safe. Went to suggested bar for dinner, serving food to 1:00 AM. Walked. Room clean, efficient, but not overwhelming. While the price was good, I did not appreciate the $19.00 extra charge for parking. I would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Robert H, Thank you for your feedback, so glad you a great time in Norfolk! We continue to provide the best price in the market for the valet service. Hope to see you again soon! Dawn

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A thoroughly satisfactory stay at the Marriot Courtyard. Good sized rooms, excellent service and everything clean and tidy. One minor gripe is the "one-cup" coffee machines - OK for a single person (just) but would always prefer a pot. Very convenient for the MacArthur memorial (for the historians) and the mall (for the shoppers)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chienvieux
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment and recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that the coffee didn't meet your expectations. Please consider us again for your future travel in the Norfolk area. Best, Dawn

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 April 2013

During my 5 nights at the Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, I had many positive experiences. The service was great, the room was clean, and the location was perfect. However, some things were just frustrating, like the fact that parking is $19.00 a night, valet parking only. Bringing my total parking costs to almost $100!!! I hated to be forced to valet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BToad2233
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on one of his business trips. The hotel is clean and the staff friendly. The location is fantastic. The McAuthor Center mall is a block down the street. Many great restaurants are within walking distance. We do recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cwo4cabs

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.4 km away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.9 km away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.9 km away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
9.0 km away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
11.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown has the friendly and efficient service you have come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Located in the heart of downtown Norfolk you will be able to walk a few blocks in any direction and experience the finest shopping, shopping and entertainment in the Norfolk area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Address: 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510-2308
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range: $158 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott
Norfolk Courtyard
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Norfolk Downtown staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
minnesota
Richmond, Virginia
Hartford, Connecticut

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Norfolk Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Odd numbered rooms generally face the street.”
  • Two Queen Bed looking from entry door.
  • Separate sink area
  • Separate tiolet/shower amenity
  • Looking from Corner to TV area
 of 5 bubbles Cincybearcatfan, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don't think the hotel had any bad rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles X2958UQbillh, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you need white noise any of the X14 room (814) have large blowers near by. If you want quiet, do not get close to the elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles gatoreed, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms are nice ..”
 of 5 bubbles Bornabrit, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Centrally located, but very busy and loud on the weekends.”
 of 5 bubbles Jaxfore, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5