We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Wakefield Road, Pontefract WF8 4HA England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$88
View deal
PricelineUS$88
TripadvisorUS$88
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.comUS$88
eDreamsUS$88
Vio.comUS$88
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (123)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (2)

About

#2 of 6 hotels in Pontefract
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

If you’re looking for a charming hotel in Pontefract, look no further than King's Croft Hotel.

While staying at King's Croft Hotel, visitors can check out St. Giles Church of England (0.9 mi) and Pontefract Castle (1.3 mi), some of Pontefract's top attractions.

Rooms at King's Croft Hotel provide a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at King's Croft Hotel guests have access to 24 hour front desk, a sun terrace, and newspaper. You can also enjoy a lounge. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at King's Croft Hotel.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Mamma Mia and Tokies Pontefract, which are some Italian restaurants that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Farmer Copleys (0.4 mi) and Pontefract Town Hall (1.0 mi), which are some popular Pontefract attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

The staff at King's Croft Hotel looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
344Reviews4Q+A85Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 125
  • 80
  • 76
  • 41
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jazzyjenny wrote a review Jul 2022
Castleford, United Kingdom230 contributions179 helpful votes
+1
We booked for 9 of us family and friends for Sunday lunch to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary. Arrived on the hottest day of the year to be seated at our table in the restaurant. Lovely set up but far too hot in there. There were a few air con vents but of little use. Need to sort better air con out. Mainly looked after by Toni who was lovely and friendly. Nothing was too much for her. Ordered a few starters which were nice and correct as we changed a couple of bits on 2. (Dont like dressed salad just plain) on the prawn cocktails. Nice kick to the Marie sauce. Mains lovely. Had to ask for loads more gravy. Veg nice choice and plenty. Few sweets ordered and were lovely. Drinks average prices for venues such as the Kings croft. All in all a lovely day apart from the heat in the restaurant (oh and the ceiling had a lot of marks on. Could do with washing.) Recommend the Sunday lunch menu. Nice for special occasions
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Wear cool clothes if it's a hot day
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kieren M wrote a review Jul 2022
5 contributions9 helpful votes
we contacted this venue the other day to book one of the Christmas party nights for 22 people, to only be told we could book the event, a few hours later we were then contacted by the owner advising that we where basically black listed from the event but if I sent him an email promising my party would be on their best behavior then we could still attend 😂😂... to then be contacted back a hour later and told that after speaking to the management they do want our business. we have attended your venue for the last 5 Christmas party events you have hosted pre COVID and post COVID supporting a local business during challenging times for all hospitality venues.. how any business is willing to turn down £800 from a group not to mention the amount of money we would but behind your bar and the money we would have paid to stay at the venue over night again lining the pockets of a local business. let me be clear in the last 5 years my party have Not caused any issues for your as a company of people that have attended your functions. I personally think we have been discrimination against because of what other members of your events cause. we have been loyal to kings croft over the last 5 years... talk about customer service in it's finest you have now lost a very loyal customer
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Joanne @50 wrote a review Mar 2022
ponte121 contributions97 helpful votes
Booked a pod for Mother’s Day It was £40 and we had the choice of different pizzas and garlic bread and tapas Charlie served us our food and was lovely would definitely recommend going It was quite a warm day so we had to have the door open so be mindful if you book in the summer
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
clawhandbomba54@yahoo.com wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Arrived at 3 lasted till 11 30pm booked for 2 nights was not pre warned about music blasting till 1am in the morning had an "executive" room that was directly over the 2 function rooms and the bar absolutely no consideration for guests that are not attending the functions no chance of a refund as we "should of known about this" if you want a quiet night avoid this place at all costs!!!! Absolute waste of money and a weekend ruined!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaun Ingram, Owner at King's Croft Hotel
Responded 16 Jul 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and chose to leave early. I am very sorry that you were not made aware of the event taking place on the first night of your stay. We are a event lead hotel and venue which is advertised on our sites. We are actually one of the most popular venues for weddings in West Yorkshire and also play host to many other events such as Proms, black tie dinners and tribute nights. We do offer an option of quieter rooms set away from the main building should they be required. We would have liked to offer you one of these rooms, but we were not afforded the opportunity from you. Please let us invite you back to stay with us again and we shall upgrade you free of charge to a quiet executive room. Please let us show you how well we can get it and show off the real Kings Croft Hotel. Kind regards Darryll General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jade R wrote a review Mar 2022
Hull, England, United Kingdom7 contributions10 helpful votes
Cannot fault this hotel whatsoever. We booked last minute for my sisters 21st as we were due to go skiing at Xscape at 9am the following morning so made the decision to stay somewhere the night before and i can honestly say for a last minute booking we couldnt have made a better choice! From the second we got there it was noted it was my sisters birthday. We arranged for a bottle of Moet to be in the room and we had some balloons delivered which were put in the room ready for her arrival. No questions asked and the staff couldnt have been more helpful. The first room we had was one of the bungalows which was lovely and spotless! We then went down for tea and the food was incredible! The young girl serving was so lovely, chatty and polite. Gave us a free glass of prosecco and couldnt do enough for us. Breakfast was also to die for! We then got chatting to the manager who offered us an upgrade to a bridal suite once he found out why we were staying! The room was amazing and we were so pleased how lovely they were to us! Also, just to point out, the very bad review listed below is absolutley not what happened and should be totally ignored. The lady was SO RUDE to the staff who were trying their best to please her! Even pointing out she had a terrible day due to the weather (which is no ones fault). The young girl and managed dealt with her very well and was polite the whole time. Myself and my sister actually made her aware of how rude we thought she was being at the time to which she stood up and stormed off. So please dont take that reveiw at face value as its totally unfair. To sum up, one of the lovliest hotels ive ever stayed at and would 100% come back again! Thank you x
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Bungalows have a lovely little balcony which would be lovely in warm weather!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Paula S wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions4 helpful votes
So booked a table for 8 a month ago at 7pm. Arrived and sat down. At 7.15pm we were approached by the waitress to be told we cannot order for another 15 minutes as they are getting a table of 12 starters ready. This table came in after us. We refused to wait for 15 minutes so she went off to speak to the manager to come back and be told. I can take your order but your food won't be made for another 15 minutes. Went to order. I ordered beef lasagne to be told you can only order that on a Thursday. Sorry what. Well its on the menu that we only serve on a Thursday. Oh. So where does it say that. It does say only available one night a week. Again where does it say what night it is. It doesn't. So she asked us if we would like to speak to the manager. Yes please. We were approached by the general manager. Where he leaned over us. When stating out the fact it doesn't say what night it was on he then again said its only on one night. Omg. Listen. I get that but it doesn't say what night. Maybe put on what night it is on. To be told. Do you know how much it will cost to re print the menus. Really. That's not my responsibility. But I have chosen lasagne for my tea. Because it doesn't say what night it was. Realised I was flogging a dead horse I gave up. Clearly you don't need comman sense to work here. Food menu is terrible. Very little choice and when food came for what it costs was only what I can describe as edible. Did I complain. Well I thought about it but soon realised that numpty was the general manager so I didn't bother. Ordering pudding. Again that menu isn't been served tonight. Again where dies it say that. In fact don't bother love. Clearly brains isn't a job requirement. Would I come back here. The only way I will come back here is in a box. Then I won't be here. Obviously. But I'll haunt them if they have my wake here. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Yes. Find someone else to eat. Staff so unhelpful and clearly not interested. Food terrible.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaun Ingram, Owner at King's Croft Hotel
Responded 3 Mar 2022
Hi Paula S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to our restaurant. We really appreciate all feedback, the good and the bad. It helps us identify areas for improvement. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit and that we did not meet your requirements. I assure you that this is not we aim to provide for our guests and customers. I would however like the opportunity to address your points to try and put your mind at rest in an attempt to encourage you to come back and give us another chance. I apologise for the slow service in taking your order, we were quite busy at that time and were indeed dealing with another larger group who had pre-ordered their options for a speedier service.. The staff member in question did indeed speak to me (The General Manager) and I encouraged her to take your order while informing you that there may be a wait for food as it was busy and we aim to provide high quality food to all of our customers. Something that can not be achieved if we try to rush service. We encourage the team to speak with customers to explain waiting times to keep customers aware at all times. We believe that this is better than ignoring customers and leaving them to guess what is happening. I appreciate that this might be the manner you have been treated at other venues, but we aim for higher standards at Kings Croft and believe that our customers deserve better. I apologise for the confusion with the menus and food choices made. Unfortunately, lasagne is only available from our pizza and tapas menus which is normally only available in our outdoor dining pods, but have decided to promote it by having a pizza and tapas night on a Thursday, hence the menu being available to view alongside our daily restaurant menu. No matter how hard you flog your horse, it would not make lasagne appear as all our food is prepared and cooked from fresh so we did not have any to serve to you. I would have thought that was just common sense. Again, this was exactly the same issue being faced when you again tried to order a pudding from the same pizza and tapas menu which was not available. I would like to respectfully disagree with your comment about the food menu being terrible as it is very popular and was in fact good enough for the rest of your party to choose from and in fact stay for 3 courses with us with no other issues, apart from one of your party actually offering us an apology for your behaviour. Of course, this was not needed, but was appreciated. One last point to address, just to protect the reputation of my Operations Manager (The manager who you actually spoke with at the table). Our Operations Manager did explain exactly what I have explained and in a very polite manner. Our Operations Manager is 6 foot 4 inches tall and unfortunately this naturally causes him to lean over when speaking to people sat down. This was not in any way a disrespectful act but one of nature as he cannot help his height. I am confused as to why you would attack him on this point and feel that was rather a cruel jibe at him. I sincerely hope you will not wait until a day you would be "in a box" to come back and enjoy a meal with us. If it is your wish, we would prefer if you walked in and came to speak to us, allowing us an opportunity to get it right for you next time. Kind regards Darryll Marsden General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sherrell W wrote a review Dec 2021
5 contributions5 helpful votes
We attended this event with family and friends, for the amount it cost it was appalling!!! On arrival we had to look at the table planner and find our table number, we were just sat there for a good 20mins until we were told by a member of staff we could help ourselves to tea or coffee or juice, having to carry hot drinks across a room with young children running around was a health and safety issue has this was deemed dangerous We were told that we had to go by table numbers for our food , which thankfully our table number was low so we didn't have to wait has long has some Once at the buffet we were being served by 2 young unexperienced girls, who was dressed in black no Christmas cheer what so ever, their portions were very sparse, which had probably been told to do this, the toast machine was a joke, people queuing for toast that took about 5 mins to barely colour, there was no continuity of food so there was a continuous wait for at least one type of food at a time!!! There was no organisation what so ever, no hospitality from staff, they were young and lacked skills and knowledge where food was concerned My only description of it was it felt like we were back at school in the dinner hall where we queued up for food to be slapped on our plate and then to sit back down Other customers were actually leaving has soon has they had dined!!!! So let's move onto santa!!!....... he was actually the most pleasant person there and spoke with the children for a minute or two before handing them their present , it was a cheap tacky selection box costing no more than £2...... thankfully events like these only happen once a year, rest assured we won't be visiting again, compared to other breakfast with Santa's it was just a money making racket!!!! ...... avoid at all costs unless you want to waste £15 per child!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
pontytravels wrote a review Dec 2021
Pontefract, United Kingdom10 contributions6 helpful votes
Came for an Xmas party night and it was brilliant. Had a lovely night. The service was excellent and the food to match. With Covid we understand the strains on the hospitality industry but the evening was so seamless you wouldn’t have known. Thanks for a lovely evening and we will be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
SophsJayne wrote a review Nov 2021
Leeds, United Kingdom27 contributions15 helpful votes
Top food & top quality service! Neil was out waiter & we were never empty of a drink or of food! It was awful weather to have to be servicing outside but he kept a smile on his face! 💕 Food was great
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Janice S wrote a review Oct 2021
Northampton, United Kingdom22 contributions14 helpful votes
Due to its location - immediately next to Pontefract Crematorium - Kings Croft is the obvious choice for holding the Wake after a funeral service. Sadly, this means that they don’t have to try very hard.. On a positive note, they were very accommodating when we telephoned to increase the number of attendees just before we arrived. There was very pleasant & helpful young lady serving us, clearing tables etc - but a very sullen and unhelpful man serving the beef at the buffet. The hot buffet at £14.50 per person was extremely poor value for money in my opinion - but with the advantage of their location no doubt Kings Croft will continue to provide the low levels of catering to their Captive Market.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$105 - US$118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireWest YorkshirePontefract
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KING'S CROFT HOTEL: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 123 Photos (Pontefract, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about King's Croft Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to King's Croft Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Snozone (3.0 km), The Wonkey Donkey Visitors Centre (7.6 km), and Top Withens (7.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at King's Croft Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at King's Croft Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at King's Croft Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to King's Croft Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Winding Wheel, Brewers Fayre Turnpike, and The Twisted Tree.
Are pets allowed at King's Croft Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does King's Croft Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to King's Croft Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Top Withens (7.9 km) and 30 East Drive, The Black Monk of Pontefract (2.3 km).
Is King's Croft Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.