We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Runcorn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Runcorn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

628 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Runcorn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 615: English reviews
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Good hotel located not to far from the lovely and peaceful town of Frodsham, easy access to motorways but set in rural surroundings, there is the choice of eating in the bar with relaxed seating scattered around enavling you to watch the news on TV or sports, and you also have the option of the restaurant situated at the rear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 466ca
uk
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

This is an older hotel that is having some money spent on it. Everything is being painted white! Cheap and cheerfully refurbished. Its comfortable clean the staff are great. Really nice stay. Had lunch which was very good. Breakfast typical buffet. Good hotel. Not much around it. Need car if you want to eat out. About 20 mins in taxi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelalot001
Sonia T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review

Dear Travelalot001, Thank you for taking the time to Holiday Inn Runcorn, I am really pleased to hear that you had a nice stay, and will pass your feedback onto the team. Kind Regards Laura Operations Manager

Rhondda Cynon Taff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Easy access from main motorway, plenty of free parking. Not the best looking hotel on approach from outside, located close to a residential area. Reception and main public area although clean needs something to uplift and give some character. All staff throughout helpful and friendly, bedrooms not too spacious but cosy, warm and modern with usuall facilities for tea/ coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank welshone03
Sonia T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review

Dear Welshone03, Thank you for posting your recent review on Tripadvisor. The hotel is undergoing a current refurbishment which involves all bedrooms, Sauna, Spa and gym equipment. We are hoping to continue that refurbishment throughout the public areas. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back at some point in the future. Kind Regards...

London
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Pleasant but older style Holiday Inn. Probably a former Post House as it displayed the original Traders restaurant logo. The decor is fine and not tired but somehow still appears a bit out of date. The bar area is spacious and the food is fine and reasonably good value. There is a pool and it appeared popular during our visit....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M W
Sonia T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review

Dear M W Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that your stay was pleasant, I will be passing your comments onto the team. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment of all bedrooms and some works in the leisure club and public areas. We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future. Kind Regards Laura...

Riga, Latvia
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

Nice staff, but rooms definition require refits. Closet broken, door defect, shower defect. So I had a very basic experience. Maybe I am just spoiled with other hotels in other countries. Breakfasting was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M S
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review

Dear M S, Thank you for your complete review of your stay, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points. I am glad to read that you were satisfied with the level of customer service delivered by our hotel staff. On the other hand, I apologize for the disappointments you had with your room accommodations. I am sorry...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2016

We spent a weekend in this hotel on a trip to the flying Scotsman The hotel was really wonderful . Nothing was too much trouble. And the meal were to die for. We really enjoyed our stay. Would certainly recommend it to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janet e
Sonia T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review

Dear Janet e, Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us. I am really pleased that you had a good time, and I will pass your feedback onto the team looking after you. Kind Regards Laura Derricott Operations Manager

uk
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

Quite expensive for an out of the way holiday inn. Drinks are pricey, food menu limited, gym is small but had the relevant equipment (only three treadmills). The ladies at breakfast were lovely with nothing being too much trouble. I was on the second floor.very noisy from the room above. Air con and hearing unit making weird noises. The noise...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rahh
Sonia T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review

Dear Rahh, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding Holiday Inn Runcorn. We will be looking into the issues experienced during your stay and acting on your feedback. I do know that Chef is planning on implementing an afternoon tea menu in the early spring, and we are excited to start offering these. We look forward...

Blyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Wonderful visit to see The Flying Scotsman Stayed one night at the Runcorn Holiday Inn Lovely clean hotel very impressed with our bedroom and the food was nice excellent staff I would have awarded 5 stars If the hotel had heating on Not only was there no heating on downstairs our room was freezing We turned the heating on but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneMcWilliams
Sonia T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review

Dear Suzanne, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. I was really pleased to hear that our team looked after you well, and that you overall had a positive experience with us. The room you were in does use a small heating unit, which we would normally leave off when the room is unoccupied, however I...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

We were in room 506 it was clean & adequate for 1 or maybe 2 nights As we were only there for 1night we didn't use the amenities available such as swimming pool or gym The food was very nice as were the staff, reception were friendly efficient & helpful The Wi-Fi is good The drinks are a little expensive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda A
Sonia T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review

Dear Cleopatra200, Thank you for your feedback. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your break overall, and I will pass it on to our Front of House team to ensure they check the temperature regularly to ensure comfort. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards Laura Derricott Operations Manager

South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

Myself and my family (3 adults and 1 child) have just stayed here overnight as part of a National Holidays tour. The hotel consists of five floors and 532 rooms. The hotel is newly refurbished with modern but basic facilities, which are ideal if only spending a night or two. The rooms were clean and tidy and the beds very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dansmam245
Sonia T, Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review

Dear Dansmam245, Thank you for your recent feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your trip. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards Laura Derricott Operations Manager

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runcorn
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
3.4 km away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
4.3 km away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,293 reviews
2.9 km away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
164 reviews
6.1 km away
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Runcorn enjoys an excellent location close to M56 Jct 12 and with close proximity to Chester, Liverpool and Manchester . This Runcorn hotel is an excellent base for visiting local attractions such as Chester Zoo, Cheshire Oakes, Liverpool FC and Manchester United FC. The Hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay & Eat Free*. Facilities include 153 bedrooms including standard, executive, family and accessible rooms, all are fully air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. Conference and banqueting facilities for up to 500 people and a Spirit Health and Leisure Club which includes a swimming pool. The hotel boasts 11 meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, meetings to weddings and dinner dances. Complimentary and accessible car parking is available.The Spirit Health and Leisure club offers a gym and a large indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Runcorn

Address: Wood Lane, Runcorn WA7 3HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Runcorn
Price Range: $79 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Runcorn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Runcorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Runcorn Hotel Runcorn
Runcorn Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Runcorn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Runcorn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles AirlieJock, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Probably front rooms have a better view.”
 of 5 bubbles Duncan19582014, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are small but clean”
 of 5 bubbles annemariec100, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go on to the internet and find a whole new hotel completely!”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would not recommend staying here!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 666rob, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay