We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Management photos
Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 35: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 April 2016

As promised, the YHA was visible almost immediately after stepping off the ferry. Only one woman works at reception and it's just luck if she happens to notice you arrive because she rarely just hangs out at the front desk, instead usually spending time in her room where she lives with her husband and kid. My first night I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miranda586
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 February 2016

I stayed at the yha for 2 nights as a package deal with an island tour. I saw the reviews were not that great on here but I had a great time! The owner was there to check us in and she was really friendly. The beds were comfy and the linen clean. The kitchen is fully equipped and clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MortIsCool
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

We arrived in the morning and the check in was pretty easy and the stuff was friendly. When we went to our room it was at the first view good but than we saw a lot of dust and dirt in the rooms! What we couldn't understand that you doesn't get offer some towels, even if you are staying in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2016

I arrived to be told what I booked was not available and told I would be sleeping in 3 different rooms over a 5 night stay. Was put in room where 2 walls connect the kitchen and dining rooms. This was extremely noisy. The TV has also been moved into the dining room and this just adds to the noise....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tori B
William U, Owner at Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island, responded to this review

You booked in a dorm and were placed in a dorm. My wife told you that if another room became available she would transfer you free of charge but no room became available during your stay. There are only 8 beds available in the dorm area, not 10. If you book and pay for a dorm with share bathroom you...

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Location is great. Close to beach and Ferry. Views are nice from the room. We pre-booked and key was ready waiting for us as we reached. Room was clean and nice. On a super hot day summer night, I requested additional cooler, which was supplied immediately. The lady was kind to allow us to have extended hours for our breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HakoonaMattatta
William U, Manager at Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island, responded to this review

thanking you so...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2016

The YHA hostel is located very close to the Penneshaw ferry terminal and therefore is a convenient location. I stayed there one night and it was easy to catch the ferry early morning the next day. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monita A
William U, Owner at Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island, responded to this review

Thank you so much, Monita.

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Booked a double room but seemingly upgraded to a family which was quite spacious for us as a couple. A couple of sets of bunks and two singles (room 4). Would have preferred a double bed but having read other reviews. It's an ageing building and a budget price, so set your expectations accordingly. Everything we encountered was clean. Ok...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonsSista
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 31 October 2015

Reservations were made months before arriving to this Hostel via the internet. Had we seen the hostel beforehand, we would NOT have stayed here. We were committed because it had been paid for in advance. What a huge disappointment!!! We've had terrific experiences with YHA's in Australia both last year, and this year while visiting this magnificent country. So, we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill B
William U, Manager at Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island, responded to this review

The only thing I can say is it is very difficult to supply 5 star accommodation to people traveling on a tight budget. Not every room in any hotel/hostel can have a magnificent view unfortunately. Our 32 square metre rooms with TV, microwave, fridge, lounges and en-suite bathroom etc are a bit more expensive but do supply all the things...

Seremban, Malaysia
Reviewed 19 September 2015

Search Google and I am sometimes spoilt by choices for accommodation but YHAs seemed to be always then right choice. I know my budget and my minimum requirement for my choice is an ensuite clean double room for seniors like my husband and I ages 71 and 63, good locality and caring hosts. Sally and Bill met all these requirements....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank aliciachin2015
William U, Manager at Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island, responded to this review

Thanking you so much, Alicia...

Chester-le-Street, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

The room was more than adequate for me and my friend. We were upgraded to a room with a bathroom. The room was generally clean the bathroom wasn't perfect but you get what you pay for. Overall if you want to stay somewhere on a budget in a great position don't look elsewhere. However if you want class and luxury...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dominic M
William U, Manager at Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island, responded to this review

thanking you so much...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penneshaw
0.3 km away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
350 reviews
28.0 km away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
697 reviews
16.1 km away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 3 in American River
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
107.3 km away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
0.1 km away
Kangaroo Island Backpackers - Hostel
28.7 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island

Address: 33 Middle Terrace, Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5222, Australia (Formerly Kangaroo Island YHA)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Penneshaw
Price Range: $47 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island Penneshaw
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay