We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Colonial House Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Colonial House Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Colonial House Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2016

It was best hospitality that we have seen - great stay, helpful owners, a refreshing pool and overall a good value for money. Our family stayed here and loved the place. It had all the things that you need in a room includes a small kitchenette with essential cutlery. The location is easy to find - very quiet and private.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank GauravGrover
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi Gaurav, Thank you so much for sharing with us and writing such a super review. We really do try to make your stay a happy one and it is wonderful when this is appreciated. We hope that you and your family will come to visit us again soon. With many thanks and kindest regards, Alan & Andrea. More 

Antequera, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights but wouldn't do again. On arrival all seemed ok and the hosts Alan and Andrea are very nice. I got a welcoming glass of wine and a couple of mini bits of shortbread. However upon inspection the carpet hadn't been hoovered, there were ants in the kitchen but most worryingly around the bed and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank tutupointe
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi tutupointe, Where to start? Ants in summer are always a problem, they mostly come looking for water - it's just natural - and they can appear in a flash; that's why we provide a very effective insect spray. On the first day you said you had a problem with WhatsApp– we fixed the problem and left a note for... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2016

I went with my wife and our 3 kids and all the staff were so friendly and accommodating. Everything was so easy. A home away from home, the pool was perfect for doing my laps and for the kids who are still learning to swim. And we could even play backyard cricket, and so close to shops and cafes .... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaveSheehan69
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi Dave, Your review is very very much appreciated. It is great to see a family laughing, playing and having fun together, especially enjoying our super salt-water pool. Looking forward to your next trip, hopefully in April. With many thanks and very best regards, Alan & Andrea. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2016

The motel is an older style but very comfortable and with a recently renovated bathroom that includes high quality fixtures and a spa bath. Insect screens are fitted on doors and windows, and the location is quiet and secure so everything could be left open on warm evenings. The setting is delightful with mature gardens and a very peaceful feeling.... More 

Helpful?
Thank 405Sally
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi 405Sally, Thank you so much for your lovely review; so informative and insightful. We really love our location - the motel itself having a very special ambiance. Our tagline is "Your Quiet Place" in Kerikeri. We hope that you can visit us again soon. Best always, Alan & Andrea. More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Alan and Andrea have created a truly comfortable place to stay in Kerikeri. It starts with a warm welcome. We got our choice of wine, these sweet biscuits, and our choice of milk which the proprietors carried to our room. We received a guided tour of our room and was shown where everything was - the heat was even turned... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bernard G
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Wow Bernard, you are amazing! Such a wonderfully detailed and descriptive review! Very well done - are you possibly a feature writer / photographer back home? It was so lovely to have you and Melanie as our guests. We hope you enjoyed your stay in the beautiful Bay of Islands and most especially your scuba diving. We thank you sincerely... More 

Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. Set in a very peaceful location, two minutes out of Kerikeri, I HIGHLY recommend this motel. Comfortable, with free wifi, two bedrooms (one queen size and two singles, plus a sofa bed in the living area), there's plenty of room for the family. With a swimming pool and easy walking distance... More 

Helpful?
Thank David W
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you David for your wonderful review. We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in the beautiful Bay of Islands and not forgetting your very special memories at Cape Reinga. Wishing you and Helen a super dynamic holiday in New Zealand. It was so lovely to meet you both. Thank you once again, Alan and... More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2015 via mobile

This place is very private. The hosts were so welcoming and couldn't do enough to help. Really nice after a day at work. Will definitely stay here again. The rooms are very pleasantly fitted out. Nice and quiet at night. Wish I'd brought my togs as the pool looked inviting and it was very humid.

Helpful?
Thank themacgirls
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi themacgirls, we really appreciate your lovely review and look forward to welcoming you back to Colonial House Kerikeri (please don't forget your togs this time as the salt-water pool is absolutely delicious!!!). With many thanks, Andrea & Alan. More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

We decided to stay for 4 nights at this motel, and weren't disappointed at all, quite the opposite. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and made our stay very comfortable. We used it as a base to go out and visit various places and it worked very well. There are lovely places to eat in Kerikeri and lots of... More 

Helpful?
Thank OrangeCat86
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

' Hi OrangeCat86, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We try to help you really enjoy your stay in the wonderful Bay of Islands and especially gorgeously gastronomic Kerikeri. Please visit us again! More 

Waipukurau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2015

This Motel is more than a motel ....it is a home-away-from-home ... Andrea and Alan gave me such a warm, friendly welcome when I arrived ... the little extras were wonderful - my cottage was lovely and warm as Andrea had turned on the heater earlier, the offer of freshly baked home made biscuits and a wine was tempting. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank blue13127
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Hi blue13127, thank you for such a wonderful review. It is really easy to be friendly and hospitable to such a gracious guest as yourself. So glad you loved the amazingly comfortable new beds with the comfy-puffs - they really are delicious! We so look forward to welcoming you back again, Andrea & Alan. More 

Kaikohe, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2015

I have stayed at the Colonial House several times, and it is very clean, very modern, and quiet. The owners are very welcoming, there are nice feather pillows to sleep on, a great spa bath, nice linens, and also I had a glass of wine and a treat, which was unexpected.

Helpful?
Thank babalinany
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you BabalinaNY for the lovely review. It is very, very much appreciated. Every good wish for the future, Andrea & Alan (PussPuss & Biggles) More 

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
1.8 km away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
0.5 km away
Stay Kerikeri
Stay Kerikeri
#8 of 16 in Kerikeri
11 reviews
12.7 km away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
3.6 km away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
345 reviews
1.2 km away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free WiFi. 50+Digital channels. Cosy & quiet cottages & cabins with comfortable beds and own sundecks in subtropical gardens. Saltwater pool, hot tub spa, and new friendly hosts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colonial House Motel

Address: 178 Kerikeri Road | Cnr Peacock Garden Drive, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Price Range: $131 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial House Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Colonial House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial House Motel Kerikeri, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kerikeri
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kerikeri
#5 Family Hotel in Kerikeri
#5 Business Hotel in Kerikeri
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Colonial House Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just say what you are looking for.”
 of 5 bubbles WyeValleyHavana1, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed to be in a quiet zone.”
 of 5 bubbles 857vall, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“ask for recently renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles GauravGrover, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Families may prefer a room overlooking the pool but all rooms will be quiet and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles 405Sally, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
“My room was at the front of the property and was still very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles blue13127, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay