We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

1,127 reviews
Save
Traveller (323)
Room & Suite (114)
Pool & Beach (52)
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good39%
  • Average25%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“treaty grounds”(92 reviews)
“shuttle bus”(19 reviews)
“buffet dinner”(25 reviews)
Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
3.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,127)Write a Review
Filter reviews
1,089 results
Traveller rating
210
398
271
125
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
210
398
271
125
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstreaty groundsshuttle busbuffet dinnerpool areaa sea view roombeautiful locationbit datedtennis courtsthe ground floorbayviewspaihianzrabbitsdeckrockwaterfront
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,089 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Lovely setting and nice entrance. However very understaffed from check in to bar staff. The rooms are pleasant, nice beds and a lovely outer area which can be opened up to the outside decking. However the bathroom of the room we were in was very...More

Thank Jenny H
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We visited this hotel 6 years ago and chose to return with friends mostly because of the location and view of the Bay of Islands. Sadly this is what the hotel is relying on. The rooms are tired and in need of some upgrading especially...More

Thank LClark2601
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We were recommended to stay here so for the first time this trip we booked and paid before arrival ......Because we were refused refund we had NO choice but to stay....Never Again! Overpriced considering NO Aircon in any rooms our bed was up against a...More

Thank Kimmoiy
Reviewed 4 days ago

Copthorne Hotel HAS NO AIR CONDITIONING! Nice location perhaps but Grand Pacific did not take the time to review the hotel and bumped us from their usual hotel in the area, Not good at all! 48 people on a bus all day and have lousy...More

1  Thank Mike D
Response from Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of IslandsResponded 2 days ago

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am sorry that your stay did not meet with expectations. I shall pass on the specific points mentioned in your review. I would however like to make mention that we had 6...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

Ok, it’s old. But what really is not acceptable is the mold in the bathroom, the only washbasin is located in the kitchen and non in the bathroom, the lock at the balcony door is broken, the whole room smells funny. This is NOT what...More

Thank Mondelino
Response from Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of IslandsResponded 2 days ago

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am sorry that your stay did not meet with expectations. I shall pass on the specific points mentioned in your review. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456218
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Shuttle Bus Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hot Tub
Tennis Court
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$88 - US$190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$88 - US$190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (323)
Room & Suite (114)
Pool & Beach (52)
Dining (15)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kelly L
12 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Shannon C | Reviewed this property |
Yes definitely swimming & other water sports. Such a lovely location
1
Vote
Mickeysbabe
17 December 2016|
Answer
Response from 464JudyLea464 | Reviewed this property |
Best to ask the hotel direct? So far as we can recall the meals were good with plenty of meat on offer but we didn't stay over the weekend. During the week there can be major bookings with conferences when they put a buffet... More
0
Votes
Mickeysbabe
17 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from bobbyjosing | Reviewed this property |
No idea, they only list the restaurant as open for breakfast and dinner but who knows, email them and ask?
0
Votes
PreviousNext
123
Room Tips
"Stay Away from Grand Pacific and this hotel"
Read review
"Ask for room 135, definitely the best in the hotel."
Read review
"Don’t stay!,"
Read review
"Do not get a garden view with south or west exposure unless it is very cool outside"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing