We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lafayette Inn and Restaurant

Save
Share
146 Main St, Stanardsville, VA 22973-2970
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$164
View deal
Booking.comUS$164
TravelocityUS$164
Hotels.comUS$164
FindHotelUS$163
Agoda.comUS$164
PricelineUS$164
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (145)
Dining (36)
Room & Suite (8)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
TripAdvisor "Hall of Fame". * Restaurant- OpenTable "Diners Choice" Six historic Inn Suites to select among. On site dining options. Full breakfast included for overnight guests. Casual Gourmet Burgers. Sophisticated dinner dining options. Sunday Brunch. Ice Cream- Rated on of the top in Virginia. Local craft beer, cider, wines as well as full bar service.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
305Reviews3Q+A68Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 226
  • 55
  • 13
  • 7
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kate W wrote a review May 2022
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware4 contributions2 helpful votes
Tylor suite is large, with two generously sized rooms and a bathroom between them. The sitting room has a comfortable couch, tv, half size refrigerator and microwave. Immediately outside the suite is the second floor porch with tables and chairs. Bed on the right side of the bedroom was uncomfortable. It was hard and it sagged in the middle. I didn’t try the other bed because my wife and I only brought one allergy mattress cover and she was still sleeping on it, albeit restlessly. The sitting room has an unpleasant odor. I brought a Coway air purifier but it didn’t fully remove the smell, which might be in the couch or rug. It smelled like cat pee. Although I don’t imagine cats are allowed in. There are four or more cats on the property. You can smell them and their food in the outdoor stairwell. They are fed outside the Tylor suite on the second floor porch. The suite is dark during the daytime even on a sunny day, in part because of the dark green walls and the curtains which are sewn together at the top and cannot be fully opened. The lamps do a poor job at illuminating the space. The bathroom has bright lights. The curtains are not room-darkening however. Between the uncomfortable bed and morning light, I was unable to sleep past 5:00 am. Breakfast was not until 9:00, so it was a relief to find snacks in the room. I wish we’d stayed at a hotel. We wanted to be near the venue for a family event, which we were. Other family members stayed thirty miles away in a Hyatt. They had the right idea.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TeamUSMC wrote a review May 2022
Cary, North Carolina155 contributions30 helpful votes
One of my toughest days ever on the road. Trip started in rain, which persisted all day. Half way to Charlottesville my check engine light came on. This entailed several stops trying to make sure I didn’t blow up my cars engine. Got behind schedule going by Flow Porsche in Charlottesville. They thought I would be ok, broken gas cap. Then swung by my school and after that the Inn. Weather was still horrible, pouring rain. I got there a little after 8 hoping to still get dinner, I missed my earlier reservation. There were people still in dining room but informed kitchen totally shut down. I really hadn’t eaten all day. Domino’s was my only option. Got into my room, it was nice but had a few issues. Women’s hair was still in shower floor/drain, I’m bald. The fridge was unplugged and fully defrosted which meant I couldn’t refrigerate some drinks I had with me. Woke up at 6 next morning starving. Breakfast not served till 9. Decided to head out at 745, went to check out and front was locked up tight. No one was around. I ended up going back to my room and locking key in room. Ate breakfast at Maybelles in Dyke. Huge breakfast, great food.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Denise D wrote a review May 2022
Waccabuc, New York41 contributions14 helpful votes
Went to the Inn for our anniversary dinner. Was met by very welcoming and friendly staff. Had a lovely dinner and personable staff. Staff was helpful with choosing items and we were not rushed. Truly enjoyed the Toffee and pineapple upside down Bundt cakes
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking in the rear. Walk up path to Inn
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
william T wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We found the Lafayette Inn while looking for a place to stay in order to enjoy the beautiful Shenandoah National Park. The Lafayette Inn was an added bonus that made our trip special. We had a scheduling conflict but the proprietor, Alan, was extremely accommodating. He was very personable and easy to work with. The complementary breakfast was delicious and far above any hotel fare you will ever find. The room was furnished with lovely antiques, a comfortable bed and good water pressure with plenty of hot water; not always a guarantee in a 180 year old Inn. All those things made the Lafayette Inn nice, but what made it great was the fine cuisine. We ate four fabulous dishes during our weekend stay along with five perfect deserts. I know the math doesn’t work out quite right but we had to try most of the desserts. I recommend the Lafayette Inn for your next visit the the Park, or Charlottesville, or the Virginia wine country, or any excuse you can find.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alan Pyles, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Responded 29 Apr 2022
Thank you...we already look forward to your return!
Read more
Peg55 wrote a review Mar 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia17 contributions8 helpful votes
We had a lovely stay at the Inn, and a remarkable dinner in the restaurant. We enjoyed the 10-course Chef's Tasting Dinner, and we highly recommend it for an enjoyable evening. Don't feel as if you must eat every last morsel. The wine is paired with the dish. Simply enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alan Pyles, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Responded 30 Mar 2022
Thank you!
Read more
Robert C wrote a review Mar 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
I was responsible for organizing an annual dinner for an organization that I belong to. Dinner was for about 28 people and we chose the Lafayette Inn. Alan was a great help in making the entire process simple, straightforward and efficient. A real plus was the fact that the Inn has a number of rooms so several of the couples chose to book a room so they wouldn’t have to drive home through the mountains after dinner. I can’t speak specifically to the quality of the rooms but those couples that were staying seemed to be quite impressed and pleased. The dining room was set up beautifully, and everything was punctual and efficient. The staff was attentive and couldn’t have been better. Food was well-prepared and presented. Everything came off without a hitch. I would absolutely book here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alan Pyles, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Responded 30 Mar 2022
Our pleasure!
Read more
Danny L wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
The owner and Chef, Alan, was very prompt with responding to our questions prior to our stay and very accommodating during our stay. We had a group of about 30 people for dinner and the service was outstanding. Our meals, both Saturday night and Sunday morning were quite delicious, and I highly recommend Lafayette Inn for meals and lodging. During warmer weather there is a wrap-around balcony that is perfect for relaxing late afternoon. If you have never been to Standardsville, I recommend you tame the walking tour of historic building, which are numbered. A brief history is available on a smart phone by going to "Standardsville" and clicking hot link. The first building (Courthouse) on the first Historic site is behind the Lafayette Inn. Also, you should read about the building of the Shenandoah National Park, specifically about the displaced homes.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Wilson Room access is a set of stairs that turns, so I would not recommend this room if you have...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alan Pyles, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Responded 27 Mar 2022
We are delighted you had a wonderful visit.
Read more
NancyLee_10 wrote a review Mar 2022
Richmond, Virginia141 contributions22 helpful votes
When we arrived at the Inn, we found a sign on the door that said dinners were only weekends and we arrived on a Tuesday. We stepped inside the foyer out of curiosity and were met with the innkeeper. He said he only had one couple staying at the Inn who had reserved a table so he could accommodate us if we'd like to stay. YES, please! Other choices were fast food, pizza, or Mexican and it was my 72nd birthday. First we had cocktails. My husband ordered the flank steak and I had the steak stack. Both delicious with a professional presentation. I had the crème Brule cheesecake, which was divine, and my husband had the pineapple upside down cake served warm. It was a cold night and the innkeeper lit the fireplace which was behind our table. We were very impressed with this excellent service since the innkeeper was server, bartender, and chef all alone. We were told he has a full staff on weekends, so if you're near the area, you'll want to sample the fine cuisine served there. We are grateful for being allowed to stay when the restaurant is normally closed on Tuesdays.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Room Tip: We did not stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alan Pyles, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Responded 4 Mar 2022
It was my pleasure!
Read more
Susanne M wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
The Inn was perfect. We stayed in The Wilson and it was a great size with perfect amount of privacy. The bed was comfortable, room clean, champagne was left in our room for us and everything that we needed to be comfortable for the night was there. The breakfast the next morning was delicious! I had the omelette which was perfect and my husband the French toast. He is a big foodie and especially breakfast person …. His words “ by far the best French toast I have ever had”. He said he would go back again just for the food🤣. Needless to say, we had an overall great experience. My only recommendation would be that the water needs to stay hotter longer as my husband used it all before I got to the shower. That or take a shower together😉.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alan Pyles, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Responded 7 Feb 2022
Thank you- We look forward to having you visit again. (Sounds like you have a solid plan for the shower BTW) :)
Read more
Dulcie M wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
We stayed a night at the Lafayette Inn on our annual waterfall trip. It was an absolutely beautiful inn. The owners Alan and his wife were so welcoming and kind. Alan's breakfast was the best breakfast we have had at a hotel/Inn. We will definitely be back to enjoy this little hidden gem!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alan Pyles, Owner at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Responded 16 Nov 2021
Thanks :)
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$159 - US$181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lafayette hotel stanardsville
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaStanardsville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to Lafayette Inn and Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include Noon Whistle Pottery (0.3 km), Blue Ridge Pottery (7.5 km), and Zubaball (7.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Lafayette Inn and Restaurant?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lafayette Inn and Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lafayette Inn & Restaurant, Sal's Pizzeria & Family Restaurant, and Domino's Pizza.
Is Lafayette Inn and Restaurant located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Stanardsville.
Is Lafayette Inn and Restaurant accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.