We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Strasburg

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Strasburg
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 212: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Strasburg
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The owner has really let this place go. The only good experience we really had was with the bartender Megan and the front desk lady. Megan was amazing, kind, and seems to be a very good bartender with a lot of potential. Unfortunately this place isn't what it used to be as far as decor up to date and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
Sam S, Owner at Hotel Strasburg, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer, Thank you for taking the time to jot few notes about your experience.please not that this late 1900 building is always going through updates. The chipped paint, on the column, you mention is scheduled update this year and it was done 3 years ago. Please note that this a very special place and we rely on word of...

DC Metro
Reviewed 6 March 2017

This hotel was one that I had always seen on the road signs and thought it was interesting. However, on our way home we decided to stay here for the night unexpected. The suite worked so well for our family of four. The only issue we had was the bed in the master bedroom was VERY firm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kkoons
Sam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Strasburg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to jot a note. Please note that different suites have different Type mattresses and some are softer than others. Kindly on your future visit fell free to try or ask about the firmness of the mattress and the front desk guest services will do their best to match your preference. Again thank...

Winchester, Virginia
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Valentine evening meal. The food was Great and waitress Very Competent in fact she basically handle the whole dining room. The Peanut butter soup needs some refinement i.e. More Peanut butter please. The prices were fair.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crz50
Sam S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Strasburg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the to review our Special dinner menu for Valentines. Please note that with soup we sprinkle some crushed peanuts, upon request, for those that like more of the nutty flavor. I hope you enjoyed the live Jazz with the meal. Please keep us in mind for future special menu's and events, like St Patrick's...

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

I visited here on a Tuesday me and my wife shared the surf and Turf because we had never dined here before we wanted to test the waters. The Filet was cooked to perfection and we are picky about our steaks. Our server who I believe was named Pat was so kind and welcoming she made the experience that much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
Sam S, Owner at Hotel Strasburg, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. This unique outfit strives on repeated customers and word of mouth. We look forward to serving you you in the future.

Marlton, NJ
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

My wife and I were out for a ride and stopped in for a bite to eat. Good menu Great food 🥗. Service was all you could ask for. The dining area is broke up into rooms. Antiques are everywhere. They actually allowed us to look at a couple of the rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M7286DUdanm
Sam S, Owner at Hotel Strasburg, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you had great time. Please note that menu ingredients are fresh and free of MSGs. The Hotel and staff strive on providing quality of food and excellence in service. We look forward in seeing you as you pass by again.

Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

The menu is so wonderfully full of great offerings, and the food was very good (though one member of our party was served a "medium" steak that was so rare it could have walked off the plate, restaurant removed this from the tab as they should.). The only way to describe the decor is "kitschy-elegant." The service was friendly but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoFryGo
Sam S, Owner at Hotel Strasburg, responded to this review

Dear visitor, Thank you for taking the time to rate us. Apologies for the steak temperature and for the inconvenience, filet mignons are cut thick a reason as to why it came out rare. I am glad the server followed the policy. Deserts are chosen on a daily basis and at times there are items that could offered that are...

Danielson, Connecticut
Reviewed 19 January 2017

If you're into antiques, this is a 5 star location - every room is filled with them. If you are into amenities like vending machines, ice machines, elevators, microwaves, fridges - not so much. This is very much a turn of the century (1900 not 2000) atmosphere. Rooms do have TV (not flat screen).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bstaehle925
Sam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Strasburg, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review and we hope you got a chance to get a taste of the food in the fine dinning restaurant or the quaint Pub. We strive in providing our customers in excellence of service and quality of food. The main building house 21 rooms filled with antiques. Certain rooms have flat screens depending on...

Danbury, Connecticut
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Have stayed here 2 times. People are friendly, rooms are unique. Tap room downstairs is comfortable and convenient. You can walk to center of the main street. Many small shops to visit within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 120leanns
Sam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Strasburg, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you from the whole staff for staying with us and for giving us the opportunity to host you. We rely on word of mouth for repeated business. The restaurant have weekday daily specials that are available between 11:30-2:30 with $0.50 Tuesday wing night and $7:50 fisf&chips Wednesday night. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Our room had a hole in the wall, paint peeling and chipped all around the door, bedspread was falling apart and the carpet was worn out. Don't think this hotel has had any improvements in 30 years. We went down to the pub for drinks before dinner. I ordered a glass of wine that tasted terrible. It had been opened...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jnew72016
Sam S, General Manager at Hotel Strasburg, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Throughout my worldwide travel experience I came across quaint and unique outfits like this one especially in England and Germany. Once I reported the discomfort or dissatisfaction I was surprised withe the outcome. This historic building house 21 unique rooms and always undergoing updates. I wish you had communicated your dissatisfaction to the front desk for it would...

Reviewed 31 October 2016

Great price. Very large room but it was musty and dingy. The two staffers who we dealt with the most were quite unfriendly, never smiling or asking to help us. Two other staffers were wonderful. I don't think a class in hospitality can fix this.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank obiedad
Sam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Strasburg, responded to this review

Dear Customer, I apologize for such experience, please visit us again and you will not be disappointed. Kindly mention your previous experience to the front desk.

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
2.0 km away
Ramada Strasburg
Ramada Strasburg
#2 of 5 in Strasburg
538 reviews
2.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
37.1 km away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
74 reviews
19.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.8 km away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hotel Strasburg
Hotel Strasburg
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Strasburg was originally built as a private hospital in 1902 run by Dr. M.R. Bruin. Later in the 1900's the Hotel became a well-known place of lodging and dining in the Shenandoah Valley. Restored to Victorian Age elegance in 1978, its guest register in the lobby reflects a truly cosmopolitan parade of visitors from across the nation and around the world. The property is located about 70 miles from Northern VA and Washington DC in the historic district of downtown Strasburg, VA. It features a fine dinning restaurant and a quaint Pub and friendly staff. Provides Weddings and Wedding receptions as well as Banquete; Catering Services, and customized special occasion events. For outdoor adventure, trek into the wilds of the Shenandoah National Forest, the Massanutten Mountains, and the breathtaking Skyline Drive. Enjoy the many hiking, canoeing, or horseback riding opportunities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Strasburg

Address: 213 S Holliday St, Strasburg, VA 22657-2213
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > Strasburg
Price Range: $110 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Strasburg 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Strasburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Strasburg staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Strasburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just go see Megan the bartender, she's great!”
jenniferdW2600ZW, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book with the hotel directly. They will honor on-line rates.”
kkoons, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are consistent with an old inn in decorating and style. Do some ghost hunting!”
120leanns, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check the bed, make sure it is comfortable. Some rooms are dark and spooky.”
hmhfph, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to see it first before you register. You may be disappointed.”
martiwashdc, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5