We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Founders Inn and Spa

Groupon.comUS$91*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Founders Inn and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,087 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,069: English reviews
Start your review of The Founders Inn and Spa
 Click to rate
Marshall, Virginia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room and bathroom were large and also had a 2nd sink with makeup mirror which was wonderful, and also a mini-fridge. The service was excellent and our special rate included WiFi and the buffet breakfast which was fabulous. The grounds are lovely and a great location for a wedding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slettva15
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I went on a family trip to USA and was on several hotels, this one was the nicest but not the priciest. It has old and comfy style and we really enjoyed our stay there. The playground/swimming area was very nice. Staff was very friendly and overall this was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sigurður Rafn B
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Sigurður Rafn B, Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel, prices and staff. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again the next time you are in the country. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed for a weekend and I was not disappointed. The hotel room was very clean. The only complaint I have is everything is in different buildings. It's a campus style hotel, so it was inconvenient when it was raining. We had to go from one building to another and was soaked. Other then that, the employees were very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Christine S, We are so glad that you enjoyed your weekend stay. You are able to cut through the buildings to get to the covered walkways and other facilities, but it does make it harder in the rain. Thank you for being our guest and we hope that you return in the near future. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales...

Eastern Shore
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Went to Jimmy Buffett concert and stayed at the Founders Inn. Very nice stay. Great room, wonderful breakfast in the morning. It was very convenient to the veterans home loan amphitheater which was only 6 miles away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stanley_43
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Stanley_43, We hope that you had a great time at the Buffet concert!!! Thank you for being our guest and for the great review. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I was looking forward to a nice weekend here while my husband attends meetings. The weather is beautiful, near 90 degrees..but the outdoor pool doesn't open until almost the end of May?? That's quite late for a beach. Seems I'll be stuck inside watching movies..except Wifi connection is terrible. Very spotty in and out. Should have stayed at one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Lisa H, Unfortunately our outdoor pool does not open until Memorial Day weekend and the weather has been unseasonably warm this May. If possible, can you please let me know which room you were in because I want to investigate the wifi connection. We just completed a major upgrade to our internet and I am very surprised to hear that...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Awful experience at this place! Customer service at the front desk was unsatisfactory! Also pool and hot tub were closed for three days and two nights ( those were the main reason we choose this place). Would not recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roman Z
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Roman Z, I am sorry that our pools were closed during your stay. We had to do maintenance on them and it did take two and half days for this project to be complete. We typically only do this when our outdoor pool is opened as an alternative, but this situation was beyond our control. Our outdoor pool does open...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is classified as a 4 Star Hotel. Now having said that, I will begin my review. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The Swann Terrace which provides Breakfast,Lunch and Dinner has very reasonable prices and the food is decent. The ambience of the hotel is set in an early American setting, from the architecture to the furnishings....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George R
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

George R, Thank you for your detailed review and for being our guest. We appreciate this feedback and I am going to have our housekeeping department pay closer attention to detail in the lobby. We are in the process of replacing our mattresses and many of the rooms have already been complete. I am sorry that you were not in...

New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here with my mom in the last leg of a road trip. Lived the old style charm, great spacious room, beautiful courtyard and dinner in the restaurant was great. Affordable and highly recommended. Stated in main bldg...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NJLivingston
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

NJLivingston, Thank you for being our guest! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and we welcome the opportunity to host you again in the future. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Louisa, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Founder's Inn and Spa was very nice. The room was clean but a little dated. The curtain wouldn't stay together because it was falling down so the light came through in the morning. The bathroom's curtain needed to be changed out, the tile was old and a little cracked. Overall the room was quiet for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Felicia M
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Felicia M, We are so glad that you stayed with us for your recent business trip to Virginia Beach. We do offer a loyalty program if you are going to be in the area often. We are glad to know that you had a good night's sleep. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Blaine, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff at The Founders Inn are top notch. The people are helpful and kind and gracious. The in house restaurant, Swan Terrace, has great food and great service. The beds were comfortable and we had a good night's rest each evening. The room was clean, but needed some TLC. The carpet was "bunched up" in a few places and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PopJr
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review

PopJr, Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. We pride ourselves in making everyone feel welcomed. We are so glad you are already planning on returning to the area and we look forward to hosting you again. Please make sure you check out website for the latest deals and packages. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

923 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (312)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (100)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (127)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (542)
Viewed
Amenities (152)
Viewed
Colonial Queen (38)
Viewed
Double Queen (53)
Viewed
Fireplace Suite (48)
Viewed
Parlor Suite (68)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
20.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
20.1 km away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,837 reviews
20.0 km away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
580 reviews
20.0 km away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
353 reviews
6.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The timeless Founders Inn and Spa is a Virginia Beach resort that pampers guests with the comforts of home, concierge attention and hi-tech conveniences. Select guest rooms with fireplaces and views of the serene lake and lovely Colonial garden are especially unforgettable. The Founders Inn and Spa features a wealth of excellent amenities and guest services including comfortable rooms and suite accommodations, in-house restaurants, a spa and fitness center, a shuttle service, pet-friendly rooms, complimentary wi-fi, a business center, special event spaces and meeting venues, to name a few. Whether it is a business stay, a family vacation, or a life event, we are looking forward to a chance to serve you at The Founders Inn and Spa near Norfolk, Virgnia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Founders Inn and Spa

Address: 5641 Indian River Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: $165 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Founders Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Founders Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Founders Inn and Spa staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Spring Hill, Florida
8 months ago
St. Thomas
5 months ago
Cranberry, Pennsylvania
12 days ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Founders Inn and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in the James River building and we had a great view of the outdoor pool”
ReginaH645, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great customer service! They do Birthday's and have summer passes for the pool”
104justinef, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pet friendly with quiet comfortable rooms, Wi-Fi, and in room coffee and refrigerators.”
jrclabgrandma, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“building 4 is close to the lake”
60tracies, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are multiple buildings, we were in the building near the spa and pool and it was quiet.”
richardandkristy2012, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Groupon.com
US$91* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$121
Hotwire.comUS$121
Orbitz.comUS$121
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates