We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dolphin Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dolphin Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dolphin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 311: English reviews
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Booked with short notice. View and location were fantastic. The room needed many updates, paint was peeling and outdated fixtures. Parking pass for second vehicle was not issued and parking in the provided space was limited and VERY tight. The view from the room was great, although the balcony was closed in with PVC piping not metal railing. Front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi145
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your feedback and your comments regarding your stay. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share the ways that we have impressed you and the ways that we can improve we want you to know that the matters you mentioned are being addressed to our management. I do thank you for bringing this matter...

Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

BEWARE--Enter at your own risk! Feared Hotel California soon after check-in. Elevator line with heavily tattooed guests. Chunky Cubs fan issued warning after exiting from the stairs. "This place is sketchy. Have you seen the stairwell?" Nope, but we'll check it out because God forbid you step onto the elevator. Held my nose on stairwell, but overall not too bad...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Frank W
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reporting this incident you had in the hotel. We are already making reports about this so the management will be informed by this news. We are very sorry about your disappointment but rest assured, your concerns will be highly appreciated to better our services to our dear customers. hope you will forgive this error and the service...

New City, New York
Reviewed 13 August 2016

It's one of the lower-priced beachfront hotel options, and it certainly met expectations. The view was nice, the AC worked, the shower ran, and the doors locked. That being said, parking was difficult and thin walls let noise filter through from outside. Also worth noting, the 1st and 2nd floor rooms are accessible from the parking garage/road. We certainly felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your feedback and your comments regarding your stay. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share the ways that we have impressed you and the ways that we can improve we want you to know that the matters you mentioned are being addressed to our management. I do thank you for bringing this matter...

Hedgesville, West Virginia
Reviewed 7 August 2016

The only positive thing about this property if the view and you can get that at any hotel on the beach! Even with a do not disturb on the door housekeeping enters the room and you will find money missing. When reported to management we were treated as if we were lying or that we had misplaced the money! The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ashleyartis04
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your assessment of our hotel. I am so sorry that your money was lost or stolen during your most recent stay with us, and I want to assure you that we take the security of our guests very seriously. I assure you that we take such issues very seriously and we are investigating to ensure that there...

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

We visited the Ramada at VB last year and this suite is a 10 compared to a 5.5 room there plus the 20% higher fee at the Ramada. The Dolphin doesn't have a fancy lobby but they have on site parking, a central A/C unit for each suite that is quiet and effective at keeping the entire area at 68...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Keith S
GM0047, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us! It is heartwarming to hear of how our efforts to give you a great experience, filled with hospitality, comfort and convenience have been successful. We enjoy sharing these reviews with our staff and we all look forward to seeing you again.

Stanardsville, Virginia
Reviewed 22 June 2016

It was our first time staying at the Dolphin Inn, I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and how nice and clean it was, Dont judge a book by its cover, thank you for a last minute booking!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank buttonluver7
GM0047, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us! It's rewarding to learn that we exceeded your expectations with the accommodations,and cleanliness of our guest rooms. Your feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to provide an exceptional and memorable experience for every guest.

Marlton, New Jersey
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Loved this place. Found a super cosy parking spot in their parking lot which is very important for us. The suites are two room suites. There is a separate bedroom and a living room with huge patio that overlooks the ocean. Their staff, right from the people managing the front desk to the room service are friendly and good to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Varuna D
GM0047, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback and kind words regarding the five star service and accommodations that you received during your most recent stay with us! We are driven by the motivation of giving our guests the best service there is to offer, and it gives us great joy to know that we have done a good job in...

Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

Pros: Very spacious, nice bathroom, wonderful view, clean room Cons: Thin walls (heard neighbors 'nighttime activities'), stairwells poorly lit, nasty exterior, absolutely horrid parking, only received 3 towels with 4 guests.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sdavis1022
GM0047, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share the ways that we have impressed you and the ways that we can improve we want you to know that the matters you mentioned are being addressed to our management. I do thank you for bringing this matter to our attention...

Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

I was worried after I booked hotel. I didn't read reviews before hand.I read them after and was so worried. The room was super clean. We got ended up with a king size bed and living area. Thank goodness pull out couch so my son had the whole living area to himself. Room was on 1st floor so we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
GM0047, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. We value your opinion and suggestions for improvement as these comments help us to improve upon the guest experience at our hotel. We greatly appreciate your time in bringing a number of important matters to...

Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

Had mixed emotions about this Hotel but it was clean and had some new furniture and they are in the process of renovations great view from rooms they are actually oceanfront apartments which makes it even better with a family lots of room and they provide daily housekeeping.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tangee T
GM0047, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

We are driven by the motivation of giving our guests the best service there is to offer, and it gives us great joy to know that we have done a good job in attending to your needs. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and sharing to us your positive experience regarding the appreciation you have for our reliable...

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 km away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#70 of 109 in Virginia Beach
46 reviews
0.2 km away
The Breakers Resort Inn
The Breakers Resort Inn
#40 of 109 in Virginia Beach
380 reviews
0.3 km away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#33 of 109 in Virginia Beach
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#60 of 109 in Virginia Beach
289 reviews
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#53 of 109 in Virginia Beach
185 reviews
0.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spacious Comfort Right on the Beach! This Virginia Beach, boutique hotel offers you and your family uncomplicated and uncompromised comfort and warm hospitality at a truly great value. Located at the very heart of the 3-mile long boardwalk, this all suite, all oceanfront property provides space and amenities at an unbeatable location. The Dolphin Inn is the perfect place to experience your special Virginia Beach vacation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Address: 1705 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: $150 - $758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Virginia Beach
Dolphin Virginia Beach
Dolphin Inn Virginia Beach Va
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dolphin Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Dolphin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No good rooms here!”
nanaof3, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Possibly the worse hotel I have been to...EVER”
seashelly321, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Beach front Rooms have the perfect view, but over priced for a "Motel". Not the best quality. Motel needs upgrading badly.”
plogan0854, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Perfect for a family of 4 or more”
buttonluver7, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All the room are equally good. Its your choice of the floor though.”
22varunad, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5