We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fort Magruder Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fort Magruder Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

397 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Fort Magruder Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 397: English reviews
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed 24 September 2014

Was happy with our stay here. The staff were very accommodating - even preparing a meal for one of our number when the kitchen was closed. The grounds are lovely and the rooms are nice. A special shout-out to Raynetta for taking care of us!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara E
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate so much your comments on our staff and service! We work hard to make sure our guests feel welcome in staying with us. We appreciate your business and we hope that you will return to the hotel soon!

Rural Retreat
Reviewed 22 September 2014

I believe that this hotel was built in the 1970s and it shows. I am a bigger guy, and to close the bathroom door I had to step in the tub, the bathrooms were small. The first week I was there the room we had was not too bad, no complaints really. The second week however the room we got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments on your stay during your conference. Upgraded bedding is planned at the hotel soon and we look forward to having our guests enjoy the new experience! Please return when the opportunity brings you back to Williamsburg, hopefully for vacation!

Reviewed 20 September 2014

Stayed here two nights. Property needs an update. Beds are lumpy, tv remote did not work, in-room telephone did not work and Internet was spotty at best. For the price or a little more I should have stayed down the street at the Hampton.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary C
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your comments on your stay with us. I am thrilled to let you know that we are planning some wonderful upgrades to the hotel within the next several months and I hope that you will give us another opportunity to host your stay to Williamsburg.

Lincoln, California, United States
Reviewed 19 September 2014

We stayed here for a family reunion in the Williamsburg/Jamestown area. The hotel is on a historic civil war site which was cool for the history buff in me. One of the defensive redoubts is still there in the garden. The hotel seems to have lived past it's prime years and is starting to look pretty dated. That being said,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas B
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments on your stay at the Fort Magruder Hotel. We are very fortunate to have a unique history here on our grounds with the Battle of Williamsburg of 1862 and an original redoubt from the battle surrounding our courtyard. We look forward to heaving you back on a return trip to Williamsburg to experience our planned upgrades...

Cheektowaga, New York
Reviewed 16 September 2014

I had just recently stayed there and I was greeted by a friendly face. I faced no problems what so ever there. I was greeted once I walked in, I was taken care of right away. I was even checked in early! People need to give this hotel a chance. I was scared after booking through Expedia and reading the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristy H
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you had an awesome time here at the Fort Magruder Hotel and in Williamsburg. The city of Williamsburg have wonderful events throughout the year and we hope that you will travel back again soon!

Fort Lee, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 10 September 2014

PLease do not select this hotel! we had a retreat this past weekend and found that at least of the people that stayed at this hotel was bitten by bed bugs, yes bed bugs! Also the food was awful!!!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ben G
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your comment and we reacted to this as soon as we learned of the situation. A professional company was called in to investigate this complaint and no issues were found. The report is on file at the hotel stating there was no evidence. Any serious complaint as this, we treat it with the most respect to our guests...

North Manchester, Indiana
Reviewed 5 September 2014

This is a great place to stay. They have had some giving them a bad review, did not experience any of the problems listed. The room was clean and everything worked. the staff no matter what their job were GREAT! Fun to talk to and very interested in helping any way they could. I would recommend giving them a chance!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! We hope you will travel back to Williamsburg from Indiana soon!

Marietta, Georgia
Reviewed 5 September 2014

Have stayed here several times over the years and always enjoyed it. So I reserved a room without hesitation when I found out I was going to be in Williamsburg. Stayed 2 nights and was very disappointed. The hotel has gone downhill very fast. The room was freezing and we could not turn off the air conditioner. The bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlieod
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are disappointed that you experienced the issues in your room. We are in the middle of the final details of our upgrades that will be taking place over the next several months, and we hope that you will follow us on our website for these exciting changes!

Reviewed 3 September 2014

I will say that I was terrified by reading some of the reviews prior to arriving. upon my arrival I was pleased. They checked us in immediately which was a plus as we arrived pretty early in the day. The only reason we chose this hotel was because it was pet friendly. The room, the beds and the hotel were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marisol C
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment about your stay with your pet. We are pleased to have the opportunity to host families that need to bring their loved one in their travels. If you return to Williamsburg, please come be our guest again. We appreciate your visit!

Summit, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Labor day weekend and lack of planning left me looking at steep rates- managed to get a couple of rooms at Ft Magruder for well under 100. The place was sold out - had a tough time parking. Nice entrance and lobby;the staff was very cordial. The first floor had a seedy feel to it but the rooms themselves were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anirudhborkar
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments on your recent stay. We are under new ownership and currently have plans within the next six months for some beautiful changes within the hotel. We hope that you will return to experience these exciting upgrades to the hotel.

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.6 km away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
0.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
3.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#45 of 75 in Williamsburg
89 reviews
0.9 km away
Williamsburg Hotel Historic District
1.5 km away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#42 of 75 in Williamsburg
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center is beautifully set in a wooded area and landscaped around the site of an original redoubt from the Battle of Williamsburg of 1862. The Hotel is conveniently located only minutes away from Historic downtown Colonial Williamsburg, the College of William and Mary, 2 miles away from beautiful Busch Gardens and 3 miles away from Water Country USA. The four-story hotel comprises of 303 guest rooms and Suites and 26,000 square feet of meeting/exhibit space. The hotel offer an array of features and amenities including a heated indoor pool with hot tub, Fitness Center, Complimentary Business Center, Complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet Service and Pet Friendly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fort Magruder Hotel

Address: 6945 Pocahontas Trl, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4759 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Williamsburg)
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: $116 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Magruder Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Fort Magruder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fort Magruder Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Fort Magruder Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't go there”
 of 5 bubbles rick23113, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms had good views.”
 of 5 bubbles Lady8577, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if you are looking for privacy...don't worry...no other guests are in the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulCKelly, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check for mold in the shower before unpacking and secure your valuables”
 of 5 bubbles 566ziggyw, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the outdoor pool's courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles lapearl521, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5