We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Historic Powhatan Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Historic Powhatan Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,861 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,852: English reviews
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Powhatan Resort was a great place to stay. My dear friends and I spent New Year's Eve in Williamsburg and enjoyed our stay at Powhatan. It was extremely busy so check in was a little slow, but, there were ginger cookies there to help the time to pass more quickly. We shared a two bedroom unit, which made it nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sandrapV2821VE
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

The biggest compliment we can receive is a guest who wants to return! Thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing to spend your hard-earned vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We will definitely make sure to share your feedback with our team here!

Biloxi, Mississippi
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My daughter and grandchildren stayed here for a week while visiting family stationed at Fort Eustis. We had two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The bathrooms were small but, the master bathroom had a nice deep soaking tub. The other bathroom had a nice shower for tall people. Yeh! The kitchen had everything needed to cook. There were barstools at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaryH2349
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Reviewed 1 week ago

go there every year for labor day with my family we have a great time there is a lot to do and it is family friendly they have games indoor and out door swimming games for the family to play free internet full kitchen

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tevelee
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

The biggest compliment we can receive is a guest who wants to return! Thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing to spend your hard-earned vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We will definitely make sure to share your feedback with our team here!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our visit to The Historic Powhatan Resort was okay, but not any better than average. The resort looks nice when you enter, the people who check you in are very nice, and the amenities are adequate as well. Checking out was also a pleasant and fast experience. The 2-bedroom unit was designed nicely but, unfortunately, suffered from lack of upkeep....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Historic Powhatan Resort in the future!

Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights right before Christmas. We had an upstairs one bedroom unit. It had a king sized bed and the layout was very nice. We were surprised to find that it had 2 full bathrooms! We also really enjoyed that the living room was located in the loft. The rooms were very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmsm22
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Historic Powhatan Resort in the future!

Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Where to begin. The keys are cards that you scan by touching! I don't even remove from wallet. Feelings like the future! No swipe. The most interesting part is the feeling that you are alone but you are not alone. So frequent are moments of despair, but not here. Walking down the street, towards the manor, it is grey and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary_Bellwether
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Portsmouth, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The resort seems like a quiet neighborhood. We celebrated New Years this year. We took advantage of the activities center and indoor pools & sauna. We etched glass at the activities center. The unit we stayed in was huge; it was a lock out unit, but in total had 4 beds, 4 baths, upstairs & downstairs decks. The kitchen was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NEDENISE
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

The biggest compliment we can receive is a guest who wants to return! Thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing to spend your hard-earned vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We will definitely make sure to share your feedback with our team here!

Jacksonville, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Such a great location and t he accommodations were amazing. We highly recommended the Powatan Resort for families of all ages and sizes. Close to Historic Williamsburg and Bush Gardens. Staff was so accommodating. We are ready to go back!

Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elizabethpatkins13
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

The biggest compliment we can receive is a guest who wants to return! Thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing to spend your hard-earned vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We will definitely make sure to share your feedback with our team here!

York, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our extended family visited the Historic Powhatan this summer and had a wonderful time. We had a four bedroom condo, which consisted of two lock offs. There was plenty of room for all, the kitchens were well equipped and the furnishings wonderful. I was worried about the quality of the beds and linens, but they were excellent quality and provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DStar7319
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Historic Powhatan Resort in the future!

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The grounds are very nice & amenities are decent. However, the 3 bedroom condo we rented was quite worn for the $$. Advantage is u can eat in with full kitchen. I expected better from Diamond Resorts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 77Kayak
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ We are in the middle of a 7 year renovation which will address the issues you...

1,150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (876)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (131)
Viewed
Room/Suite (278)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (328)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (261)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Children's Pool (2)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (1)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Condo (148)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.6 km away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
7.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
5.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 76 in Williamsburg
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
4.9 km away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
5.5 km away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 76 in Williamsburg
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2442
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: $113 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 845
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Historic Powhatan Resort staff and other travellers.
47 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (47)

Questions? Get answers from The Historic Powhatan Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is a full resort so hard to tell where best rooms are.”
 of 5 bubbles sandrapV2821VE, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the second (top) floor are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles bobe808, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors have steep stairs, lower units are super loud.”
 of 5 bubbles snipe49445, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms used to have hot tubs but they took them out. Try to book a new room (you'll need very advance booking).”
 of 5 bubbles maryshapiromusic, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for updated suites”
 of 5 bubbles islandsuga, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay