We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,841 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,836: English reviews
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B2110KLdavidg
David C, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

South Boston, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I took three seniors on a weekend getaway. We stayed at The George Washington Hotel by Wyndham in Winchester, VA. It was wonderful. The staff were very accommodating. The rooms were very spacious and clean. We were 16 miles from Charles Town, WVA so we visited the casino as well as Harpers Ferry. Beautiful country along the way. Stopped and...

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K7776VFnancyh
David C, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I'm thrilled you found us and everybody had a nice visit. I hope you all had fun at the casino as well. Thank you for your business, take care.

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel itself is lovely, very clean, luxurious and comfortable and the location can't be beat. The front desk staff however were not only unhelpful but unprofessional and rude. We had 4 rooms, traveling on business, and our corporate rate was not applied and our attempts to get it corrected were not successful. The front desk manager actually left a...

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dm0wens
David C, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay, and I'm very sorry to hear about the billing issues as well. Our core values are Be Responsive, Be Respectful, and Deliver Great Experiences and clearly we failed. What company do you work for, was the reservation made through a travel agent if it was that...

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose this hotel because of the location. It is only one block from Winchester's nice walking street which is a fun area to explore. The hotel is an old one, and pretty in the lobby etc. The staff were friendly and efficient. The room was nothing too special, but it did have a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank norskies
David C, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and choosing our hotel. I'm also happy that you enjoyed your stay and had a nice experience. I'm sorry you were not impressed with your guest room though, all our rooms are different so I would be curious to know what room you were in. If you would like to come back I can be...

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S3772LXmichaelm
David C, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The restaurant has a quality control issue. Such a great birthday weekend ruined by poor response by manager, Hope, in the hotel's restaurant. This is a great hotel but we won't use the restaurant again. After my hamburger was dangerously undercooked and I had to wait another 16 minutes for it to be redone, dinner was over. We were charged...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EBeth S
David C, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I hope this note finds you well. I have sent your feedback to the personnel concerend and I apologize for this bad experience. This is very disappointing to hear, but I hope you give us another chance to make it right. Please let me know if you want to discuss this personally. I can be reached at, 540-771-2725 or david@wyndhamwinchester.com

Hudson, Ohio
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently spent a Sunday night at the GW Hotel. Great old place that has been meticulously renovated. Check in was a snap, parking was a bit of a hassle - definitely go with the valet option, both are $5, why not? We had a king room - it was very well decorated with period reproduction furniture and had an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OhioLaxDad
David C, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and I truly do appreciate all the feedback. I'm sorry about your breakfast experience, I have informed my food & beverage team of these issues and it will be corrected. I'm glad everything else was well received though. Take care,

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We made reservations online for President’s Day weekend 2017, and apparently Wyndham Corporate and the George Washington Hotel were not communicating correctly, because when we arrived, they did not have our reservation. Luckily I had a copy. Even still, I was told by the front desk clerk, Stephanie, that we could have our two queen bed room for Friday night...

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank OsloJustOslo
David C, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid feedabck. I'm so sorry to hear about your troubles at time of check in though. I'm gald our manager was able to fix the problem but also not happy to hear about our clerks attitude also. I'm very sorry, I will be speaking with the clerk today and her manager. I apprecaite your business, thank...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I got a great deal to stay here in February, and got great luck to enjoy a 3 day weekend here with amazing weather. Loved my king room. It had a great, large bathroom. Everyone who serviced the hotel was quite friendly. The proximity to the walking mall in Winchester is a major plus. My wife thought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M3228DMchrisw
Central Virginia
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Most of these people really take care of you. We had incredibly poor service from the bar area. Twice! Really left a sour taste...pardon the pun. Guy was ok, lady was rude and non existent. Otherwise it would have been 5 star. Go to another bar on the mall and avoid this one unless they change employees.

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesbB3211JH
David C, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to give us this feedback. I'm also sorry about the experience you had in the bar, and I will get with the manager and the employee you have mentioned. Again I'm very sorry and I hope to see you on a return visit. Take care,

257 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (245)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
7.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
2.2 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
3.2 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 25 in Winchester
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
640 reviews
2.2 km away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601-5004
Region: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Price Range: $155 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Rochester, IN
1 month ago
Ocran, Virginia, United States
5 months ago
Gaithersburg, Maryland
over a year ago
Alexandria, Virginia

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Use the website - its pretty accurate”
 of 5 bubbles rt5552017, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you need handicap access, enter at the back door, there are stairs in the front.”
 of 5 bubbles DLBrown57, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a suite”
 of 5 bubbles OhioLaxDad, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors probably have less bleed-over noise from the lounge/parties”
 of 5 bubbles Obsiam, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“During winter stay away from the corner suites.”
 of 5 bubbles K2362AHjans, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5