We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

GuestHouse Inn Bellingham

  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Special Offer
Everything's Better In 3s
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for GuestHouse Inn Bellingham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 217: English reviews
Suwanee, Georgia
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This hotel is a strong "eh". I had to change rooms due to a tv issue (no problem). The second room had no light in the bathroom. It took two days to get it replaced. The bed was terribly uncomfortable. The trash can had not been emptied from previous guest. I like to find a bargain. The price was right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3boysihave
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review

I'm sorry you are not happy with your stay. I pulled the documentation on your room and do see that you had to move due to a tv issue. I also see that the light bulb was replaced the same day, but again I do apologize for your frustration. I'm sorry you found the bed so uncomfortable. We just moved...

East Wenatchee, Washington
Reviewed 22 September 2016

There is a smell to this unit, I believe it was from smokers at one time + no fan in the bathroom. The shower/tub sits on a shelf but the shelf is not wide enough for your foot- ok to step in but a little difficult to step out if you are 5 foot or shorter. The hide-a-bed frame for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonora K
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Room 102 is a great room for the family, but perhaps not for you. The shelf you mentioned is a different set up, but unfortunately nothing I can change. It is not a step actually, and the tub is taller, but as you mentioned, not a big challenge for anyone over 5 foot. I think...

Reviewed 3 September 2016

For the past four years we have been staying at the Guesthouse Inn in Bellingham. Throughout our stays in the past we have appreciated the service. Recently we arrives at the Guesthouse at four o’clock in the afternoon to check in and were told that our room with a reserved king bed was not ready. It had been a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margie P
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review

Hello, I am sorry you encountered these issues. I will address housekeeping about the issues. Check in begins at 3 pm. This does not mean all rooms will be ready at three, as we allow such a late check out. On a full night, we turn about 80 rooms the next day. I am pleased it only was an additional...

Kirkland, Washington
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Good location, clean room, comfortable bed, and breakfast included. Price was good too. Just one slight disappointment. We stayed for 2 nights, and when the room was cleaned after the first night, the supplies in the room were not replenished. Shampoo, soap, cups, and coffee were not replenished, even though they were used. I was able to get them thru...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay. I apologize for the mishap with housekeeping. Thank you for letting me know and I will share this with our Housekeeping manager. Please keep us in mind for your next adventure in the Bellingham area! Until next time..

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 17 August 2016

The Guesthouse Inn Bellingham is a charming hotel adjacent to I-5 and a quick drive from Larrabee State Park as well as the Historic District (Fairhaven). Very clean. Friendly staff. Decent (free) breakfast. Very reasonable price. A nice place for a weekend getaway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlbacb
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review

Thanks for your review!! I am happy that you are pleased with your stay and look forward to having you visit again when in Bellingham! Until next time...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 6 August 2016

It was a great location, albeit right on the freeway. The bed was comfortable. The two bummers were the girls that got home after midnight, and we could hear them through the walls. The second bummer was that the mini fridge was loud and rattled, but the remedy was to unplug it. We accidentally left our room key in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeattleYooper
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for the review SeattleYooper! We appreciate the feed back and your time. I am glad that you were comfortable and found good value for your stay. Please keep us in mind for when you are in the area! Until next time...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We were on a trip with the entire family and I was surprised with the location and the overall experience of this hotel. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The continental breakfast was ok. No complaints at all. Would recomend this hotel as a cheap options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elduvas
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Rooms are clean, bed is comfy. Hotel is easily accessible from the road. Bathrooms very small with wash hand basins in the main room rather than in the bathroom. Was a shame about the loud humming noise all night and the breakfast was absolutely awful, staff were clearing it away half an hour before it's due to finish. Not great....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review

We apologize you did not find value in your stay. I am surprised at your comments about our great expanded continental breakfast. We pride ourselves on the breakfast...2 types of eggs, homemade type waffles with strawberries and whip cream, bacon, 4 types of breads, sweet muffins, 4 types of cereal, juices, coffee, yogurt, fruit....quite extensive for a continental breakfast that...

IMPERIAL
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Visited Bellingham, WA for our Granddaughter's high school graduation. Couldn't have picked a nicer place to stay. Free wifi, fridge, cable TV and clean rooms. The staff was very helpful in providing directions to area attractions. The breakfast was tasty and the dining area was kept tidy. The coffee was the best. Located right off of the highway. And they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BILL W
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review

Bill! Thanks for such a stellar review! I am thrilled that we provided a clean and comfy stay and that you enjoyed our breakfast as well. Please keep us in mind on your next trip to Bellingham! I hope your adventures bring you our way soon! Until next time....

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 7 July 2016

The GuestHouse Inn in Bellingham is not flashy or fancy, but it is clean, reasonably priced, and conveniently located just off the I-5 if you're heading south toward Seattle or going north toward Vancouver. The free "continental breakfast" was lacking, so we went elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David-Judith
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review

David-Judith, Thanks for leaving a review. I appreciate that you felt we were adequate and that you found value in your stay. We are a great stop for the highway traveler. A comfy rest, a hot shower and a free breakfast to start your day. I apologize you didn't enjoy our free breakfast. With two egg choices, bacon, 4 types...

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.3 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 km away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
417 reviews
5.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
391 reviews
1.0 km away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#20 of 26 in Bellingham
124 reviews
4.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn Bellingham

Address: 805 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98229 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)
Region: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Price Range: $68 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn Bellingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your GuestHouse Inn Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellingham Guesthouse Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from GuestHouse Inn Bellingham staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from GuestHouse Inn Bellingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The bottom floors get very noisy if you're planning on an early night.”
 of 5 bubbles dansonman22, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms towards the back of the hotel are farther away from the main road and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Banuwati, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Away from freeway is probably best”
 of 5 bubbles I2500EVtomc, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“get one that isn't next to the freeway”
 of 5 bubbles SeattleYooper, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the opposite side of the Interstate as some traffic noise does enter the room.”
 of 5 bubbles tomv942, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5